Thursday Thankfulness

I slept just under three hours last night, am late for two deadlines, missed my weekly coffee-and-chat session with a friend…and I’m happy as a clam! Why? Taliasman is  finished! Finally! Yay! I’d celebrate, but I have to polish up the manuscript before sending it to the publisher. There are a few parts that creak. They needed to move the plot from one point to the other, but there’s no artistry in writing them.

Sitting down with Talia and Vina to brush their hair, powder their noses, straighten their skirts, and send them off to their entrance examination. Good luck, girls! Don’t sass the proctor.

Today the wonderful Sue Brown will join me (I hope) in celebrating Thursday Thankfulness. I’m thankful to have a friend and colleague to join in the day. I’m also thankful for all of you who join me each week.

I’m thankful for the fun of yesterday’s “See Jane Spank. Spank, Jane, Spank!” post. I am glad to make people smile. I smiled when I wrote it, after all.

I’m grateful for a phone call yesterday from a friend who had surgery. Glad she is recovering, although the process is never fun.

I’m thankful for understanding publishers who give extensions when a harried Ana can’t quite manage deadlines. After I send Taliasman off today, it’s time to polish “Living in Sin” and send that story for editing.

I’m thankful for so many things today, including:

  • Clean, ironed bedsheets
    .
  • A mug of boiling water to keep my hands warm while freezing in an overly air-conditioned diner
    .
  • A 24/7 diner that tolerates my staying overnight to work like a maniac
    .
  • Ikea drawing paper that serves as a lovely surface to handwrite my drafts
    .
  • That my new card reader works, and I could import approximately 5,000 digital photos from the past 7-8 years
    .
  • Watching the 5,000+ photos flash by my eyes in a time lapse of my life, and finding a few pictures I’d forgotten I had.
    .
  • That Sci Spanks 2014 the anthology earned a silver star at All Romance Ebooks on its first day and a best seller designation in its first week!
    .
  • Clean laundry
    .
  • Friends who keep me company while making laundry clean
    .
  • Did I say I finished Taliasman????
    .
  • A reviewer promising to write an “extremely long and glowing review” of Mira’s Miracle. Yay! I can’t wait to see it.
    .
  • Mark D. Jones, who is the most fabulous retweeter on the planet (@livelovethinkex) and retweets my blog posts with a favorite quote. To be perfectly frank, it makes me a bit shy to think someone reads and takes in my words. At the same time, I’m grateful. Thank you!
    .
  • It’s only 129 days until Ana’s Advent Calendar!
    .
  • An artist friend may work up a drawing of the talisman that serves as a centerpiece for Taliasman! I can’t wait to see it.
    .
  • I’m so thankful I can wake up on my own, rise from my bed unassisted, bathe/clothe/feed myself, walk up and down stairs, drive a car, own a car, and take care of my needs. Having watched a quilting granny go through endless weeks of rehab after an unexpected health issue, I’ve learned to be grateful for my good fortune. I can live at home and take care of myself, two things she will not be able to do for a long time.
    .
  • That I made it back to church, at last, after three weeks of absence. Bad Ana. 😀
    .
  • I’ve been promoted from substitute/part-time handbell ringer to a regular member of the choir for this year. It was one of my favorite activities this past year, and I can’t wait. I’ll be playing different bells than I’m used to, but I like a challenge.
    .
  • I’m thankful I know today’s day, date, and month! 🙂
    .
  • I’m also thankful another quilting granny has a film I needed to use for research. Yay for not having to purchase items!
    .
  • I’m thankful that an ice cube stopped a cold sore before it could form. Yeah! I saved the nearly $30 it would cost to buy over-the-counter medicine, and the ice worked better!
    .
  • I’m thankful I remembered to check for clothes tags before going out yesterday. 😛 (I went to church and the grocery store with the sales tags dangling.)
    .
  • I’m thankful I get to meet so many wonderful people who put up with my foibles. Bless you, each one of you.

