Tuesdays with Ana: Corn Husking

As I write this post, a pot of water bubbles merrily on the stove. Fresh ears of corn lie on the counter awaiting their terrifying plunge to the netherworld.

Ahem. Can you tell my head has been in fairy tale land for the past few weeks? Talia and Vina are anxious for me to finish their story and send off Taliasman to the publisher, but it’s not quite perfect yet. There’s something both fairy tale-ish and contemporary about their story, and I’m struggling to put it into words.

Writing used to come easily to me, and then I became a writer. πŸ™‚

Lately, I’ve been enjoying fresh produce. Sweet strawberries, blueberries, cherries, melons…and one of my favorites, corn on the cob.

Yum.

The local grocery store sells pre-husked cobs in tidy trays wrapped in plastic, but even lazy Ana gives those a pass. For me, husking corn brings back memories of crops from my godmother’s farm. What treat is lovelier than a bag full of sweet corn? Like the Little Red Hen’s chicks, I wasn’t interested in planting, caring for, or harvesting the crops. Instead, I came running at the sight of a brown paper grocery stack bursting with tufted green packages of delight.

Oh, and the husking! Neat freak Ana’s Mom couldn’t abide corn silk and husks in her kitchen, so I would bring my sackful of ears to the garage. I’d sit on the step (sweet cool concrete in the heat of summer, before air conditioning became prevalent), pull the garbage can close to me, and unwrap one layer of husk at a time. Unlike my parents who hated the bother, I took my time. Right down to the last bit of silk, I made the corn shiny, sparkly, and new.

Later when we spread butter on our corn and chased the hot, slippery cobs around our plates, I would take pleasure in the steaming rows of kernels on each cob of corn. From my godmother’s fields to my family table, I could take pride.

Today, as I tweak Taliasman and grumble because I can’t get the words exactly right, I’ll take pleasure in the work of my hands.

What will you husk today?

16 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Ana: Corn Husking

  1. Renee says:

    no corn husking in this house… My memories are of finding too many worms in those husks. Yuuuuck. Even worse is when you only find half the worm. *shudders* But enjoy your corn hope it is yummy.

    Like

  2. hollawrites says:

    Like Abby, you made me want corn on the cob. But like Renee, I don’t have fond memories of husking. So for me it’s the pre-husked packages of corn. I won’t have time to run to the store today, but I’m putting them on my list for tomorrow. Buttery, super salty corn on the cob. It’s what’s for dinner tomorrow night!

    Like

  3. Katie says:

    I enjoyed your post, Ana. πŸ™‚ I’ve been eating a lot of locally grown corn here with my folks this summer. In fact, my mom brought some home from the store this afternoon. She usually steams it and it is very sweet. We are having some tonight.

    More recently Rob made some delicious corn on the cob, on the grill. I know that he buttered it and added some spices, wrapped them in tin foil and popped them on the grill. It was out of this world. YUM! I will ask him what he did if you or anyone would like to know. πŸ™‚ Good luck with your writing and deadlines. I have a feeling that you will do just fine. πŸ™‚ Many hugs,

    ❀ Katie

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Nice to see you again, Katie. πŸ™‚ I typically eat my corn on the cob plain (boiled and cooled slightly) because it is so sweet, but this year I tried a bit of butter, salt, and pepper. That’s how I ate corn on the cob as a child, but it’s messy. I bet the foil would keep the corn nice and moist. Yes, please let us know the recipe. πŸ™‚

      Talia and Vina are kicking and screaming that they don’t want their story finished, but unfortunately I have to move on to other projects. I’m hoping the world will like them in a few months. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Irishey says:

    No husking today. Corn is still little. Not sure we will get much, if any, of this little crop. Dang. I love sweet corn. Grilled on the cob is wonderful, and you definitely should try that with the salsa (or just pico de gallo) and lime.

    We have LOTS of zucchini and summer squash, onions and radishes. Have gotten a few ripe tomatoes, cucumbers, lettuce, spinach. The rest should start coming on in a few weeks.

    Cool summer concrete…sigh… πŸ˜‰ Nice post, Ana. You better listen to those wanting you to finish their tale. Hugs!

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Do you make zucchini bread? I never did until I visited a friend who had an enormous crop of zucchini. I was surprised at how yummy the results were. I’ve never been found of radishes, but I do like parsnips. I bet they’d be even better fresh from the garden. I envy you your tomatoes, though. Yum!

      I always listen. *virtuous look* You might learn from my example. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  5. catrouble says:

    LOL Ana…your timing is perfect…my neighbor brought over some of his first planting of corn that had just started tasseling. Of course, I had to husk and eat today! I love the taste of fresh corn on the cob…can make a meal out of it. In fact, we did when my kids were still home…from our first harvest. Corn on the cob, cucumbers, tomatoes, onions and watermelon. πŸ˜‰ Have you ever eaten raw corn fresh out of the garden? Yummy! Hope you enjoyed your corn as much as I enjoyed mine. πŸ˜€

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I learned “tasseling” for the first time this week. πŸ™‚ And yes, corn makes a nice meal. The problem is not to overdo it and get a stomachache. I probably swiped a raw bit of corn once or twice, but I prefer the cooked version.

      Hugs back.

      Like

  6. Chickie says:

    I go a little overboard with cleaning the corn too πŸ™‚ My favorite is to carefully pull the husks back to get every stitch of silk pulled out and then pull the husks back over and grill it. While it cooks I toss a stick of butter on the stove with spices until it gets ligt brown. I usually so something kinda spicy with lots of flavor but sometimes just make something simple like garlic butter. Corn is done in 10-15 minutes, peel the husks off and roll around in the butter.

    I’m in the middle of making 6 dozen oatmeal chocolate chip cookies and was thinking about you. Now I’m dreaming of corn lol

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Hm. I am rather relieved that you don’t take your cobs into the closet for some hidey time. πŸ˜€ Garlic butter does sound nice.

      Oatmeal chocolate chip cookies! Yum!! I hope you have plenty of help eating all six dozen. Too bad I can’t swipe one or two.

      I’m dreaming of a white popcorn Christmas in July….hehe!

      Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

