Wooden Spoon Writing Challenge & New Year’s Eve Updates

wooden-spoon challenge

Writing has been erratic lately. I can whip off a freebie in an hour or two, but I stare at Indigo for hours to write a few hundred words.

I started a Wooden Spoon Challenge a few days ago to encourage Stephanie Beck to write. She wrote an amazing story with a hint of kink, posted here. Then Olivia Starke joined with a sweet-as-sugar story here. Mm. I want some chocolate now. Next, Dominique Eastwick introduced her Wiccan Haus series with this shifter story. Anyone feeling a bit paranormal yet? Dominique challenged none other than our beloved Evil Mistress Kate, aka Kate Richards. Kate put up her story today, a scrumptious sneak peek of her next cookie club story.

Who’s next? We wait with bated breath.

These were my original terms:

 

I wrote a freebie story for readers, my first Christmas menage featuring Mira and Hana from Desire in Any Language and Mira’s Miracle. I’m passing on the challenge to Stephanie Beck. Stephanie, you have 24 hours to produce a 2K freebie story (using one idea, theme, sentence, or image from my story for inspiration) or face the penalty. What penalty?

–Public admission of your naughtiness!
–Listening to “Let it Go” on endless repeat
–Forfeiting your knitting needles, wild rice, and jello!
–Having to compose a public ode to wooden spoons!
–and more! Depends on my mood!

What is the reward for successfully completing the challenge?

–Public adulation as a Freebie Girl!
–A hand-engraved Anastasia Vitsky wooden spoon!
–Your choice of an Anastasia Vitsky book!
–and one entry on either Mrs. Claus’ nice or naughty list for 2015, your choice

See? It pays to behave! Now sit your bottom on a chair and get writing, missy! Mrs. Claus will know if you’ve been bad or good. Get cracking! The clock starts NOW.

When you finish, post your freebie story link and tag me. Challenge one or two author friends to do the same thing. And go!

Everyone’s tweaked the rules as we go along. It’s been fun to see the excitement. We even had T-shirts made! Want to see? Thanks to Dominique for making the logo.

Screen Shot 2014-12-30 at 11.13.56 PM

I can’t wait to see who’s next for the Wooden Spoon Challenge.

wpid-wp-1420043989674.jpeg

The Advent Calendar cards are headed toward a post office near you! Finally!

wpid-wp-1420044011988.jpeg

Eight new Kindles are in various stages of preparation to be shipped to Ali Forney, Outside In, and Trinity Place. Yay!!

wpid-wp-1420043969449.jpeg

Tonya Ridener gave me this lovely Secret Santa surprise in an event organized by the wonderful Sara Gomez. It was an unexpected and sweet way to brighten the holiday. THANK YOU!

Curious why I’m learning Hindi? Find out in this post from the Advent Calendar, Choosing to Believe.

And finally:

wpid-wp-1420044005448.jpeg

Sanitizer with glitter. Because sparkly vampires aren’t enough.

You heard me.

 

—–

 

 

In other news, THANK YOU for your sweet thoughts yesterday. Boy, you are all smart cookies. Smart, I tell you. Maybe smart and need to be smart…ING. Hehe. It reminded me of a post I wrote a long time ago about letting myself sink emotionally into my writing. I hate it sometimes. I love the fun and games, and I love the freedom of a spur-of-the-moment story, but Indigo is serious business.

To write Indigo, I have to respect her.

To respect Indigo, I have to know her.

To know Indigo, I have to love her.

As I wrote over two years ago:

I realized why Kat and Natalie have been fighting me so much and why I’ve hated Kat 2 for the past month.  I wasn’t willing to cry for them.  I wasn’t willing to cry with them.  I wasn’t willing to be Kat and to be Natalie.  I wanted to write about them without becoming them.

Yeah.

Kat gripped me by the collar today, and she yanked me to sit down next to her.

Listen to me, she demanded.  If you’re going to write my story, you have to know me first.

The thing about someone quiet like Kat?  If she decides to stick to her guns, well…it’s a lost battle.  I listened.  I wrote.  I cried.

And then she let me tell her story.

Dear Katling?  I’m sorry for holding you at a distance.  I’ll listen better from now on.  You have a right to have your story told in a way that honors you, not in a way that is fun and easy.

Indi, you suck. I hate the devastation you will wreak on my heart and soul. I hate the tears I will shed as I write your story. I hate the pain you will endure before finding your happily ever after.

Because, after all, a happy ending means nothing unless it’s earned.

Indi, you did things that make us both ashamed. You made bad decisions, you put yourself in danger, and you believed someone you shouldn’t.

Guess what? So have all of my other main characters, and I still love them.

Come here, Indi. I’ll listen to you this time. I’ll listen without the judgment, and I will love you.

20 thoughts on “Wooden Spoon Writing Challenge & New Year’s Eve Updates

  1. SH says:

    Sounds like Indi’s story is going to be quite the emotional journey leading to her HEA. I can’t wait to read it!! I knew you could do it, Ana 🙂

    Like

  2. Renee says:

    Yes! I knew you could do it, Ana. Write on girl, write on. (If I knew how to put little happy faces on here I would put a bunch of them with some balloons.) You are going to hear Indi’s story and then use your amazing storytelling gift to share her story with us. I can’t wait to read it. Happy New Year’s friend. Blessings and hugs, R.

    Like

  3. Chickie says:

    Sometimes good people make less than stellar choices. Sometimes there’s a rough road to travel on the way to becoming the person they’re destined to become. So you don’t agree with her, and she’s taking a different path than you woulve liked to see her take. How is she growing from these things? Even if her choices have hurt other people (and they usually do) I’m sure she’s sensitive enough to see those repercussions. Everyone will grow and heal from those experiences, whatever they are. We all do. Im looking forward to meeting her, no matter what’s happened.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      You’re absolutely right. I’m finding such a parallel to real life in all of this…how we stymie ourselves by being sure we have to follow a rigid plan, even when it’s not working.

      Indi’s got spunk, for sure. I’m so excited to see what you all think of her.

      Best. Readers. Ever.

      Like

  4. Roz Harrison says:

    Wow Ana, wonderful post. I love how you listen to your characters and let them tell their story. Sending positive thoughts and hugs as you write indi’s story.

    The writing challenge sounds awesome, will have to catch up with the stories 🙂

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      The writerly people had to take a New Year’s break from the challenge, but it should start up again soon. Kate was too nice to make someone writing on a holiday.

      I love having you here to help me listen. Man, you’re awesome. I love you all!

      Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

