Thursday Thankfulness

Just a quick one before I begin my day. 🙂

  • I’m thankful that my church secretary was very kind when she heard I’d broken the ornamental cross on the pastor’s chalice. Oops! Crossing my fingers we can fix it with some glue or it won’t be too expensive to get a replacement.
  • Thankful for quiet nights of sleep without a one-year-old screaming.
  • Thankful that demanding house guest left on her own, without my need to intervene.
  • Thankful to have my life back!
  • Thankful that, if house guest’s allegations against her husband were untrue, that I took what steps I could to mitigate the harm I’d caused. Domestic violence is such a hot-button issue that I leapt first and thought later. If her story was true, I’m glad I could keep her safe. If her story was not true, I’m glad I no longer am participating in the charade.
  • Thankful for the overwhelming support when I needed it the most. Thank you. ❤
  • Thankful for friends who don’t give advice unless specifically asked for it. I wrote this yesterday:

    Anyone can give advice. Casual, thoughtless, and often hurtful, advice-givers judge and criticize.

    But to listen, to understand, and to empathize with a fellow human being and recognize that we are limited in our abilities but care about each other…ah, yes. Give me a listening and understanding friend over an advice-giver any day. ‪#‎letsmaketheworldbetter‬

  • Thankful that tomorrow I will get to celebrate my friend’s life while surrounded by the friends and family who loved her the most. It’s sad thinking of how many people in my life never got to meet her. I’m glad to be surrounded by a community of people who knew and loved her.

     

    There are others, but I have to run to church to beg forgiveness for breaking the chalice. 🙂 Hugs and much love to everyone.

     

    What is your thankfulness this week?

     

14 thoughts on “Thursday Thankfulness

  1. sassytwatter says:

    Fingers are crossed for you hope it goes well at church. Loved your insightful thoughtful post.

    I’m thankful for the start of a new chapter in my life. And for an amazing husband & my sweet baby girl who truly is the best baby ever.

    Like

  2. Ami Starsong says:

    I hope tomorrow goes as well as it can do, under the circumstances. I wonder what hymns they have chosen as some of them are so uplifting and that you will find comfort in the celebration of ‘Sara’s’ life. I hope you can manage to repair the chalice without too much difficulty. Sending love and supportive prayers.

    Ami

    Like

  3. laurellasky says:

    Great post. I hope the chalice issue can be resolved without much difficultly or cost. Sending big hugs, love and prayers. I’m thankful that things are looking up for Ana. I’m going to weight watcher tonite, I think I lost about 5 lbs. I be thankful if I don’t find them again. lol

    Like

  4. Minelle says:

    I’ll be sending my thoughts for you and your special friend tomorrow. Hoping this will be a celebration of a good friend who lived a wonderful life. She made new friends at all stages of that life. Both of you were blessed with that friendship!

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      She was the matriarch of our church, for sure. The oldest one and yet more active than people 20 years younger. In fact, someone 20 years younger recently had to go to a nursing home. Hugs and thanks.

      Like

  5. Irishey says:

    My thoughts and words won’t cooperate and arrange themselves into something meaningful and supportive. I’ll just send hope for fixing broken things, hugs for all the things you are thankful for, and thinking of you thoughts while you share your day, memories and heart with Sara’s family and friends.

    I am thankful…

    🙂

    Like

  6. Julie says:

    I’m thankful to have someone who helps me through those difficult times – I’d truly be lost without her.

    Know we’re thinking of you, Ana. I hope it’s more a day of remembrance than sadness.

    Like

  7. awesomesub says:

    Hi Ana, I have been thinking about you and hope that you could share memories about Sara with her family.
    As for Thursday Thankfulness, I am more grateful than ever for the support that I get from my family and friends. Since these are the last days before I am holding baby, I am also grateful for a kind of inner peace. In a way it took most of this year to reach that. It is probably only a short moment, like a still, before everything returns to buzzing around.

    hugs

    Nina

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

