Thankfulness Thursday

It’s been a long month of hectic weeks, but today I need to remind myself of thankfulness items. Won’t you join me?

Today, I am thankful for:

  • Temporary (or maybe, just maybe, more than temporary) mitigation of tooth/jaw/ear pain. It’s taken me out of commission more days than not over the past three weeks, and it’s been difficult to write. Or work. Or go about my daily schedule. I don’t know what will happen now (and I do still have dull pain), but the blinding, stabbing pain that makes me sick to my stomach has eased.
    .
  • A weekend without internet and its various demands. I’m going away for a conference that may have wi-fi, but I will not use it. I need to unplug and relax, although I will be kept busy with various meetings, training sessions, and events.
    .
  • Something Good! Although the project has contributed more than its fair share of headaches in the past few weeks, the Kindles and first order of cases are on their way. I can’t wait to start loading them with the precious books I’ve received from authors and publishers.
    .
  • Spinach sauteed in butter and garlic, then sprinkled with a bit of salt. Why have I never sauteed spinach before? I’ve always parboiled and drained it, losing most of its nutrients.
    .
  • Taliasman’s continued success (knock on wood). Still holding at #4, sometimes down to #5, but far exceeding my hopes. A life of a professional writer consists of mind-numbingly long hours with infinitesimal financial and career rewards, so the successes become all the sweeter.
    .
  • A wonderful package from a sweet friend in England, arriving just in time to cheer me up after a horrible day. Chocolate, treats, and all kinds of goodies. Aw. ❤ Thank you, dear friend. You shouldn’t have, but I love you for it. Your love was balm to a stressed and weary heart.
    .
  • Resolution of the red tape fiasco with ordering Kindles and cases for Something Good. That was a nightmare! Every single thing that could go wrong did, and it took hours every day for over a week to get it sorted out. Now, (fingers crossed) we are set.
    .
  • Your wonderful, sweet comments yesterday and every day. I’m sorry I don’t get to reply to comments as often as I would like. Today, I debated whether to reply to comments or write this post. I decided to write and hoped you’d understand.
    .
  • LOL Day. Love you all.
    .
  • A wonderful new WIP that is taking me into unexpected directions. My words nourish me, even as they bring tears that hurt in the best way.
    .
  • Getting to write. The day before yesterday, in the midst of the worst headache so far and yet another setback with the Amazon order, I felt as if I couldn’t take one more second of frustration. I poured that frustration into writing, and 404 words appeared to vindicate my efforts. I wrote yesterday:
    I wrote 404 words (404 error: sorry, the page you are looking for cannot be found) yesterday. Normally I’d be upset at not getting more written, but instead I was relieved to finally write after weeks of distractions and stress. Bureaucracies are being stupid and Murphy’s sabotaging every effort to create ‪#‎SomethingGood‬. Everything I need and want to do hasn’t made it on the daily agenda because I’m too busy trying to fix other people’s mistakes.

    If you need anything from me, you’ll have to wait until I get some more writing done. An Ana who isn’t writing is a miserable Ana. Yesterday, for the first time in ages, I felt like myself.

    I am Ana; therefore, I write. Hear me roar.

    .
    And:

    Getting to know a new protagonist is like courting a future spouse.

    Tell me your secrets!

    Sorry, I didn’t mean to sound stalkerish. Come back. Tell me your favorite flavor of coffee instead?

    Tell me your dreams!

    Oopsie. Don’t skitter away. I’ll go more slowly. What kind of clothes do you like to wear?

    Waiting, impatiently, to discover the heart and soul of a character who will occupy my every waking moment until the WIP is complete.

  • Fresh, clean laundry.
    .
  • Hot brownies from the oven.
    .
  • That my decrepit old phone has revived with a replacement battery. It’s a terrible phone and the battery cost more than the phone is worth, but it’s something. 🙂
    .
  • A sweet friend who looks up camera recommendations for me. I’m not sure if I’ll really get one (tooth/jaw/headache issues might become expensive), but it’s lovely to daydream. Plus, I need to take pictures of all these gorgeous new Kindles…right? 😀
    .
  • Friends who talk me down from stressful days.
    .
  • Finding out that I can ease some pain by massaging behind my ears. I never would have thought that would help. 🙂
    .
  • New books to read! I hope I’ll get time to read this weekend. For sure, I’ll read before bed. Such a pleasure.
    .
  • Fun writing a flash fiction for Thursday Threads. You can see my entry here.
    .
  • The ability to choose the clothes I wear, the books I read, the food I eat, the places I go, and the job I want. Not everyone has such blessings, and I am truly lucky.

Thank you, dear friends, for listening to me. What is your thankfulness item for today?

6 thoughts on “Thankfulness Thursday

  1. catrouble says:

    So happy to hear all the good things that are happening for our sweet Ana…who so totally deserves it.

    Hope you continute to feel better and have a wonderful time away.

    Hugs and blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  2. abby says:

    That is am impressive list my friend…glad you are feeling better..hope it lasts.
    I am thankful for the wonderful new readers I have met because of LOL day.
    I am thankful for people like you….how make this place we live a much nicer, giving, humane place.
    I am thankful that i am done with my Christmas shopping…i cut down this year.
    I am thankful for a Master….who is really much more…
    hugs abby

    Like

  3. Roz Harrison says:

    What a wonderful list Ana, wow, you have so much going on! So glad you are feeling better and hope it continues. Hope you have a wonderful weekend at the conference.

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

  4. Ami says:

    So sorry to hear you have had a horrid three weeks with pain from teeth etc and glad the stabbing pain seems to have subsided. I hope you are feeling much better now and that you enjoy your conference.

    Very strange – tonight I sauteed spinach and garlic in olive oil to have with salmon and potato wedges for tea. Great minds and all that!

    Hugs
    Ami

    Like

  5. Irishey says:

    I am thankful that I have so many things for which to be thankful. These bolster me when I feel negative emotions over other things happen. Thank you for being one of the first kind. 🙂

    I hope your weekend is going well, with little or no pain to distract you.

    Hugs!

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

