Thursday Thankfulness: broken air conditioning edition

My air conditioner has broken for the second time in a month, and we’re experiencing a heatwave these days. I feel more like complaining than expressing thankfulness, but isn’t this the time we need thankfulness the most? πŸ™‚

Today, I’m thankful for:

  • Snopes. What a great resource for finding out which latest viral social media posts are hoaxes.
  • Friends who offer their air-conditioned home and baby when my air conditioning goes on the fritz during a heatwave.
  • Air conditioning in my car.
  • Fun new book–Once Upon a Marriage by Sara Daniel. My review:
    M/F is not my go-to genre, but Sara’s snippets grabbed my attention. Exquisite writing, lovely mixture of humor (The three army surgeons run a prosthetics clinic? LOL!), and a heart-enriching tale of a man fighting to save his marriage. It was enough to make this conservative reader cheer for the sex scenes. Well done, Sara!But a word of caution: Don’t re-read the Grimm fairy tale first. Let yourself be surprised as you read.
  • Discovering some great new Twitter accounts yesterday while Facebook was down #LGBT is a great hashtag!
  • My peace lily is taking its time dying. This means I can pretend it’s not dead yet. *sigh*
  • However, my jade and philodendron are thriving. The spider plant is growing so fast that it needs to be repotted soon. I have to brush the leaves out of the way to sit down. πŸ˜€
  • Great edits for Living in Sin! That means three publications (count ’em, three: Ana Adored, Living in Sin, and Taliasman) are in edits. Phew!
  • All of you lovely readers who still drop by even when I can’t get to your comments. I read and enjoy every single one, I promise. ❀

What are you thankful for today?

19 thoughts on “Thursday Thankfulness: broken air conditioning edition

  1. hollawrites says:

    Ana, you’re a master at finding little things to be thankful for. I hope your AC gets fixed and behaves itself. We’ve been lucky on that score this year. Last year ours went on the fritz with temperatures around 110. I feel for you. Maybe you should threaten it with the wooden spoon!

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      You are so sweet, Holla. I love your comments. πŸ™‚ A/c didn’t use to be ordinary, but now it’s become a necessity. Phew! Oh well, I guess it helps the environment to turn it off now and then.

      I only wish the wooden spoon would work. πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. abby says:

    I guess i am thankful that my air conditioning is not broken..we have not had any 90 degrees days this summer…til now.
    Also that my grands went off to 1st grade, K and pre K with smiles on their faces and lots of positive anticipation…now their moms were another thing…..
    Than my mom who had another health crises this week, seems to be doing better than expected…
    For you dear Ana…just because you are you!
    hugs abby

    Like

  3. Renee says:

    Oh my, no air conditioning is definitely something to be whiny about. It is really hot here too and I would not make it without air conditioning. Of course at my age… my thermostat is stuck in the hot flash range.

    Thankful for:
    + a son who is adjusting to college.
    + a daughter that has stayed out of crisis for four months
    + for healthy children so far
    + a great beginning of the school year

    Congratulations on three books in editing.

    Stay cool, Renee

    Like

  4. Ami says:

    I would by now be a greasespot! I would be sitting writing in my car instead of in my apartment. I killed off my peacelily way back in the spring. It lasted all of three weeks. I don’t know what a philodendron is, and although I don’t have one at present, I love spider plants and used to have a large one with its offspring in their own pots in a circle around it, but still attached to the parent plant. It was hilarious, but they just outgrew their space eventually.

    I am just thankful to have gotten through yet another day looking after our grandkids. So exhausted I could fall asleep like a horse, on my feet.

    Hugs
    Ami

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      At the price of gas (petrol to you)? No way! More likely, I’ll head to the local diner for free air conditioning.

      Peace lilies suck. That’s my verdict. Hehe. Mine has lasted about two months, but it’s dying fast.

      Glad you will sleep well tonight.

      Like

  5. catrouble says:

    Hey Ana…I’m thankful for such wonderful and positive friends and I am very thankful for A/C. Dang…you kill flowers almost as well as I do. LOL

    Hope your A/C is fixed soon!

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  6. pao says:

    Arg. A heatwave and no A/C. I’m glad it’s not you wilting, but the peace lily. Maybe keep a spray bottle near you and spray yourself like you’re a plant πŸ˜€ Great edits indeed! Can’t wait for those books to be published! I hope your A/C gets fixed soon.

    Like

  7. Roz Harrison says:

    Hi Ana, I hope your A/C is fixed soon! Great list. Wow, three books in edit!

    It has been a rough week for us at work and I lost a friend to cancer this week … so today I am thankful for the love of family and friends.

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      And a fourth waiting for editing. πŸ˜€ Ah well, it’s been a while since my last publication. Such is the serendipity of timing.

      I am so sorry to hear about your friend. What a sobering and sad day. I hope your loved ones are able to give you extra TLC as you adjust to life without your friend. Hugs.

      Like

  8. awesomesub says:

    Hi Ana, I am sorry for your broken A/C and hope it will be fixed soon.
    I am grateful that we do not have such a heatwave here, but the weather is warm and pleasant, so that I can use my magic hammock. I am very grateful for the gift of smell this week. I smelled hubby’s fresh coffee and found it almost too delicious to resist. And I am grateful that hubby is there for me, even when I do really silly things.

    hugs

    Nina

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Ah, a hammock! That sounds glorious. A friend of mine is being induced today, and I can’t wait to hear about her new baby.

      Yum! I don’t like the smell of coffee, but I can appreciate people who do. Hugs.

      Like

  9. Irishey says:

    Thursday? Did we do a Thursday already this week? That must have been the day before today. It went by in a blur of I-dunno-what that seemed to never end, along with the rest of the week. I am thankful not to think about it or relive it. πŸ˜‰

    I am thankful I don’t have to make another endless trip with… never mind. That requires thinking about it. πŸ˜‰

    I am thankful I am not more worn out or hurt more than I do.

    I am thankful for my friend who checked in on me this past week. That made me smile. πŸ™‚

    I am thankful D loves me despite all the uproar and upheaval.

    I am thankful and blessed I have parents who go waaaayyyy above and beyond for me and mine.

    I am thankful for so many things, especially that nobody was injured and my ceiling didn’t fall in this evening. But I’m not going to think about that right now. Lol!

    Hugs!

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