What are you thankful for today?

17 thoughts on “Thursday Thankfulness

  1. abby says:

    That is quite a list…. on my list is…

    ….my mom has adjusted to her new living circumstances, made new friends and seems happy

    ….my niece had successful surgery today

    ….the 14 friends i had breakfast with this morning….

    …..special plans being made with my sister

    …for Ana…….all the smiles you bring to my life..

    hugs abby

    Like

  2. Renee says:

    I’m thankful for your blog Ana. Just spent way too many hours in a waaaay to small car with 3 teens and the hubbie. Got to the hotel and there was your post to smile about and remind me to be thankful. Oh yeah almost forgot I’m thankful for the reminder that Ana’s Advent Calendar is only 129 days away. Wohoo can’t wait. Thanks friend.

    Like

  3. Ameliah Faith says:

    I am thankful for you to cheer me up and remind me what is really important and for a dear friend who told me its time to stop sulking and come back to the world. (I really wasn’t sulking as much as trying to find my feet but it was wonderful to know she missed me!)

    Like

  4. laurellasky says:

    I’m thankful for the fun yesterday with Ana and getting to be a wise ass is also fun.
    I’m thankful for my sense of humor, it’s helped me through tough times.
    I’m thankful that my darling Ed turned 89 yesterday and it was a great week for both of us.
    Today I got out of bed, bathed, got dressed went out of the house by myself for the first time in almost 4 months, walked slowly to the car, drove to p/u new eyeglasses, went to Walgreens to p/u rx, then to Publix. Did not use electric cart but regular cart, put the stuff in the car went home carried the bags into the house. It poured with rain all day, got soaked,
    Only used a can, no walker. I feel great!! 🙂 big hugs to all
    Laurel

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Hehe, you have to enjoy your fun when it comes around. We do have to laugh when we can. Happy birthday to Ed! I am glad you enjoyed his birthday week. Yay about only using a cane! That’s wonderful. I hope you feel wonderful today and are able to take care of your needs. Hugs back.

      Like

  5. catrouble says:

    I absolutely love the joy I hear in your voice today…so very happy for all your thankful items.

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  6. chickie says:

    I’m thankful for so much! Thankful tomorrow is Friday. Thankful for boys night out so I can enjoy snacking on this delicious bowl of grapes in peace… I mean glass of wine. Thankful my kids are awesome and wouldn’t ever do the crazy stuff I witnessed today. Thankful for the wonderful things I DO have. And most thankful of all to see that Dick has found his way into Ana’s story 😉

    Like

  7. Irishey says:

    Nobody touched your tags hanging out?! Ttwd to the end, folks! 😉

    Yea and congratulations and kudos and happy dancing and whatever is else the appropriate response to all the rest of the things on your list. 😀

    I’m thankful to have a phone to read blogs while I sit in the truck waiting on D’s colleagues who do not understand the concept of His Day Off. Lol! Gave me the chance to pop in here.

    I’m also thankful for friends who chat way into the wee hours. (I could do without the headache that comes the next morning due to lack of sleep!) I’m very thankful to have lots of friends in this community who care about me through my absences, and know better than to think I might stop caring about them. 😉

    I’m thankful I, too, have a very long list of things about which I am thankful and grateful. Cool how that works out, hmm?

    Hugs!

    Like

  8. annapurna1951 says:

    Hi, Ana,

    I’m thankful in general, so I will let that suffice, but I will say that I’m still healthy and able to exercise, for which I’m very thankful.

    I’m thankful you’re able to write this blog for us and carry out all your other activities. I really don’t know how you do it.

    I’m so sorry to hear about the deadlines! You’re an artist, so why the rush from the publishers? Writing is tough enough without adding all that pressure. It just forces you to spin a story too quickly before you have had a chance to tell it the when it needs to be told or to polish it to your usual high standards.

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

