Ana’s Advent Calendar Day 6: 2nd Annual St. Knickerless Day

FB-CoverPic(1)

Ami Starsong. Oh, yes. That Ami Starsong, she of the knicker fetish. She won’t admit how many pairs she owns, but she will admit that she loves to shop for them. Last year, amidst much hilarity, she offered to donate a pair of knickers as an Advent Calendar prize. (Oh, all right. I suggested it.) After discussing possible titles, she came up with the idea of St. Knickerless day as a pun on St. Nicholas Day (which is today, December 6). You can read all about the hilarity here.

Remember, everything is Ami’s fault and she deserves what she gets. 😀

 

 

ST KNICKERLESS DAY!

 

I’m very pleased to be asked to join in with the fun of Ana’s Advent Calendar again this year. A great deal of planning, preparation and hard work go into this event, and with the huge variety of different contributions there is plenty to interest everyone.

 

All this and mega prizes too!

 

So I put on my ‘Elf hat’ and my woolly socks, together with the little red shoes with jingly bells on the toes, and went shopping for my St Knickerless Day Prize. The people on the bus cast me sideways glances, but I didn’t care. I was intently perusing what type of knickers to purchase for this year’s lucky winner.

 

I had flagged my intention with Dan. “Oh, not again!” was his reply. Luckily he knows by now that once I have my mind set on something there is very little that will deter me.

 

You would suppose that an Elf on an English High Street would cause at least a few titters, but the English are so stolid and stalwart. I stood in the Knicker Shop for ages, rifling amongst the high-legs, thongs, shorts and tangas without raising a single eyebrow.

 

All I can tell you is that the lucky winner is in for a treat this year! And I’m not even telling Ana what the prize will be!

 

********************

 

This Advent I am not asking quiz questions. I don’t think I could better last year – both the participation and comments were brilliant!

 

So in order to contribute to the atmosphere leading up to Christmas, I hope you will enjoy to reading a short excerpt from my book in progress – raw first draft. The title is Walking with Shadows.

 

People mostly like a good ghost story – some of the ghosts in this story are real!

 

******************

 

 

 

He stood watching down the lane, the night had no hint of rain or dreariness. The air was frosty; the heavens clear and spangled with stars.

 

The diamond glittered on the first finger of his right hand.

 

He had waited such a very long time.

 

She was coming. He knew it. He could feel her nearby.

 

 

*******************

 

 

The Landrover hit a patch of ice, spun round facing the way we had come, hit the opposite verge, bounced in a water runnel and wedged itself between a large oak tree and a fence post.

 

“Fuck!” Hal slammed both fists down on the steering wheel.

 

I tried to extricate myself from my seat belt which had pulled tight on impact and now threatened to cut off circulation to my right boob.

 

“Fucking black ice!”

 

“That’s country life for you.”

 

“Give it a rest.” Hal was wearing his mulish look. He opened the door and gingerly climbed out, managed to avoid the ditch but snagged his coat on an enterprising bramble.

 

I heard him stumbling around the back of the car, then felt the entire vehicle shudder as he gave one of the back tyres an almighty kick.

 

He wrenched my door open.

 

“Back nearside’s flat as a pancake. I’ll have to phone David to come with the tractor and pull me out before I can change it.”

 

His festive bow tie with the holly design was up round his left ear, his shoes looked squelchy and there was mud on his evening trousers.

 

“Are you okay, Issy?”

 

“Bit late to ask me that.” I hitched up my long skirt, grabbed my clutch bag from the foot well where it had fallen, and scrambled down into the long wet grass.

 

My strappy shoes were about the most unsuitable I could have worn for such circumstances, but then, I hadn’t known the quick detour to the candlelit midnight service would take such an unfortunate turn.

 

Literally.

 

I stood on the roadside looking first at the stuck Landie, and then at my brother. He was busy on his mobile phone, fingers raking nervously through his hair, his clipped sentences cutting through the icy air.

 

I pulled my wrap more closely around my shoulders and shivered. I couldn’t see what time it was; the dial of my watch was far too small. I had so wanted to attend the midnight service. I had dragged Hal away from the Holton-Smythes’ party, much to the annoyance of Felicity Holton-Smythe who was draped all over him at the time.

 

My first Christmas in the depths of the English countryside was set on reinforcing the sagacity of the Chaos Theory.

 

Hal had warned me about the dangers of hiding myself away in such a rural area, but the first time I had seen ‘Bays’ I was lost. Within two months I had sold my flat in Islington, and relocated to the old timber-framed farmhouse nestled amongst the green swathes of meadowland rimmed in oak and field maple.

