Ana’s Advent Calendar, Day 24: 3rd Annual Fireside Chat with Kat and Natalie

FB-CoverPic(1)

UPDATE: Evil Mistress Kate, AKA Kate Richards, wrote the conclusion to her story here, using JC’s suggestion of an ice cream sundae. Warning: NSFA. And I mean NSFA!

Yes, miscreants, I accidentally put Day 24 instead of Day 23 yesterday. For your impertinence, Miss PT, Mrs. Claus will deliver an extra corner stool for your use.

I loved your letters to Mrs. Claus! If I had a day’s comments to collect into a special memento, it would be yesterday’s. Thank you, Lara, for pointing out the overlooked December birthdays and prompting a fun celebration. I think we should make the Birthday Bash a new tradition, don’t you?

Previous Fireside Chats with Kat and Natalie:

2012

2013 (and the story of how Kat and Natalie came to be)

Kat and Natalie story posts mentioned today:

Breaking Glass

Lake Kat, or the story of Natalie’s new spanking spatula

Let it Go: Kat and Natalie watch Frozen

Mother’s Day, Again

Hiding

Kat’s Christmas Wish (2013)

Study Date

Spanking the Cockroach

What a Turkey!

Ana: Merry Christmas Eve, Kat and Natalie! Happy holidays to everyone who celebrates a different occasion, but you observe Christmas, right?

Kat: Yes, we promised Natalie’s mom.

Natalie (looking surprised at Kat’s response): I remember when you couldn’t look at anyone in public, let alone speak up. You were a wreck before we visited Adaline Raine for her blog.

Kat (blushing): Don’t remind me of that.

Ana: It must be your nursing classes and how well you’re doing at school, Kat. Remember when you were terrified of enrolling in a CNA class? Now you’ll be on the dean’s list in no time.

Kat: Oh, please don’t say that! Then Natalie will get it into her head that she has to make me do it.

Ana, laughing: I thought Natalie complained that you studied too much?

Kat: Well, yes. She can’t make up her mind whether to make me stay home so I don’t get too stressed, or if she should let me do whatever I want because she’s so happy I’m finally in school.

Natalie: My, my. Someone has gotten bolder. Keep it up, Katling, and I’ll decide you’re no longer too shy and timid to get a spanking in public.

Kat (turning white): Eep!

Ana: To be fair, though, things have changed for both of you. You seem more relaxed with each other. You always were playful, but there’s a new comfort level. What made the difference?

(Kat and Natalie look at each other, and Natalie nods permission at Kat.)

Kat: Natalie’s been getting some counseling. I always told her that if she got her head fixed, we would–YIPES! Natty!

(Natalie smacks Kat’s thigh, and they both giggle at each other. Ana gives a shocked laugh.)

Ana: Wow, last year you fought about getting a baby cradle as a Christmas gift, and two years ago Kat could barely say a word to everyone. How is the counseling going? And what happened with the cradle?

Natalie (hesitantly): I hate it. So it’s probably doing some good.

Kat: She won’t tell me anything that happens, but that’s okay. I didn’t tell her much when I had to do it. The worst part is when she snaps out of her fog, realizes she hasn’t kept tabs on me, and says “No!” to everything just to show she’s still in charge.

Natalie: The cradle is in the attic for now. It makes Kat too sad to see it.

Ana: Oh, no! What happened?

Kat (getting a little teary): It was for the best.

(Natalie puts her hand on top of Kat’s.)

Natalie: We got the call about a little boy, ten months old and the sweetest ever. Kat was over the moon, and we’d had the nursery ready for months. Then his mom changed her mind.

Kat: I’m glad he can be with his mom. It’s better for him…but I was so close to becoming a mother.

Ana: That must have been heart-wrenching to go through, but I’m glad his mom was able to care for him after all.

Kat: Liam. His name was Liam. He just had his first birthday.

(Natalie pats Kat’s hand.)

Natalie: When the time is right, it will happen.

Kat: With losing Liam and Natalie not feeling up to much, we decided to stay home this year and not make the visit to family. Natty’s parents are upset, of course, but we promised them a good, long Easter visit.

Ana: What are you doing tonight and tomorrow?

Natalie: We go to a little church across town, and they’ll have a candlelight service tonight. Nothing overwhelming, just the old familiar songs.

Kat: Familiar to Natalie. I’m still learning them.

Ana: Really?

Kat: Yeah, my family didn’t get into Christmas. Too busy.

Natalie: And tomorrow, since Kat’s complained I’ve neglected her, I’m going to devote my attention to her for the whole day.

Kat: Oh, no!

Natalie (winking): You’ve slipped far too much past me in the past few months when I didn’t feel up to dealing with you, and don’t try to deny it.

Ana: I’m not trying to criticize, Natalie, but…on Christmas Day? Shouldn’t our sweet Kat get some leniency?

