Ana’s Advent Calendar, Day 25: Preliminary prize announcements

UPDATE: Please check back later today for book prize distribution information and a special Christmas surprise!

 

I’ve finished drawing for all of the prizes except for the books (those will be distributed to perfect attenders plus a few special exceptions). I’m rushing to Christmas morning church, but in the meantime here is a devotional I wrote for Advent. I respect that many who come here don’t share my faith, but I also respect the faiths of everyone who visit. In that spirit, I’d like to offer this for those who would like it. No attempt at proselytizing should be assumed or understood. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

The Angels of Christmas

For some people, the Advent Season brings excitement, celebrations, and happy memories. For others, it brings stress and the burdens of over-committed schedules. For still others, the festivities reinforce loneliness, isolation, and despair. Maybe we spend too much money trying to create a perfect Christmas, or gathering once a year re-ignites decades-old family feuds. Maybe we have grown estranged from our loved ones, and we face a quiet day of solitude. Maybe health issues and loss of loved ones loom over this holiday season, and we wonder how we can celebrate in the midst of grief.

Luke 1:30-31 And the angel said to her, โ€œDo not be afraid, Mary, for you have found favor with God. And behold, you will conceive in your womb and bear a son, and you shall call his name Jesus.โ€

Itโ€™s easy to forget the terror and deprivation of the first Christmas. No one gave Mary an epidural, and she didnโ€™t have her mother nearby to tell tales of generations of previous child-birthing rituals. Cut off from familiar culture, community, and family, Joseph and Mary must have felt at least some fear despite the majesty. How would it feel to give birth to the Messiah when they had to flee for their lives and feel responsible for Herod massacring the baby boys in Bethlehem?

Luke 2:10 And the angel said to them, โ€œFear not, for behold,
I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all the people.โ€

This Christmas,
no matter your individual situation, I hope you will find comfort and joy in the birth
of our king. Godโ€™s ways may not make sense to us, just as the destruction and threats surrounding Jesusโ€™ birth must not have made sense to his parents. I hope you will hold close the promise given to us and made true in the human presence of our Messiah who walked this earth.

John 3:16 For God so loved the world,ย that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. How do we find Godโ€™s promise in our lives when things are difficult?

For me, I find moments of love here on Earth. [My favorite quilting granny who died this year] showed us Godโ€™s promise in her daily smiles, phone calls, and kindness. We find love in the shared coffee shop visits, knotting of quilts, or ringing hand bells. One of my favorite songs is Uri caritas et amor, Deus ibi est. Where there is love and charity, God is there. When God seems far away, we can call to us the presence we have been promised. May you find blessing in the birth of the one who came to set us free: an infant wrapped in swaddling clothes, an innocent baby without judgment or demands.

Christ has come; Christ is born. Hallelujah!

 

 

PERFECT ATTENDERS:

 

  • Ameliah
  • Amy
  • Cat
  • Chickie
  • Holla*
  • JC
  • Joelle
  • Lara*
  • Leigh
  • Mary
  • PT
  • Pieclown
  • Renee M.
  • Ruth
  • Sarah Byrnes
  • SassyTwatter
  • SH
  • Shannon
  • Tina S

 

*23 days on time and late for 1 day

 

 

GIFT CERTIFICATES

 

$100 gift certificate of winnerโ€™s choice, in honor of Lambda Legal: Sassy Twatter

ย 

$50 to Vagabondia Creations, donated by Jay Odon: Abby

ย 

$25 to Amazon, donated by Jolynn Raymond: Sarah Bennett

ย 

$10 to Amazon, donated by Tara Quan: Laurel

ย 

$10 to Amazon, donated by Ameliah: Joelle

ย 

$10 to Amazon, donated by Sarah Byrnes: Roz

ย 

$10 to Amazon, donated by SH: JC

ย 

$5 to All Romance Ebooks, donated by Jessica E. Subject: Jean MP

 

$5 to Amazon, donated by Tina S: Katy Beth

ย 

ย 

PHYSICAL PRIZES

ย 

Swag pack, donated by Eve Langlais: Anna Victoria Jones

 

Mini red oak paddle, donated by Katie T: Shannon

ย 

Handcrafted necklace, donated by Ruth Shulman: Renee

ย 

Painting, donated by Cat: Pieclown

ย 

Original artwork, donated by Patricia Denke: Tina

ย 

Goody bags, donated by V.s. Morgan: Katie T, PT Wyant, Sarah Byrnes, and Kyra

ย 

ย 

ย 

 

SPECIAL DAY PRIZES:

ย 

St. Knickerless Day knickers, donated by Ami Starsong: Mary

ย 

$10 to Amazon, donated by Kate Richards: JC

ย 

Three prizes, donated by D.L. Jackson: Leigh Smith, Ruth Shulman, and Irishey

ย 

ย PARTY FAVOR!! FREE FOR EVERYONE! PARTY FAVOR!!