 

Bays had sat there for centuries, roots firmly entrenched in the clay soil of an England that the centuries had left undisturbed. Even though the chimney smoked when the wind was in the north, bindweed grew in the downstairs shower room, and the draughts whistled through the old mullions requiring extra thick curtains, I loved it.

 

I even loved the ghosts.

 

Yes, even the distant sound of music when you were very quiet and stood listening at the bottom of the old oak staircase that curved round the inglenook. Even when you went to pick up a book you had dropped on the floor at the bedside before dropping off to sleep, and found it across the room placed carefully on top of the chest of drawers. Even when you were making the bed and heard someone in the room along the landing, yet you knew you were the only one in the house.

 

Even then.

 

“Look, Hal. I’ll walk. It’s not far. I’ve got an old pair of flatties in the back I keep for driving in.” I tugged open the back door of the Landrover and leaning against the bumper undid the clasps on my sandals and pushed my feet into the comfortable old shoes that had been hurled up against the back seats when we slithered off the road.

 

It was a beautiful night, the sky full of stars; the sliver of a new moon had just climbed above the horizon, and a severe hoar frost had decorated everything in glistening, frilly white.

 

Hal knew better than to argue. Sometimes being the elder sister has its positives. At least I would feel warmer walking than standing still, and heaven only knew how long David would take to arrive with his tractor on a Christmas Eve.

 

“You’ve got your mobile?”

 

“Yes.” I checked it was switched on and popped it back in my bag.

 

“You be careful. I hope this service will be worth it.” Hal plainly wasn’t convinced. “Ring me when you get there.”

 

“It’s only half a mile along the lane. Give me some credit.”

 

“Ring me. Okay?”

 

I nodded.

 

“As soon as I get towed out and we’ve changed the tyre I will join you. Stay in the church and wait for me if the service finishes and I have not arrived. I don’t know what kind of signal you will get there, but give me a ring if you get any bars.”

 

I huffed, turned on my heel and marched off into the relative darkness of the tree-lined lane.

 

In flat shoes the going wasn’t too bad, but I did have to hold up my skirt and it kept getting clogged round my ankles. I slipped once or twice, but managed to keep my feet. My breath came out in fluffy clouds, and once or twice I heard owls calling in the trees ahead.

 

The air smelt so crisp and clean I felt quite enervated as I approached the small dark outline of the medieval church. Stepped back off the lane it was reached by a small wooden bridge that led over a drainage ditch.

 

There were, however, no cars outside. Everywhere was in complete darkness; just the flickering of candlelight through one or two of the south-facing windows. I just hoped the door had been left unlocked so that I could wait in relative warmth instead of having to sit and wait in the porch. If that were the case then I would have to retrace my steps – that or freeze.

 

I padded quietly over the little wooden bridge and slipped through the lychgate. The night was silent, even the owls had disappeared. I turned the large iron ring in the ancient oak door and felt relief as it swung inwards. I glanced back and the shadows seemed to gather behind me causing me to catch my breath. I moved forwards.

 

The church was warm from the candles and smelled redolently of beeswax, winter jasmine, arum lilies and incense. I closed the door behind me to keep the warmth in and the shadows out.

 

Fat, creamy white, church candles sat in their sconces to hold back the darkness and the shadows. More were perched along the deep stone windowsills and there were two in large brass candleholders on the altar itself. But only three were still alight, and they were considerably burned down.

 

The church was ancient and very small. Simple wooden pews extended towards the altar rail on both sides, a curved wooden door led to a small vestry tall men would have had difficulty with. Immediately in front of the main door, across the chancel, an intricately carved oak chest stood. On top hymn books and service sheets had been piled neatly together with some printed booklets detailing the history of the church, and a small empty box with a slit in the lid for payment or donations.

 

I wandered over to the booklets and browsed through one. They not only detailed the church history, but also the history of the family who had lived for generations in the great house next to the church. However, the house had burned down in the fifteen century under suspicious circumstances. It appeared that the Master of Horse to his Majesty King Richard III had once lived there.

 

The hairs stood up along the back of my neck. Richard III? Didn’t he kill the princes in the Tower? I put my head on one side, deep in thought. Didn’t Richard get his Master of Horse to do the deed for him?

 

I went and sat quietly in one of the pews in the second row from the front of the altar. I checked my watch. This time I could see the hands. 12.45. Christmas morning. I looked up quickly. The shadows danced around the walls, the stained glass dark, the air stuffy and oppressive.

 

Goosepimples had risen along my arms and my wrap had come loose. I snatched it around me once again and stood up, making my way to the altar, the candles flickering, the shadows alive, following me.