Natalie (laughing): That’s the story she tries to tell everyone, but Mrs. Claus knows better. I didn’t spank Kat for a whole month, and she got cranky and out-of-sorts.

Ana: I thought you got some sugar cookies that put you both in a better mood.

(Kat and Natalie both blush.)

Kat: I might have lost my temper and threatened to leave. And…er, kind of tried to.

Ana: Kat! You promised you’d never do that again.

Natalie (grimly): She scared me half to death. She said I’d ignored her, so I promised not to get distracted again.

Kat: A little distracted might be a good thing.

Natalie: I’ve been working longer hours because I want to set up a trust fund for the baby, not that Kat likes to hear about it.

Kat: I get more freedom when she works late, but she comes home stressed and ready to kill. Last week after her appointment with Dr. Mitchell, she finally talked to me about a few things. We still fight if we go into certain topics, but we’re making progress. I think. But it’s weird to see her this way.

Ana: It unnerves you?

Kat: Yeah.

Natalie: I’m sorry, Kat.

Kat: No, I mean…you’ve always taken care of me. I think I’m realizing what a hardship that’s been for you.

Natalie: I failed you in a lot of ways.

Kat (sniffling): No. Never.

Ana: You two have grown so much in the years I’ve known you, and it’s amazing to see where you’ve been versus where you are now. So many people are glad you’ve stuck it out despite the odds.

(Kat and Natalie remain silent, interlocking fingers.)

Ana: I’m afraid we’re out of time for this year’s Fireside Chat, but what would you like to say to all the readers who have come out for this year’s event?

Natalie (clearing her throat): That I hope you are safe, loved, and happy. And thank you for all of your notes and messages. We love you, too.

Kat: Please sign my change.org petition to eliminate hairbrushes, spatulas, wooden spoons, paddles, and so on from being given as Christmas gifts.

(Natalie smacks Kat’s thigh for a second time.)

Kat (giggling): Ow!

Natalie: Now you see why she’ll be getting my attention for the whole day tomorrow!

Kat: I mean, that no matter how sad or alone or scared or unhappy or whatever you might feel, now or another time, that things will get better. Natalie and I have been through the worst I can imagine. I thought I’d never see her again and that she could never care about me again, but we made it.

Natalie: I’ve learned that I have to let Kat take care of me, too.

Kat: Oh, please, let me “take care of” you!

 

 

 

30 thoughts on “Ana’s Advent Calendar, Day 24: 3rd Annual Fireside Chat with Kat and Natalie

  1. Sassytwatter says:

    Um it is day 24!? Loved the letters to mrs Claus just read last of them early this morning. As always love playing xo merry Christmas!

    Like

  2. Leigh Smith says:

    Terrific post to end this Advent Calendar. Haven’t had a chance to read the letters to Mrs. Claus, too busy with the grands. Will save them for later.
    Merry Christmas and thanks for all your hard work.

    Like

  3. ameliahfaith says:

    Thank you Dear Kat and Natalie for taking the time to visit with us. I know how busy you are so it is extra special to have you here for even a second. May the Goddess Bless you and your Beloved Creator and let this next year be filled with as much love and laughter as you can handle then a bit more for good measure.

    Like

  4. P.T. Wyant says:

    “I accidentally put Day 24 instead of Day 25.”
    Nope… you put Day 24 instead of Day 23… Quit trying to squirm out of your punishment, Ana, you’re only making it worse…

    I think that Mrs. Claus should make you count the swats she gives you and when you lose track she starts all over — except her poor arm would be aching for weeks.

    But seriously, Ana, thank you for all the work you put into this.

    *hands you an ice pack chair cushion* You’re still going to need this — I offered everyone a wooden spoon in yesterday’s comment.

    Like

  5. Amy says:

    I’m only just becoming acquainted with your lovely writing, but you’ve earned a new fan for sure. 🙂 I’m anxious to begin reading everything I can about Kat and Natalie–I like them both very much, even from this little bit.

    Thank you so much for creating this space and making such a wonderful holiday season. Enjoy your Christmas Eve!

    Like

  6. Shannon Love says:

    I really like the stories of Kat and Natalie. They must be very difficult to write about, they have such deep seeded pain and grief. I can hardly read about them without a lump in my throat, I can’t imagine forming and changing them. I’m glad they have each other.

    This story reminds me of my best friend, Jules, cousin. She came out as a lesbian pretty early and had acceptance from most of the family, Jules was always supportive and loving. Her cousin reminds me of Kat. She had attempted suicide a few times. Jules wanted her to move in with her and her husband for some time to get back on her feet and feel love and support close by instead of online and phone. Unlike Kat, this poor cousin seemed to only find users and abusers as partners instead of someone like Natalie. She was constantly in love, heart and soul, then left. Just thrown away. Jules’ cousin succeeded in taking her own life earlier this year.