ย Ana’s Advent Holiday Recipes 2014(2) (CLICK HERE)

Click the link to find a PDF file of all our holiday recipes from this year.

If you missed last year’s holiday recipe collection, you can find it here. (CLICK HERE)

A huge thank you to Michelle B (aka mickeymab) who spent countless hours putting the file together. Isn’t it gorgeous?

 

Check back later today to find out the book prize distribution and find a super-special, top-secret surprise gift from yours truly!

If you have contact information, go ahead and make arrangements for sending/receiving prizes. If not, please wait until later today when I’ll explain how to do it.

Happy Advent!

 

PLUS!!

SAVE THE DATE! Love Spanks February 6-8!

Spanks-Lovespanks-Amazon-2015

Here’s a sneak peek of the logo forย Love Spanks 2015!ย You’ll get to meet a lineup of familiar and new-to-you authors, some who have written a ton of F/F and a few who are trying it for the first time. You’ll find a range from ultra-spicy all the way to sweet and innocent (i.e., my stories…hehe). What will be the theme, you ask? Why, love of course!

Sign up for Love Spanks and receive TWO bonuses–one for participating in Ana’s Advent Calendar 2014, and another for registering early. Plus, check out the upcoming Witty Bard flash fiction contest! (Details to follow)

 

 

ย 

42 thoughts on “Ana’s Advent Calendar, Day 25: Preliminary prize announcements

  1. Irishey says:

    Good morning and Merry Christmas, Ana and everybody!

    It’s been heartwarming for me to know Ana’s Advent Calendar was going on again this year, even though I wasn’t able to stop in often or participate every day as I did last year. I did think of all of you each day, knowing you were sharing in the spirit of the season.

    I wanted and planned to stop by only to extend season’s greetings and wish everyone happy holidays, but discovered I’ve won a prize! Now I have another reason for a teary little grin!

    Hugs to all of you. May you find peace, joy, comfort and camaraderie throughout the holidays, and may the new year bring good things to each of you.

    Like

  2. Tina S says:

    Merry Christmas Ana. I had signed up to donate an amazon gift card but didn’t see it for the prizes. Wondering if I did something wrong. I still want to donate. Congrats to all the winners

    Like

  3. Roz Harrison says:

    Merry Christmas Ana! Hope you are having a wonderful day ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you so much for hosting another wonderful advent. Many thanks to you, the contributors and generous prize donors.

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

  4. catrouble says:

    Thank you Ana for the lovely and inspirational reminder. Merry Christmas to everyone and congratulations to all the winners! Thank you so much Ana, Michelle B, all of Ana’s elves and guest contributors for a very fun Advent Calendar.

    May all your Christmas dreams and wishes come true.

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  5. Kyra says:

    Merry Christmas Everyone๐ŸŽ„๐ŸŽ„๐ŸŽ„๐ŸŽ„. Thank You so much Ana for the gift. Will misss Advent Calendar but looking forward to Love Spanks. Thanks for all of your hard work and to those of your blog participants. Thanks to everyone who wrote posts responses…it was nice getting to know you all.
    See you during Love Spanks 2015๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’–

    Like

  6. Joelle Casteel says:

    Happy Holidays, Ana and everyone. While it’s been a really rough day today and I’m still not okay, at least there was Ana’s Advent to come to. Lovely to see the gift cert ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks so much for the lovely meditation. Reg’d for Love Spanks, although I was stopped on whether to claim “FF author” or just “author”- due to the pansexual nature of my Vala’s books, I picked author, although now I realize I do have a FFF short in my ebook ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

  7. Amy says:

    Merry Christmas! Sending this from my phone because my laptop battery is drained & I forgot to bring my plug on vacation. Lol! Hope it was a grand day. Wow, this has been so much fun. It definitely made a typically difficult season brighter. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m sad to see the festivities come to an end.

    Like

  8. Mary M. says:

    Mary Christmas, Ana, and thank you for the devotional. Thank to mickeymab for putting the recipes together. I know I risk Mrs. Claus’s wrath, but I did not win the knickers….. you drew Laura’s name, with Lara and Chickie as backups. I won an Advent Calendar card for getting the high score on Long Bean’s quiz. Congrats to all the winners, I signed up for Love Spanks so I will see you all there!

    Like

  9. Sassytwatter says:

    merry 2nd day of Christmas!!! I had so much fun on advent this year. I haven’t been as active this year on then blog hops & reading so was a nice way for me to come back to the community. And thank you for my wonderful prise I can’t believe it!!! See Ana I told you I was good ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  10. Katy Beth McKee says:

    I’m disappointed that I didn’t make it as much as last year but I it was such a treat to stop by even when I was using the tablet and didn’t take the time to post. I’m hoping to have my act together better for the next event.

    I’m so excited I won something. I will put it to good reading use. Thanks Tina.

    Again thanks to all who participate and helped me be a little less humbug this year.

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

