#Taliasman: Gratitude

Apologies for the late Saturday Spankings and Sunday Snippets post! I’ve been so excited by the success of Taliasman (still #6!), Spank or Treat 2014 (#3 in mythology!), and Something Good (35 authors, publishers, and readers signed on!) that I’ve been tardy. Sadly, our dear Headmistress Blake has only given me a loving warning instead of any fun discipline. *sighs* I suppose she thinks a naughty Ana doesn’t deserve fun! I shall behave myself, I promise. 🙂

 

Here is an eight-sentence snippet of Taliasman. I love the power struggle between Vina, Queen of Heaven, and Talia, nobody’s daughter. Talia might be chattel, but she can still hold her own against the ruler of her world. Here is Vina’s attempt to subdue Talia’s stubborn spirit.

(Previous snippets)

Taliasman and why we all need love

Chattel

Kneel

Just beat me

 

Back at the palace banquet table, Vina waits for her answer. “You’re happy with me,” she repeats, and her eyebrows arch in warning. I can repeat her litany of lectures before they come from her mouth. “Instead of letting you die in uneducated squalor, I brought you to my palace where you want for nothing. I gave you food, clothes, and books. God meant for you to be mine.”

When I fail to produce the expected apology and affirmation of her twisted version of events, she slides her chair backward. “Couldn’t we have one day without this discussion?”

 

AV_BeyondFairytales_Taliasman_1300

Blurb

Born to a destitute woodworker who wanted a son to carry on the family business, Talia grew up with one phrase on her lips: “If I had been born a boy.” If she had been born a boy, she would have been cherished, supported, and launched into the world with her father’s legacy. As only a worthless girl, she toils all day long to earn her handful of inferior grain.

Far away in the heavenly palace, Queen Vina receives a mysterious coin necklace from Nicodemus, teller of stories. Compelled by the throbbing heartbeat, she scours the earth to come across Talia, enslaved to a family who never wanted her. Rather than admit her motives, Vina purchases the girl with a sack full of gold. Furious, betrayed, and homesick, Talia endeavors to share her misery with the entire palace. Vina, afraid to confess her love, allows herself to become trapped in the role of brutal slave owner.

Talia, bred to expect nothing but misery, faces the first choice of her life. Will she accept love, even if it comes from an unlikely source? Or will she reject the one who offers her everything?

A Beyond Fairytales Adaptation of Our Lady’s Child

5 thoughts on “#Taliasman: Gratitude

  1. krblake says:

    Hmm. Now why do I think when Vina says the word “discussion,” she doesn’t mean “talking.” I feel for both the women. Talia believes she was purchased as a slave and Vina only wants her love. Guess it’s true. You can’t buy love.

    Like

  2. Roz Harrison says:

    Congratulations on the sucess of Taliasman Ana. Reading snippets like this it’s easy to see why it is successful 🙂 I feel for both of them too.

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

