Ana’s Advent Calendar, Day 13: 3rd Annual White Elephant Gift Exchange

FB-CoverPic(1)

No, Ruth, we won’t exchange real elephants. 😀

Happy Advent Calendar!  Today we’re going to try something a bit different.  Have you heard of a white elephant gift exchange?  There are many different ways to play, but the basic scenario is this:

Everyone brings a wrapped Christmas gift.  In some gift exchanges, everyone purchases a gift within a set monetary limit (such as five or ten dollars per gift).  In other gift exchanges, people bring from home something that is in good condition but not wanted.

There are many ways to distribute gifts, but the simplest way is to give each gift a number and then have everyone draw a number to determine which gift he or she will receive.

We’re going to do a virtual white elephant gift exchange today, and this is how it will work:

I’ll be the first recipient.

The first person to comment describes a white elephant gift he or she will give me.  If you have a blog, feel free to post a picture of the gift and then post the link in the comments.  Describe the gift and why you chose it.  I’ll reply to your comment with my reaction to the gift.

The next people to comment describe two white elephant gifts to give to commenters posting before you. If you see anyone who hasn’t received a gift, feel free to add an extra gift. Again, you can describe in detail, post a link to a picture online (such as a product description page on Amazon), or post a link to a picture of the gift on your blog. Come back later to see what you’ve received!

Check back to see what “gift” you receive from the next commenter, and post your reaction as a reply.  :)

Oh, and for the last commenter of the day I’ll comment by posting a gift for you.

 

Also, will you participate in a real-life exchange this year? Tell us about it and what you plan to bring. I’m going to engrave two small wooden plaques with Bible verses and decoration for an exchange this Sunday. I’m not sure what I’ll get, but I’m thinking it won’t be wooden spoons. 😀

Ready?

P.S.  To keep things interesting, please don’t duplicate any of the gifts already posted.  Thanks!

Not sure how this will work? Take a look at the 2013 or 2012 white elephant gift exchange.

 

(Disclaimer: The white elephant gift exchange is for entertainment purposes only. No actual gifts will be given.)

 

 

142 thoughts on “Ana’s Advent Calendar, Day 13: 3rd Annual White Elephant Gift Exchange

  1. abby says:

    Oh….my wonderful gift has many uses. Master bought it at a garage sale for only 1.00 …what a bargain. It is a large, heavy, wooden paddle ball paddle. If your furnace ever breaks it will provide heat for at least a day, it will serve as a wonderful large tray to serve drinks at your next party, you can paint a scene on it and make it an interesting discussion piece….you can also play paddle ball with it. Lucky you…Lucky me…enjoy it!
    hugs abby

    Like

  2. Kyra says:

    Hello Abby. What a wonderful gift. I hope someday to have that special someone gift me with something so awesome.
    My gift for you is something from home, hearth and the heart. I love baking and would gift you with a Mixed Berry Cheesecake. I wish I could post a picture because it’s so beautiful.
    I hope you would enjoy it…..

    Like

  3. Shannon Love says:

    To PieClown I give a homemade purple and pink tulle and ribbon tutu. My best friend made one for me for when we run races and obstacle course mud runs. Very cute and very bouncy. It makes me smile whenever I see it because we have such a great time. We get a lot of comments during races. (goes well with a tiara)

    Like

    • Chickie says:

      Shannon, I am giving you a shake weight. Mostly because I have personally white elephant register this thing twice and received it again last weekend. I tbubj it’s time for this thing to leave my immediate circle of friends!

      Like

    • pieclown says:

      Hello Shannon, A tutu that is pink and purple. How did you now that purple is my color. Thanks. haha. But to be honest, I am on the big side, to many Christmas cookies, So I can not were a 2-2, I need a 4-4. hehe.
      On a side note, a group of my clown friends did a run in Oct. One of the gals had cancer and the crew was in pink tutu’s, pink hair, and pink noses.
      I hope you are enjoying the calender.

      pie pie 4 now

      Like

      • Shannon Love says:

        What’s great about a homemade tutu is that you measure the ribbon you use to tie the tutu around your waist and you keep adding tulle until it goes all the way around. I’m no skinny-minnie myself but I wear it with pride. It’s so bouncy when I walk, my ample booty definitely allows for some bounce. I love it because I have fun memories attached to mine. Sounds like you have some fun tutu memories yourself 😉

        Like

    • Shannon Love says:

      Funny story . . . my husband is a body builder. One year (when I knew nothing about bodybuilding, and I mean at all), I looked at the shaker weight and thought it was a ridiculous idea. During Christmas shopping season, I saw it online, I stared at it, read the reviews and thought it over for a few days. I finally decided that I didn’t like it. I told my husband about it thinking it was probably some innovative thing he would want to try. He told me it would have been the worst gift he would have gotten and would never let me live that down. I still get razzed a bit for even considering it. Karma definitely is a funny thing indeed.