 

I put my hand out stroking the stone, touching the lace of the altar cloth. The air full of static. The shadows waiting.

 

The door to the church creaked.

 

I couldn’t turn round. Daren’t. I stood still as a statue, trying to breath, trying to inhale and exhale. Heart hammering.

 

“Hal?” My voice came out as a squeak. “Hal? Is that you?”

 

Silence greeted me as I had known it would.

 

Compelled to turn round, I hesitated.

The shadows drew back.

 

“Isabel?”

 

The voice did not belong to my brother.

 

“Isabel?”

 

It was a voice I knew. A voice I loved.

 

At least so it seemed to me. I couldn’t recall where from, but icy tremors ran up my spine.

 

The man was tall. His eyes dark. His nose long. His cheekbones high. Glossy dark chestnut hair. Arched brows.

 

“Isabel? Is it really you?” His voice cracked with emotion.

 

The shadows hummed around us. I put out my right hand and clasped the velvet of his shoulder. My eyes met with his. He took my left hand and held it to his heart, pulling me close so his chin rested gently upon my hair. I could see him, touch him, feel him. The pain was exquisite.

 

“Oh, Isabel.” His arms were tight around me. “You’ve made me wait so long.”

 

I bit my lip and leaned into his chest. The shadows pushed forward again, crowding, pressing. It was difficult to breathe. I raised my head and gazed into the face of the man I loved.

 

The man I love.

 

“Richard,” I said.

 

************

 

Hal’s voice came from a distance.

 

“Issy, Issy?” Then to someone else, “I think she’s coming round.”

 

My eyelids were lead weights. I forced them up and stared blearily at the sea of faces looking down at me where I lay slumped on the cold stone floor. With Hal’s help I struggled into a sitting position. My head hurt where I had bumped it on my way down.

 

“Hal? I thought…”

 

“Come on, let’s get you to your feet. What the hell happened? I was only about ten minutes behind you. David decided we should abandon the Landrover till after Christmas. It’s his hedge it’s in after all. He dropped me off at the church. Everyone else followed hot on my heels. We haven’t missed the service after all. Did you feel faint? Did you trip on your bloody skirt?”

 

My head felt full of cotton wool or sawdust, or both, but I could focus better now.

 

I frowned. As soon as they had seen I was still in the land of the living, and totally uninjured, the people who had turned up for the midnight service had begun to fill the pews. Hymn books and service sheets had been handed out, and a subtle smell of mulled wine and mince pies had invaded the atmosphere.

 

“I’m fine, Hal. Really I am.” I studied my watch. 11.25. Christmas Eve.

 

“Funny. I thought…” My voice trailed away. “I thought I had arrived after the service had finished. The pews were empty. There was no-one here.”

 

“Were the candles lit?” Hal looked resigned to having an idiot for a sister.

 

“Yes, but only three, the rest were burned down. The church was empty, Hal. It was nearly one in the morning.”

 

He dragged me to the back pew and thrust me in ahead of him, fencing me in at the end. He checked his watch again.

 

“Issy, you must’ve hurt your head more than I thought. I’ll take a look at it when we get home. The Tates said they would give us a lift on their way past, so if you can manage to cope with the service?”

 

His voice trailed off. He looked anxious, but I had recovered sufficiently to stand and join in with the first hymn, which was the carol “Once in Royal.” By the end of the service I had improved sufficiently not to need the help of his hand on my elbow, though I didn’t shake it off.

 

We stayed for a mince pie and a glass of mulled wine (transported in thermos flasks) before following the Tates out into the frozen air, Christmas greetings and good wishes pressed upon us.

 

At the lychgate I paused. The church was quiet once again, nestled in the shadows of the trees. Someone inside was extinguishing the candles.

 

I turned slightly to the left, my eyes going to the north door. A shadow had detached itself from the rest. I caught the flash of a diamond and my heart jumped.

 

“For goodness sake, come on, Issy!” Hal was getting impatient. He held the gate open for me.

 

I started to follow him through, then stopped. The flash came again as if a hand was lifted in farewell.

 

All went quiet.

 

The shadows had gone.

 

I smiled into the darkness and lifted my own hand.

 

‘Not farewell’, I thought.

 

********************

 

 

 

I do hope you enjoyed this. I was inspired to write this story not only due to certain ‘factual evidence’ where I live, but because in our ancient, simple, stone church, there is a small but elaborate tomb with the words “To the woman I love, until we meet again” inscribed on it. No-one knows who is buried there, but underneath the words is the Rose of York.

 

All who read the story and comment will have their names written down in a piece of paper and put in a large pudding basin. Dan will draw the winning name.

