Thursday Thankfulness: A day without complaints

Yesterday, I read a challenge on Facebook: Go one entire day without any complaints.

Easy, right?

Then I started thinking about all the complaints I made yesterday. Technical difficulties getting Sci Spanks 2014 the anthology listed at Amazon, Kobo, and Barnes and Noble delayed the release date. (However, the book has already earned a silver star at All Romance Ebooks!) Not only did I launch a volley of complaints, I had to walk away from the computer in order to maintain control of my temper.

Hm.

When I meet my Maker at the end of this life, do I want to look back and see days filled with complaints? Or do I want to see years lived with gratitude for my many blessings? No, this isn’t about being a Pollyanna or ignoring the real injustices and difficulties in the world. Yes, this is about recognizing how fortunate I am. I’ve done the lists before, but today I’d like to offer this challenge to all of you.

Can you go through this day without making a single complaint?

When I cringe at noisy roofing (fourth non-consecutive day), can I give thanks to be warm/cool, safe, and dry when many do not have this basic right?

When online booksellers choose to throw obstacles of bureaucracy at me, can I give thanks to be part of an amazing project and to have a host of co-authors who offer their help and support?

When I shy away from writing a *gasp* sex scene for Taliasman, can I be appreciative of the chance to grow, learn, and stretch my wings? Or will I torment my poor editor-to-be with offers to trade sexual favors for not having to write the scene? (Technically, that’s not complaining…)

When I struggle through hours of writing only a few words, do I complain that I hate writing? Or do I give thanks for circumstances that allow me to devote this much time to a job I love?

I am thankful for so many things today that I couldn’t name them all. A friend who meets me weekly for fellowship, support, and fun…another friend who calls me because she’s checking out tires to give me advice in my endless Car Tire Replacement Quest…another friend who takes time out of her busy schedule to talk me through the difficulties in The Talia/Vina Sex Scene. I’m thankful to hear from long-lost friends! The list goes on and on.

I have been blessed in so many ways that 24 hours of a no-complaint-zone is a small thing, really. I can do it. If I slip up and complain in the moment, I’ll forgive myself and carry on.

What do you think will be hardest about the challenge? I tend to lose my patience when I have too much pressure at once and when I have to deal with red tape. Instead of complaining, I’ll focus on the positive.

Won’t you join me?

20 thoughts on “Thursday Thankfulness: A day without complaints

  1. hollawrites says:

    All right Ana, I’ll give it a shot. I had to stop and think if I’d already complained about something and I don’t believe I have. Well, maybe just a little thought when my scale showed the exact same thing as the last time I weighed myself. Still, it’s early yet for me. All I’ve done so far today is taken my swim, had a shower, and eaten breakfast. No complaints so far. Now I’m sitting down, ready to start working and we’ll see how the day goes.

    Like

  2. abby says:

    It is 2 in the afternoon as i read this…so i will take the challenge for the next 24 hours….i am sitting on a very sore bottom..so maybe that will help! It is good to remind ourselves of all the blessings in our lives….thanks
    hugs abby

    Like

  3. catrouble says:

    Good idea Ana…lunchtime and I haven’t complained yet. Will try to make sure I am more aware to be grateful the rest of the day. Thank you.

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  4. Normandie Alleman says:

    Complaining, for some, becomes an addictive habit. People who complain actually receive a lot of reinforcement/sympathy for their complaints. “My day sucks.” “Oh, I’m so sorry. What can I do to make it better?” (See how that works?) But consistent complaining gets old and no one really wants to be around that. Unfortunately, some people learn that the attention they garner when they complain is a more attractive reward than finding a solution to the problems they complain about.

    Yes, goodness, I would prefer a world with less complaining. Personally, I like to find a solution rather than complain. However, if it’s something I can’t fix (like weather or something equally out of my control like my husband’s boss) I might complain as much as anyone. Lol. But more power to you trying to quit or cut back. I’m all for promoting a positive attitude. 🙂

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Oops, sorry! I missed your earlier comment. You are absolutely right. We give ourselves reinforcement, too.

      It’s true we have to be realistic about problems and obstacles in our lives. Complaining a bit can help relieve stress, but making it a habit doesn’t help anyone. When we complain constantly, it loses its effectiveness. Better to save our complaining for when we really need it.

      And guess what–it’s nearly time for Thankfulness Thursday again!

      Like

  5. Julie says:

    It’s a great suggestion, Ana. Unfortunately I didn’t make it through yesterday without complaining, and I’m not going to make it through today. It seems complaining is one of the things I do best!

    So this is probably something that I need to prepare for, and lead up to gradually. Maybe I’ll try for a Thursday in August.

    Of 2017. 🙂

    Like

  6. annapurna1951 says:

    Ana,

    It’s hard for me to imagine you having a temper.

    So what’s the obstacle about writing a sex scene? I’ve always been told it’s a matter of quantum mechanics. (Hmm, maybe I got that wrong.) Anyway, I like to concentrate on the sensations and emotions evoked from the action of two people in love. The rest is like rolling off a log. You’ll have to excuse me: I grew up on a farm.

    For me, it’s all about not having expectations and letting go of any I might harbor secretly. It’s about relaxing into the great unknown, called life, over which I have no control, except how I express my feelings in the moment. I know it’s scary, but what are the alternatives? When I do that, my day remains complaint free.

    If that doesn’t work, I usually throw one hell of a temper tantrum! Downright ugly it is!

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Ah, I save my temper for private moments rather than the public arena. I don’t like being bullied or micromanaged. 🙂

      I think it’s great to find perspective and to roll with the difficulties that pop up in our life. It’s never fun, but we do learn from it.

      Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