      Like

  4. Chickie says:

    Ana, I am giving you a lovely calligraphy pen and a fancy roll of old parchment. A stunning handmade gold ribbon to wrap around it. Oh, and an Easy Bake oven. Not the new one that takes 25 minutes to get lukewarm. The old one with a real lightbulb inside. Now you can write all these stinking rules on that fancy paper and shove it in the oven!

    Like

      • Chickie says:

        We finally admitted defeat on the be style. Between all the lawsuits from unsupervised kids getting burned and then phasing out in a descent lights, they had to redesign it into a not fun toy anymore. A batch of 6 miniature cookies takes a good hour start to finish. Mostly it’s a food dehydrater now.

        However, I have gifted you a real one that gets hot and is sure to sizzle those rules into ashes in the blink of an eye. Just don’t stick your hand in to rescue them lol

        Like

      • Katie says:

        LOL I wanted to have an Easy Bake Oven in the worst way when I was a little girl. For some reason it is something that I never received. Then one Christmas when I had my first apartment, I opened a box from my mom and it was a microwave, with a note about making up for the Easy Bake Oven that I always wanted. LOL! I sitll smile when I think of that.

        Like

  5. AFOdom says:

    Chickie, I give you “Sex in a Tent”. Add some new delights to your adventures in the great outdoors: http://gearx.com/wilderness-press-sex-in-a-tent?gclid=COTe6pqTw8ICFRBo7Aod_B0A0w

    White Elephant gift exchanges are my favorite part of the holidays. I LOVE THESE THINGS. I even look for excuses to do them when it’s not the holidays. In addition to the traditional “bring anything” exchanges, I’ve hosted a couple where all the gifts people bring are books. And another where all the things were board games.

    Like

  6. Amy says:

    AFOdom and Leigh Smith, you both get a copy of this “awesome” book: “A Billionaire Dinosaur Forced Me Gay.” And I’m not totally, completely bitter that this thing is selling better than my novel. Nope. http://www.amazon.com/Billionaire-Dinosaur-Forced-Me-Gay-ebook/dp/B00MCVVH6G

    No real-life white elephant parties for me this year, but we’ll be spending Christmas with my in-laws and exchanging gifts with them. They’ve asked for a copy of my book…that makes me nervous. LOL!

    Like

  7. JC says:

    To Leigh Smith I give a Sundae in a box. It contains two bowls, a box of vanilla ice cream, chocolate syrup, caramel syrup, sprinkles and a can of spray whip cream.
    I hope you like ice cream. If not I am sure you can think of other ideas for the syrup and whip cream 😉

    To AFODOM I gift a mini marshmallow shooter. It is made from PVC pipes. Your gift also contains a roll of colorful duct tape and a bag of mini marshmallows. The duct tape is to decorate your gun, but duct tape fixes anything so fill free to find another use.

    Like

    • AFOdom says:

      I just read this article on how to turn duct tape into a backless bra to wear with strapless and backless dresses. With your colorful duct tape, I’m all set.

      My dog with love the result of my mini marshmallow shooter. Hmmm. I guess I should check to see if my dog can eat marshmallows. Maybe I’ll just make my kids sit still with their mouths open and practice my aim…

      Like

  8. Tina S. says:

    Amy I’m gifting you a sarcastic ball, it’s an ordinary Magic 8 ball is pretty polite when you think about it. This sarcastic ball will give you your answer to a snide remark, so you not only get the answer to your question but you get a laugh at the same time. Just remember not to get too upset, it is just an inanimate ball.

    Like

  9. Holla Dean says:

    Amy and JC, I will give you each a new spanking tool. These are wood battens meant for weaving but can be repurposed for a sound spanking. I just made several of them. They’re about an inch wide, and a quarter inch thick, two two feet long. I’ve sanded them down to a smooth silky feel. They should have quite the whippy feel when your tush is smacked with them.
    My day job does a white elephant gifting every year. It can be fun and we do it so the next person to get their gift can either pick one from the pile, or choose to take a gift they like that someone else has already chosen. But the same gift can only change hands twice so the 3rd person to take it gets to keep it. It gets very interesting when you have to plot and plan so you can be the 3rd for the gift you want.