 

If the winner is willing to let me have their initials and address, I will post the St Knickerless prize to them as soon as they let me know their size.

 

I can be contacted at amistarsong@live.co.uk

 

Many thanks to Ana for all her hard work and for making our lead up to Christmas so enjoyable.

 

108 thoughts on “Ana’s Advent Calendar Day 6: 2nd Annual St. Knickerless Day

  1. Petronella Ford says:

    I will only stand in the corner if I will also get spanked 😉 Loved that story, slightly ashamed to say I do have knickers on but its cold and there are parts of me I don’t want frozen! I also love old churches and graveyards, I like seeing stories or different names, there is a grave at Barking Abbey (local to me) where there is a whole family called Mistletoe and one guy (?) was called Mistletoe Mistletoe. That really makes you think!

    Like

    • Ami says:

      Hello Petronella! Corners and spankings go together well, but in this story the shadows lurk in the corners!

      Reading gravestones is fascinating. I’ve always loved doing it. There is an old churchyard stuffed with “smugglers” not far from where I live, and all the gravestones have “Skull and Crossbones” on them together with interesting verses.

      I love your facts about the family with the Mistletoe surname. I wonder whether you have researched them?

      Thank you for your kind comments.

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

    • Ami says:

      Thank you very much, Tina. This is only a short excerpt and it’s in a very rough state as yet. I’ve always wanted to write a ghost story and I’ve been working on this for what seems ages. I will certainly let everyone know when I have finished it.

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

    • Ami says:

      Abby, thank you so much. You are very kind. To make people ‘want’ to read more is very important to me. I’ll let you know if and when I get it finished.

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  2. Jay says:

    This is a great beginning to the story and would love to read more… such a tease giving us enough to get us hooked but not enough to finish us off… you must take lessons from Ana!!!

    Like

    • Ami says:

      Hello Jay, and thank you for your very generous comments.

      I can tell you that Ana has helped me enormously with my writing; especially with my confidence.

      This is a small excerpt a short way into the story. It has its roots in fact but naturally I have had to use ‘poetic licence’ as I don’t think any of us will really know the real truth about Richard except that for much of his later life he was not exactly a happy man, and that at the Battle of Bosworth Field he was betrayed by one of his best friends.

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  3. sassytwatter says:

    Super cute post! And I totally remember last years knicker less post! I am a fellow lover of all hits lace satin and silk!

    Thank you for sharing the story & I loved hearing how the little stone church with the beautiful inscription inspired you.

    Happy Hikidays!

    Like

    • Ami says:

      Thank you very much, Sassy. I so wish I could show you pictures of this little church that stands in the middle of the fields not far from where I live. It is most unusual, beautiful and very ghostly, but it is still used for weddings and holiday occasions like Christmas services. When you step inside the ‘atmosphere’ of the place is very apparent.

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  4. Kyra Tinker says:

    Happy St Knickerless Day….haha funny. Since this is my first time in Ana Advent Calendar, I find this hilarious. I too am a lover of all things satin, lace and silk ….sometimes cotton( ( yes I do admit it).
    That was a great excerpt. You left me hanging….good hanging…but hanging all the same. Can’t wait to see where story goes from there.
    Thanks for the excerpt.

    Like

    • Ami says:

      Happy St Knickerless Day, Kyra! I am so glad you are enjoying Ana’s Advent Calendar because she truly puts a great deal of effort into it!

      Thank you for your kind comments on my excerpt. Although I adore all things ‘spanking’ I just wanted to try something different. A lot of work lies ahead, but I will let you know when I complete the book.

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

    • Ami says:

      Thank you for your kind comments, Tracey. Ana’s snow is terrific and I tried to copy her and have snow on my blog, but it didn’t work. You can probably only get snow with WordPress. It is very effective.

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

    • Ami says:

      Hi Pieclown! Doesn’t seem a whole year since last St Knickerless Day does it? Glad you enjoyed my excerpt. We tend to get a lot of black ice over here! Hate the stuff! I’ve turned the car round more times than I dare to relate! Thank you so much for taking part.

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  5. Renee says:

    Oh my gosh… loved the snippet. Can’t wait for the story. I loved St. Knickerless Day last year. I do love all things knickers but I will admit being knickerless can be fun too. Thanks for sharing. Blessings. R

    Like

    • Ami says:

      Hi Renee! Happy St Knickerless Day! Being knickerless is all very good and well – but you can end up with double pneumonia if you aren’t careful! In fact, I could do with some knickers with inbuilt central heating right now.

      Thank you so much for your kind comments.

