Tuesdays with Ana: Creating Something Good

Today, I should tell you that Taliasman is still holding at #6. I should exclaim that Spank or Treat 2014 won a silver star at ARe. I should do a lot of things, but instead, I want to tell you this:

Together, we created Something Good.

I have three Kindles in my hot little hand. Technically, they’re in their plastic bag on the living room chair because opening them would mean launching all of the tech support necessary to load them with donated books and get them ready for Lost-N-Found. But I held them in my hand. They’re here. They’re real.

I’ve made so many phone calls in the past two weeks that my throat is growing sore. We have $2,000 committed to the Kindles, and that’s not including an offer to donate earphones (who wants to be in a center where everyone’s listening to a video on a Kindle?) or the hundreds of dollars of LGBT books that have been offered.

This is big.

This is really big.

And we made it happen.

No, we can’t stamp out homophobia or homelessness or hunger or world conflict with a few Kindles. But darn it, we can do something. Something Good.

I wrote this yesterday, for everyone who’s supported the effort:

The money is pouring in! I am overwhelmed. Holy moly, everyone. Do you understand what you’ve done??? You’ve taken Ana’s teeny tiny idea and made it a REALITY. I need to respond to your emails and put stuff into spreadsheets and organize info for tax deduction receipts etc. but I don’t trust myself around anything like that right now. I feel as if I need to go watch TV for a bit because honestly I am choked up. I feel like I could burst into tears and never stop, and I don’t want to go there right now.

You created something good.

We’re not naive, and we’re not idiots. This won’t solve world problems or eradicate homelessness. It won’t stamp out homophobia. But good golly, we made something good happen.

Looking at the Best Buy manager today, shaking her hand, and having her say, “YES, PLEASE!” when I offered to send her photos of the Kindles at the center…OMG.

This is real, everyone. This is real and you are to thank for it.

Excuse me please…I think I need to have a little cry.

Amazon and Best Buy worked together and offered me the Kindles at the bulk discount price, so I picked up the first three with the donated Best Buy gift certificate. Ashley at Best Buy (Hi, Ashley!) could not have been kinder. She made this happen. Thanks also to Sara, the general manager who approved it. Essentially, by price-matching, they gave us half a Kindle free. That’s halfway to giving one more kid a Kindle. Halfway to providing a personal library.

Someone has suggested donating earphones. That saves more than the price of a Kindle, if it will work out. That means more Kindles for kids.

Authors and publishers are pouring in their offers of donated books. (Quick and dirty version: send me a mobi file, and if you are not self-published or it’s not your publisher offering the file, send me a forwarded email or statement from your publisher stating you have permission to donate your book file.)

Ideally, and I think I can make this happen if I figure out the tech side of things, I will be able to send new ebooks to all of the Kindles as the books become available. That means we could be supplying the Lost-N-Found youth with a fresh reading supply on a regular basis.

A few answers to questions people are asking:

  • Yes, if this gets big enough I will look into creating a non-profit organization. At this point, however, I’d rather every cent go toward Kindles, accessories, and books. If you know a lawyer and/or accountant who knows how to get a non-profit established, please let me know. After all, we already have our mission statement, objective, and purpose.
  • No, it’s not too late to donate later. I hope this will be an ongoing project. The plan is to purchase the first shipment of Kindles this week and send them by the end of November/beginning of December.

    We are also planning a second big shipment of Kindles in the spring (around March), to coordinate with the shelter’s expansion and renovation.

 

Love you all. ❤

For more information, read the press release here.

 

12 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Ana: Creating Something Good

  1. Renee says:

    Ana what a blessing this will be. Something good is going to be Something great for those kids. All it takes is a tiny spark to light a fire. Thanks for being that spark. I am not a lawyer or accountant or anything but I have done the paperwork for two non-profit 501C3 organizations. If you get to that point and want help or whatever I would be willing to help. Blessings, R.

    Like

  2. Shannon Love says:

    Yesterday at work I served a 17-year old youth his methadone drink. He’s new to our pharmacy so it was the first time I had served him. I saw he was reading a book called Street Pharm. I went home to find out about it so I could have a conversation with him. I thoroughly support reading, especially for our youth. You’re doing an amazing job, Ana!!

    Like

      • Shannon Love says:

        Methadone is the standard treatment for opiate addiction (oxys, percocet, vicodin, morphine, heroin and fentanyl). It’s tragic enough that this young man is already battling addiction and he’s in a juvenile center (so he’s gotten into a little trouble with the law). I couldn’t help but notice that he carries his book with him. I couldn’t help but ask him about it and tell him that’s it’s awesome that he’s reading. I can relate to readers easily.

        Like

        • Anastasia Vitsky says:

          Ah, I see! I don’t know much about that, so I wondered what it was. What a challenge for him! I hope that his book will give him a vision for the better. 🙂 And yes, books are great conversation starters.

          Like

  3. Roz Harrison says:

    Hi Ana, what you are doing is truly amazing, you are such a wonderful and giving person. So happy this is off to such a great start!

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

  4. awesomesub says:

    Hi Ana, I think what you started by creating ‘Something Good’ is fantastic. The goals that you have stated are absolutely positive and I hope ‘Something Good’ will be a huge success and help many youths.

    hugs

    Nina

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