    Ana, thank you so much for your work on this Advent Calendar. This was my first year participating and had a really good time. I’ve learned a lot and had a few laughs. This year has been tough on a few people. I’m glad this was a place for people to share and get support.

    I wish all the happiness to everyone in 2015.

    Like

  7. lara estes says:

    What a lovely way to bring this to an end. Thank you so much Ana, you are truly a wonderful women, author and if I may be so bold treasured friend. I hope that everyone who has played has a wonderful holiday filled with love, peace and joy. If I be so bold, I hope to be able to stay in touch with all who have participated. Love to all.

    Like

  8. Joelle Casteel says:

    So nice to see Kat and Nat; I loved Kat’s petition 😀 Yet another wonderful year of Advent calender. Don’t stress too much about figuring out winners- you need to enjoy ringing those hand bells 😀

    Like

  9. Chickie says:

    I liked this part the best “no matter how sad or alone or scared or unhappy or whatever you might feel, now or another time, that things will get better.” I was hoping to come on here this morning and have a good laugh, it’s just not in me today with my mind on news of yet another loss in my life. I really wanted to thank you for doing this each year. I look forward to dragging my tail out of bed to see what you’ve posted.

    Like

  10. Kyra says:

    I loved this post. I loved the interaction between Kat and Natalie and how they clearly love each other. This made me smile…I really needed to smile today.
    Thanks Ana for a wonderful Advent Calendar. I enjoyed it so much.

    Like

  11. SH says:

    Ana, once again you have organized a wonderful event that has brought people together. I thank you for that, I’ve had great fun! Merry Christmas to you and I hope the New Year brings you much joy, you deserve it and so much more my friend 🙂

    Like

  12. pieclown says:

    And so the 24th day had truly arrived. Thank you to Ana and all the guest host. I have enjoyed myself, but not too much. I do not get to on the naughty list, but is that not why we are all here. We are a little naughty. I wish Merry Christmas to many, Joyous Yule, Happy Hanukkah and Great New Year to all.

    Like

  13. JC says:

    Ana, I can’t believe it is the last day. I have enjoyed reading each of the post and the comments that have followed. I need to go and read the story of Natilie and Kat. I loved this month. Merry Christmas to everyone!

    Like

  14. Renee says:

    Ana, loved the fireside chat. It was a great way to wrap up the calendar. I am so sad that it is over for another year. Thank you for all your hard work, now it is time to take of you for a while. Please take some time for yourself in the coming year. I pray your next year is a blessed year and that all your wishes come true. Merry Christmas friend.
    Blessing and hugs. R

    Like

  15. Julie says:

    I love the new story, Ana. Natalie in therapy – I always said Natalie would be different if she could understand a little of where Kat is coming from. 🙂

    It was also great to get another glimpse of Carene and Leila. Even though I identify with Kat individually, Carene and Leila are the couple that feel close to home.

    Merry Christmas!

    Like

  16. pao says:

    So good to see Kat and Nat again. They’ve grown a lot since they first shared their story with the world. I’m glad that Kat is so much more comfortable now 🙂 I hope that Nat gets through therapy all right. Merry Christmas everyone! I hope you are all surrounded by love this season. Is Kat’s petition real? It would be really funny if it is real 😀

    Like

  17. ruthshulman says:

    It’s lovely to share stories of people working toward that “happy ever after”. It’s not a magical thing to find the right one for you, or to stay happy with them. We need to put our hearts and souls into Ever After.

    Ana, thank you for this Advent Calendar. It’s been funny, crazy, poignant, enlightening and friendly. I’m glad I got to participate, and even more glad to meet such amazing people!

    Can’t wait to find out who wins the necklace and create something special for them!

    Like

  18. Laura says:

    I’m glad that Natalie and Kat are doing so well. They deserve it. Thank you Ana and all the special elves for all your time and talents in making this years Advent Calendar such a blast. I loved it all. Happy Holidays to everyone! May next year bring us all health, happiness and love.

    Like

  19. catrouble says:

    Thank you for visiting and making time for the interview Kat and Nat…very happy to see you two doing so well. LOL Kat…really don’t see Nat letting you “take care of” her. 😉

    Thanks so much Ana for all your hard work putting together and conducting the Advent Calendar…especially with all you have been going through.

    Wishing all of you a lovely and loving Christmas.

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  20. Mary M. says:

    Thank you for the fireside chat with Natalie and Kat. Thank you for my first trip through the Advent calendar,complete with Mrs. Claus, wooden spoons and Elfelants. Have to go sign Kat’s petition now…. 🙂

    Like

  21. Anna Jones says:

    Thank you very much for organizing this event, it has been a lot of fun!

    It was nice to meet Kat and Natalie, this was my first introduction to them. 🙂 I will have to fix that in short order.

    Anyway, this has been a wonderful time. And the letters to Mrs. Claus were great.
    I wish everyone a very Merry Christmas!
    Hugs,
    Anna

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