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  6. Shannon Love says:

    I thought the excerpt was great! I really want to read it when the story comes out. When I visit my grandma’s grave, I usually wander around and visit everyone. I look at the old gravestones, look at the ages of the family members and make up stories about them. This story is right up my alley.
    I did have a moment where I wandered off to Google Richard III but I came right back. I’m easily distracted 🙂

    Happy St. Knickerless Day!

    Like

    • Ami says:

      Hi Shannon! Thank you for your kind comments! Good old Dicken is a very interesting and much maligned historical character. I’ve always felt a great deal of sympathy for him. Did you know there is a Richard III Society? You get a very different picture of Richard from them.

      Happy St Knickerless Day!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  7. Joelle Casteel says:

    wow, lovely story, Ami, although it has an interesting feeling maybe helping with the fact that I’m currently reading the SciSpanks collection. Yes, a good St Knickerless Day. Funny since I only bothered to put on a shirt when I woke this morning 😀

    Like

    • Ami says:

      Joelle, you are making me giggle! Thank you so much for your kind comments. I hope you aren’t cold just wearing a ‘shirt’. It is below freezing over here!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

      • Joelle Casteel says:

        Giggles are good 😀 Gonna say it here ’cause I forgot in my first comment, then posted in on the Calender’s page on FB, but I was so glad being all depressed as I was to have this post waiting for me. Heh, it is quite cold out here, but my Master is working at a graphite factory in the “furnace room,” He says, so we keep the house in the 70s lol

        Like

        • Sarah Bennett says:

          I hear you on that, Joelle! Even though we had a mostly sunny day here, I’m still fighting feeling down 😦
          But these posts and comments really help.

          Hugs to all on this St Knickerless Day! 🙂

          Like

          • Joelle Casteel says:

            Being bipolar and in a struggling marriage, yeah. some days are just bad. But 😀 I do have some of my veganized version of Leigh’s taco casserole waiting for food

            Like

    • Renee says:

      Hi Joelle, I have to tell you that since last St. Knickerless Day when you commented that you live in a clothing optional house, I have been telling my hubby I want a clothing optional house too. It is a little hard with three teens still home but someday…

      Like

      • Marybeth says:

        Hmmm..clothing optional. Not too sure about that. We live in a friendly neighborhood in a house with lots of windows. LOL, we do sleep in the nude though….

        Like

        • Ami Starsong says:

          Clothing optional sounds good to me, but my body is no longer something I want everyone to see! LOL! Age does that to a body.

          We also have the windows problem, and people use this house like a terminus – always coming and going.

          The other snag is that I would freeze to death. Now if I lived somewhere nice and hot, ie 80s plus, I would be a happy bunny and wear much less than I do here.

          Snap, Marybeth, we sleep in the nude too – but I have been taking a hot water bottle to bed these last few nights!

          Joelle, I am sending you lots of supportive thoughts and blessings. I have a friend who is bipolar and it’s not easy.

          Like

      • Joelle Casteel says:

        Renee, part of how it works for my family- and I have a 16 year old boy- I’m practically a nudist but not 24/7, however now-teen grew has lived with me being clothing optional his whole life. So he’s seen me naked at all his ages and a myriad of sizes, from 100 lbs (a bit underweight for me) all the way up to 160-ish where I am now.
        heh, we live in a family oriented neighborhood. We normally have our shades largely closed due to keeping them behind plastic all year because they leak and need replaced, Marybeth, but I figure, “they” shouldn’t be trying to look so into my house 😀 however when the weather’s nice enough to have doors open, I usually put on clothes. hence why I don’t claim nudist.

        Like

        • Marybeth says:

          We are a friendly neighborhood that just walks in. That would be too much of a shock. And yes, my kids have seen us nude all their lives. From very heavy, to not so much now. And so, I have two nudists and one modest. So, I try to take into consideration his feelings. But, if he comes into my room, oh well/ ;p;

          Like

          • Joelle Casteel says:

            ah we lack the “just walks in” part in my neighborhood, Marybeth. I may live in the northern part of the lower peninsula of Michigan, but some days it feels like we have the stereotypical New England aloofness here.

            Like

            • Marybeth says:

              I have never lived in such a friendly neighborhood! We have a big outdoor pool and other neighbors have a hot tub. Seems like we go from house to house all summer. And, we stock each others favorite foods. We all have dogs and they hang out together too. I will hate it when we downsize. But, one family says they are coming with us when we move. We are negotiating the state. I want to move to Arizona (I loved it when we vacationed there in August), they want to move to New Hampshire. We have a few years before that happens. One more kid to get off to college. LOL. We call them auxiliary husband and wife (and daughter). I love it!

