Thursday Thankfulness, returning home edition

After staying awake 40+ hours in a row (not intentionally, but because life marched on and the phone kept ringing when I tried to sleep), I’m giving thankfulness a bleary-eyed try this week. I’m thankful for:

  • A clean, comfortable bed
  • The safety to close my eyes without worrying whether someone will attack me
  • Sunshine with its life-sustaining powers
  • Caffeine to get me through the long stretches
  • My Bluetooth
  • Editors who teach, cheerlead, and (if necessary) scold (gently)
  • A kick-you-know-what team shaping up for Spank or Treat 2014. This will be the 3rd Annual Spank or Treat, the event that started the entire spanking fiction fun. The theme this year will be witches/warlocks. Are you excited? πŸ˜€
  • Track changes so I don’t have to print out every single draft of my manuscripts. I am sure the trees are thankful, too.
  • A fun and invigorating handbell rehearsal
  • Learning a new Mother Goose nursery rhyme, Polly Flinders. How many of you know this one? Google it (not the clothes brand), and you might see why I like it. πŸ˜€
  • (Knock on wood) Editing for Taliasman is going well! I love learning how to hone my writing with each editing pass.
  • Ana Adored is coming along well, too! I am proud of both of these stories, in different ways. Ana Adored tackles a difficult subject (same-sex domestic violence) that I initially discussed in my Hop Against Homophobia and Transphobia post. Taliasman addresses the issue of gender-shaming, and I am proud of its message of love and acceptance. I hope readers will walk away from these stories feeling happier, more secure, and better able to have faith in humanity.
  • Thankful for editors and co-authors who don’t kill me. You know who you are. πŸ˜€
  • The fun of choosing, writing, mailing, and hearing that travel postcards were received. For 25 cents (postcard) plus tax and 34 cents postage, I get to send a smile. Too bad international postcards cost as much as international letters, though.

Today, for Thankfulness, I’d like to issue a challenge/invitation. Won’t you consider mailing a postcard, greeting card, or snail mail letter? It gave me such joy to hear the postcards were received, and it cheered me up. I bet it will do the same for you. Who’d like to make the commitment to send one postcard, greeting card, or snail mail letter this week? No e-cards. πŸ˜€ Real, old-fashioned correspondence.

6 thoughts on “Thursday Thankfulness, returning home edition

  1. abby says:

    Well i already sent each of the grands a ‘Yeah school is starting soon’ this week. I never thought of sending postcards…what a great idea. They probable do not even know about postcards. Will put on my to do list for…How was the first day of school? Thanks for a great idea!
    hugs abby

    Like

  2. awesomesub says:

    I am thankful for the second day in a row that I can sleep in my magic hammock. It’s only possible in dry, sunny weather. I am also thankful for the relaxing sound of bees and bumblebees in our garden and the feeling of peace that creates. Finally, I am thankful for my best friend covering up for me, when I had the munchies yesterday and ate far too much cake.

    hugs

    Nina

    Like

  3. Julie says:

    I’m in!

    I sent two cards this evening, to college friends I’ve neglected for far too long. Thanks for the suggestion, Ana. πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. catrouble says:

    Hey darlin’…when you are exhausted, turn your blasted phone off! You need to rest. I received a postcard this week and was so happy to read it. I send snail mail cards to my grands because they love getting mail and I usually add $1 in each card for them to add to their piggy banks. Will see what I can do about picking up some postcards and sending them out to some friends in the coming week.

    Thanks for the sweet idea.

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  5. Roz Harrison says:

    Hi Ana, sorry I am late to this. Love your list! That is such a great idea! I do send cards/snail mail from time to time. I’m in!

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