    Like

  10. sassytwatter says:

    There have been so many yummy gifts….to you Joelle & Holla I’m giving you board games…great way to pass a rainy afternoon inside and you can make it a dirty board game….Garda against humanity a great way to find out about the people your playing with. We are doing a family white elphant gift and we got someone and ugly xmas sweater that will be fun to wear to an ugly holiday sweater party and it’s truly ugly. It’s got a cat that looks like a groundhog on it. Happy holidays.

    Like

    • Joelle Casteel says:

      good thing you said that, Ameliah. I forgot to answer that too… sadly it’s a no for me as well, except for the sadly consumerist version of the holiday my parents do

      Like

  11. P.T. Wyant says:

    Sassy likes board games, hm? Okay then… For sassy, a wooden paddle with the word “games” wordburned on one side and the words “chess,” “checkers,” “backgammon,” and “monopoly” woodburned on the other. I’m sure lots of fun games can be had with it…

    And for Ruth a pink hippopotamus for Christmas, to replace the spot formerly occupied by her white elephant.

    Like

    • sarah bennett says:

      Mary, I’m giving to you a virtual homemade pinecone wreath.
      I recall my mom toiling over them as gifts when I was a kid.
      It brings back happy memories of sitting and watching her make them. Imlooking out my window now at the evergreens with pinecones hanging down in the sunshine.

      I also am making more Russian tea cakes for you! 🙂

      Like

      • sarah bennett says:

        Mary, I’m giving to you a virtual homemade pinecone wreath.
        I recall my mom toiling over them as gifts when I was a kid.
        It brings back happy memories of sitting and watching her make them. Imlooking out my window now at the evergreens with pinecones hanging down in the sunshine.

        I also am making more Russian tea cakes for you! 🙂

        Like

  12. Katy Beth McKee says:

    Oh trying to think of what would be a good gift. Maybe a plate of my daughters hand-made candy pops. She works so hard and they were tasty but a couple of them took real imagination to figure out what they were supposed to be.

    And the second gift tap shoes. The Preschool I work there is an old pair of tap shoes and they seem to be a favorite with both the girls and the boys. They are often paired with a fluffy square dance type skirt with leopard print.

    Like

  13. Sarah says:

    To Nancy, I give a pair of purple fuzzy slippers and a box of Cadbury chocolate. A long time ago, I participated in a treasure hunt exchange. You are given a list of 12 things. Number 1:Something to eat; Number 2:Something that smells good; Number 3: Something to play with…..and so on. At the end, each person received a box or stocking of 12 items and it was a game to guess who had filled each box or stocking. It was great fun, and I would really like to do it again sometime.

    Like

  14. sarah bennett says:

    To Mary, I give a pinecone wreath because it signifies to me the creativity my mom used to have at the holidays. I’ve always loved homemade gifts..both giving and receiving.

    To sarah, I give you homemade cookies. 🙂

    Since I’m relocating, I’m not really participating in any gift exchanges.

    Like

  15. Katie says:

    TO Sarah and Sarah above. I am going to give you my two spatulas because well… Let’s just say that Rob thinks that they are very very useful for… in the kitchen. 😉 Both are quite new. One is more traditional, metal handle with silicone part. Is great for cooking eggs etc. And one (it’s red, flat and silicone) is better for scraping batter off the sides of whatever you are mixing up to bake. You can figure out amongst yourselves who gets which! I think that you will enjoy. At the same time, I will likely enjoy that you both have them, and we no longer do! HA!

    And with that I will give you a bubble bath bomb from the LUSH store because I know that we could all use a relaxing bubble bath around this time of year. ENJOY!!!

    And as for being part of an exchange, we do an exchange of gifts on Christmas Eve with family, as we enjoy a 7 fishes feast at some relatives. Everyone draws a name and gets the recipient a thoughtful and nice gift. traditional and fun! Many hugs,

    ❤ Katie

    Like

  16. SH says:

    To Katie and Laurel, I am giving you a gift card to one of my favorite stores, Bath and Body Works 🙂 I figured this would be a practical gift for probably most people, but especially for most of us here for dry skin and maybe…ahem.. irritated skin. 🙂 Hopefully you have one in your neighborhood, if not here is their online store http://www.bathandbodyworks.com.