              Like

  8. Irishey says:

    My thanks to Rose of York, for providing the spark that started your story, Ami. I really enjoyed this excerpt – it’s right up my windswept alley! Email me the SECOND it’s available, ‘kay? 🙂

    My curiosity is piqued by your knickers selection that not even Ana could guess what it will be. Oohhh, this is gonna be fun! 😉

    Hugs, and Happy St. Knickerless Day!!!

    Like

    • Ami says:

      Hi Irishey! Happy St Knickerless Day! My story needs no end of work and editing. As soon as I posted this excerpt I saw all my mistakes! Horrible! Ana has made me neurotic! But it has done me the world of good.

      I am not telling you what the knicker prize will be, but I think everyone will like it. I will just titivate your fancy by saying that I am including just a little ‘extra’ this year.

      Thank you very much for your kind comments, and I will certainly let everyone know when this is finally finished.

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  9. Roz Harrison says:

    Ami, I just love your writing style, you do know how to keep the reader on the edge of their seat. Really enjoyed this. Great excerpt, I definitely want to read more! Loved reading about the inspiration behind the story. Wonderful history.

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

    • Ami says:

      Hi Roz! Thank you so much for your kind comments. I wasn’t sure how people would react. I can tell you it is based on lots of fact but with my fantasies added to make the story. It will take a while before it’s finished, but I’ll let you know when it is.

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

    • Ami says:

      Thank you so much, Leigh. Happy St Knickerless Day! The book is a bit involved and may take a while, but I’ll let you know when I’ve finished it.

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  10. minellesbreath says:

    You are very talented Ms Ami of St. Knickerless day!
    I love the premise of this story. You drew us in immediately! I picture an old Hollywood romantic movie in my head! I am also eagerly awaiting the book! Get busy young woman!
    You and Ana will share a picture of the knickers when the winner is announced??

    Like

    • Ami says:

      Hi Minelle! Happy St Knickerless Day! Thank you very much for your kind comments. When the book is finished I shall be looking for a beta reader – are you offering? Funnily enough I first started researching for this story over ten years ago!

      I shall be very happy to post a picture of the knicker prize as soon as I know it is accepted by the lucky winner and I am sure Ana will be happy to do the same or direct people to my blog.

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  11. Laura says:

    Ami, this was terrific. I look forward to reading your book when it comes out. Quick question – I went on your blog and saw that I could join if I joined Google Connect. Does Google Connect work like Facebook in that if you respond your dialog is put out there for anyone? Have a great St. Knickerless Day.

    Like

    • Ami says:

      Hi Laura! Golly, I am not at all technical! All I know is that if people comment on my blog posts I reply to them, and yes, the responses are there for all to see. I am very happy if you want to email me though. The best person to answer the technical stuff is Cat, but there are probably others here who may know.

      Can anyone help Laura? Blogs seem very similar to Facebook, but I am not sure.

      Thank you very much for your kind comments. I will certainly let you know when I finish the book, but it will be a while yet.

      Happy St Knickerless Day to you!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  12. SH says:

    Grrrr, it ended too soon! Fantastic excerpt! It drew me in and wouldn’t let go… Thank you for giving us a glimpse and I so look forward to reading it! Nicely done! 🙂

    Like

    • Ami says:

      Happy St Knickerless Day, Chickie and thank you for your kind comments. I am making a note and will let you have another excerpt or two as I get nearer completion. I am so glad you enjoyed it!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  13. Shannon Love says:

    In the spirit of St. Knickerless Day I have, so far, managed to honor the day. It’s my day off work so darn it, I will be free of my gluteal incarceration. Free of elastic lines, free of wedgies. If I didn’t have kids, I’d opt for the undies and be free of pants. I take my rebellion where I can get it!

    On another note, I opened Facebook this morning and it appears the an Elf on the Shelf raided my friend’s 6 year old’s underwear drawer. The poor little girl woke up and followed the trail of her underpants to the Christmas Tree where she found the rest of her underpants had been used to trim the tree. Now I’m not a fan of the Elf on the Shelf but that one was pretty original and made me laugh. I’m still cleaning coffee off my computer screen.

    Like

    • Ami says:

      Hello again, Shannon. I think we all get to the stage where we take our rebellion where we can get it!

      This Elf on the Shelf seems to get everywhere – except over here! Thank goodness! Bury them at midnight, I say!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  14. ruthshulman says:

    I loved the excerpt; love and ghosts seem to go well together for me. The little anecdote about the churchyard is similarly charming. Thank you for sharing this with us!

    Have a great St. Knickerless Day! (That makes me smile. 😀 )

    Like

  15. Lara Estes says:

    That’s it! That’s all? Now I am left to my imagination, which by the way can be dangerous in an of its self. I love the snippet, I have walked into some old mansions and could feel someone watching or walking with, very bone chilling.
    Now as far as knickers go, less is more and lace is so revealing, not that I would know anything about things like that ;-). Thank you much for sharing this Ami, a prefect way to start the day.

    Like

    • Ami says:

      Hi Lara! Yep, that’s it; that’s all for now. Giggle. I am so glad you enjoyed my excerpt. You must feel exactly the same as me in ‘certain’ places. I often hesitate to touch old stones – there have been some I swear I could feel resonate. The stones of an old abbey near here, for example.

      Less is definitely more when it comes to knickers – but they must fit properly and they must be beautiful, even if they are only ‘everyday’ knickers. A touch of lace here and there; a satin ribbon strategically placed….

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  16. P.T. Wyant says:

    Happy St. Knickerless Day.

    I loved the excerpt and hope to read more someday. (So stop shopping for knickers and get writing!)

    I love old cemeteries.

    Being in the states, our cemeteries aren’t nearly as old as yours, but there is one not too far from me with graves that go back to the Civil War, most are from the 1800s or early 1900s and the one more modern stone sticks out like the cliched sore thumb.

    There’s also an old cemetery that has the graves of a lot of Irish immigrants from the early 1800s, as well as the recreation of what was the first Roman Catholic church in the area.

    The ghosts from both places would be fascinating.

    Like

    • Ami says:

      Hi P.T! Thank you so much for your kind comments.

      Yes, I love old graveyards and old cemeteries. As a child I was hoicked around many an old cemetery to do with the Civil War in the US. Some epitaphs were very poignant. I find these places, on the whole, very atmospheric.

      But what if we were to get overlaps of time in certain places? Who would the ghosts be then?

      Happy St Knickerless Day!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  17. Sarah Bennett says:

    I really enjoyed the story! Thank you for sharing, Ami!
    It had an eerie and ghostly feel to it and yet very serene and sweet.

    Have a great day, everyone. 🙂

    Like

    • Ami says:

      Sorry, Nancy, I seem to have replied to Sarah between your two comments! I am very easily confused, but I must’ve pressed the wrong ‘Reply’ before typing my response.

      Happy St Knickerless Day, anyway! And thank you for your kind comments on my little excerpt.

      Yes, black ice is hateful; more so when you are driving on a small, winding unlit country lane! Dramatic rescue? Now that sounds intriguing!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

    • Ami says:

      Happy St Knickerless Day, Ameliahfaith! I am so glad you enjoyed my little excerpt. Thank you very much for your kind comments.

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

      • nancygoldberglevine says:

        Thanks, Ami. My alter-ego, Vi, wrote about the dramatic rescue in her story, “Nutsie in Disguise,” which will be out next year. My friend (same one who gives me a hard time about attendance at work) is also a cab driver and on two Thursdays in a row when he came to pick me up, I had fallen on the black ice in front of my condo. The second time was when he had to help me up. Sheesh!

        Like

  18. Amy says:

    Excellent excerpt! I do love a good ghost story. I like them better than “creature” stories because there’s a shivery-but-real feel to them. Good stuff!

    Like

  19. Katie says:

    Ami! 🙂 I LOVED your story! You write so well- the descriptions are so very good that I truly could picture the whole thing in my mind as I was reading, as if I was actually there, right along with Isabel. And ghost stories are so fun! I think it is neat how you came to write about the story, and I look forward to reading much more!

    Happy St Knickerless Day! Wait a minute- are we supposed to go around knickerless??? Rob would like that I think! LOL! 😉 Many hugs,

    ❤ Katie

    Like

    • Ami says:

      Katie – if it is as cold where you are as it is where I am – we would both get spanked for ‘not taking care’ of ourselves! LOL! Thank you so much for your very kind comments. It may take a while to finish this story! Happy St Knickerless Day, nevertheless. Maybe I will send you another snippet one of these days!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  20. catrouble says:

    Happy St Knickerless Day Ami! Staying home today so am running around the house knickerless. Just hope no one pops by to visit. *snicker* BTW…are you knickerless today? 😉

    Loved this excerpt! Thank you for sharing. Can’t wait for the completed book! How long do we have to wait?

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

    • Ami says:

      Hi Cat, Happy St Knickerless Day. Glad you are throwing yourself into the spirit of things!

      I have a great deal of work to do with this before the book will be finished, but I will remember to let you know when it is.