    We do a huge family gift exchange every year when we can figure out a date we can all attend, which gets harder every year lol

    Like

    • Katie says:

      Thank you very much, SH! 🙂 I like to find nice bottles of hand soaps in that store! There are tons of scents to choose from! Irritated skin??? Ummm… oh that rarely happens around our place!!! 😉

      Like

  17. catrouble says:

    Okay everyone…this is supposed to be a “White Elephant” gift exchange…I am changing the rules a bit…I have listed 15 gifts over on my blog: http://gigglesgrinsandreflections.blogspot.com/2014/12/gifts-for-anas-white-elephant-gift.html Katie, Sandy (SH) and Ana get first pick and then the rest of you can fight over the remaining twelve gifts! Not doing any other white elephant exchanges this year but did buy some cool stuff for my kiddos and grands. 😀

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

    • Katie says:

      Giant pink squid hat is out of the mix!!! This Katie T for Trouble has chosen a wonderful gift from the very “special” choices that you so kindly made available to us!! I think that it will be very pretty to wear on my head. At the very least, I will appear taller than Rob and all friends will laugh when they see yours truly with that on her head! 😀

      Thanks Cuz! You are a sweetheart! Many hugs,

      ❤ Cuz KTfT

      Like

    • SH says:

      LOL Cat, great choices I must say! I choose the Xbox controller that is actually soap cuz I could definitely play a prank on my Hubby with that Ha! Thank you very much 🙂

      Like

  18. Laura says:

    To SH and Catrouble I am giving each a fruitcake(who eats these anyway) and a naughty ornament that sits on my tree. I tried to put a picture of it up but for some reason it didn’t work. My family does a white elephant bingo and the two gifts that get passed around every year are an onion slicing machine and a generic barbie doll that we have to add something to.

    Like

  19. Renee says:

    I am seriously confused… am I giving one present to two people or two presents to one person. Ahhhhh!!!! Oh well, here goes… I have destroyed all my elf’s on a shelf after Advent calendar day 4 post, so can’t give them away. Okay since I am sitting at the roller skating rink playing parent chaperone I will give Laura an old pair of roller skates that have found their way deep, deep into the closet. And to Catrouble I bequeath a book of jokes that are only appropriate in adult company. Enjoy 😉

    Like

  20. minellesbreath says:

    Well gosh, I think I am going to do this wrong but here goes…..
    To Ana I have a beautiful purple bath brush that would be very useful for her!
    Renee I have a lovely glass Christmas dolphin ornament….

    Did I follow the rules?

    Like

    • catrouble says:

      Minelle…you never follow the rules…why should you start now? 😉 You were supposed to give gifts to Renee and Laura and an additional one if you see someone didn’t get a gift. Hugs…Cat

      Like

        • Katie says:

          Well you can break the rules for me if you want Minelle! I’d happily accept anything that you would like to hand out. I did indeed have a hard time picking from the creepy pool over at Cat’s place! Although I think that I just may be starting a fashion trend with that GIANT squid hat! Would you like to borrow it? You could wear it to dance around for your Scotsman! LOL!

          Like

  21. Laura says:

    Thanks so much for the skates Renee. If we do this next year I’ll be sure to white elephant my hospital bills to you. lol Minelle – if you happen to have an old helmet along with elbow and knee pads, I sure would appreciate it.

    Like

  22. Marybeth says:

    hmm..meant to post much earlier. Such a busy day!! Hmmm…Minelle and Renee, you need a gift. What should I do?
    Renee, I have no idea if you love The Princess Bride (it’s inconceivable that you don’t, lol),but I do! So….here is your own monopoly game. http://www.incrediblethings.com/toys-games/princess-bride-monopoly/
    And for you, Minelle….your own rocking horse! http://www.incrediblethings.com/toys-games/these-bdsm-naked-lady-rocking-horses-are-nsfl/

    I have not participated in a white elephant before. This was fun!

    Like

  23. thelongbean says:

    To Laura- I give a bottle of Greek Island air. It is collected at one of the local beaches accessible only by boat.
    To Marybeth I send a fly swatter to be used when she is wearing the knickers she posted a link to:)

    Like

  24. Laurel Lasky says:

    To Ana, I give a can of Florida sunshine. The last person I gave it to, had be unable to have a baby for ten years. A few months later she became pregnant and the little girl is one 18 years old. If your not ready for a baby, I give you a ten speed vibrated. No batteries needed. It works well, at least my do. Laurel l

    Like

  25. michellewillms2013 says:

    To Laurel, I give a Dutch whisk. This is my favorite kitchen utensil – and for those who like to play with utensils for other types of cooking, this whisk is just the thing. I also gift you some nice poultry shears. Just because.

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