      BTW – Dan went to the football (soccer) match today and instead of his usual boxers he wore long johns for warmth. I told him that he was the “knickerless” one!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  21. janey says:

    What a great start….
    I am trying to work out where it’s based and if I’ve been there! Pirates, smugglers … I don’t know!
    Thanks Ami

    Like

    • Ami says:

      Hi Janey, Happy St Knickerless Day!

      Thank you for your comments – I will give you a hint. It is on the East side of the country. You’ll have to email me to find out more!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  22. JC says:

    WOW. What a great excerpt! However I want to know more!!!!! It is no fair to get us so wrapped up in the story and then leave us hanging! I loved reading for story. Can’t wait for the rest. I love St. Knickerless Day! What fun.

    Like

    • Ami Starsong says:

      Oh thank you so much, JC. I love St Knickerless Day too! I can see I shall have to work hard to get my book finished. I never thought people would be so interested in it. But sorry, you will have to stay hanging for a while yet.

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  23. Liz Castillo (@liz_josette) says:

    Wow!! That was a great excerpt, can’t wait to read more of it!

    Some of my favorite times when I was younger was playing in the cemetery down the street from my grandmother’s house. We spent a lot of time there and some of my best memories.

    Happy St. Knickerless Day!! ❤

    Like

    • Ami Starsong says:

      Happy St Knickerless Day, Liz and thank you very much for your kind comments.

      Graveyards and cemeteries are the most interesting of places, aren’t they?

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  24. Meredith says:

    Ami,
    Dear Friend,
    What a great story……….. I felt I was there with you as our skirts got muddy. I want more! All those English words that I can easily read but sometirmes has trouble understanding……. Please keep writing. You inspire me to do so.
    Meredith

    Like

    • Ami says:

      Sheesh! You should see the mud on our lanes during wintertime. They are getting up the surgarbeet and the roads are one big mud-bath!

      Oh dear – well I hope you understood the words. Thank you for coming over to read, Meredith. This one will take me some time to finish. Yes, please do some writing and then I can read yours!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

    • Ami Starsong says:

      Thank you, Marybeth, and a Happy St Knickerless Day to you! I love pretty lingerie! I dare not tell you how many pairs of knickers I have!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

    • Ami Starsong says:

      Happy St Knickerless Day, Sarah and thank you for your kind comments. I shall make finishing the story my priority in the New Year.

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

    • Ami Starsong says:

      Hi Holla, Happy St Knickerless Day and thank you so much for your kind comments. If you are keeping them on, I hope they are pretty ones!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  25. AFOdom says:

    More, please. More, more, more.

    Also, this being my first time around, I surely thought St. Knickerless day would be a challenge for all of us to go without knickers for the day. When I started reading the post, I thought “Oh! Some naughty person will be knickerless in the story!”

    Clearly, I have a one track mind.

    Like

    • Ami Starsong says:

      LOL!!!

      Happy St Knickerless Day, AFOdom! Thank you so much for commenting.

      Last year was when the concept of having knickers as a prize was first raised. It was so popular that Ana thought we could continue with it. But I wanted to be a bit different this year and offer a short Christmas ghost story, so I am glad you enjoyed it.

      Be my guest if you would like to go for a day without knickers! Too cold over here for that, but I am with you in spirit!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  26. Mary M. says:

    Thank you for the excellent excerpt! You are very good at weaving an atmosphere in your writing. Hubby says thank you for St. Knickerless Day, as I have been home sans knickers most of the day in celebration of same 🙂

    Like

    • Ami Starsong says:

      Happy St Knickerless Day, Mary! And for your very kind comments. I only ever go ‘sans culottes’ in the summer time when we have a hot day! It is below freezing point where I live at the moment, so far too cold unless inside with the heating turned to maximum. But very glad your husband is supportive of going without knickers – apparently it is much healthier! LOL!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

    • Ami Starsong says:

      I adore pretty knickers! You don’t have to leave them off – it’s just that some people think it’s a bit of a giggle to do so.

      Thank you for your very kind comments, and a Happy St Knickerless Day to you!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  27. thelongbean says:

    Lovely story. However, my gender does not normally wear knickers…
    Yesterday, down at one of the beaches locally there was the St Nicholas name day celebration- a bit damp, but the lunch was good and the warm enough to swim in:)

    Like

    • Ami Starsong says:

      Hi Longbean! I am certain that if your name comes out of the hat I can magic up some great boxers or Calvins that you will like to wear. I am, however, extremely jealous that your weather is hot enough for the ‘beach’! It is below freezing here today! Brrrrrrr!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  28. terpsichore says:

    Ami, such a wonderful story. I was immediately drawn in and long to know what happens. Thank-you for sharing your talent. 🙂 Hugs

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

