Taste Us! You’ll Like Us! Meet Leigh Ellwood for #LoveSpanks!

Spanks-Lovespanks-Amazon-2015

Register for Love Spanks 2015 here!

Leigh Ellwood

We begin a new year, and for many that means a new eating plan, diet, etc. I promised myself last year that I would put myself through the torture of a food regimen that deprived me and offered little in the way of results. Just eat less and move more. Easier said than done, but I find lately some things I’ve done on the advice of others have helped improved my mood. Maybe the weight will come, or go, later.

Two things I’ve done: cut out caffeine after 2PM and stop eating after 8PM. Lessening the carbs and trying a different kind of breakfast. If this sounds familiar, it’s adapted from the Bulletproof Diet, which I read this month. Do a search, though, and you’ll find people have adjusted it to their living. One recipe I found, I’ve tweaked and added to my routine. It’s for Morning Butter Tea.

What you need:

1 cup brewed organic tea. Right now I’m using a chocolate Pu-erh tea from Numi, but I imagine you can use other kinds to suit your taste. I tried this because of the health benefits of Pu-erh – it’s supposed to aid in weight loss, but if that’s not an issue use what you like.

1 packet stevia. I use Truvia.

1 tablespoon coconut oil. Coconut oil is supposed to improve brain function, which I need in the morning!

1 tablespoon butter. Not just any kind, though. It’s recommended to use grass-fed butter because it’s better for you. Kerrygold is a popular brand, but if you know of any others I’m interested.

1 tablespoon raw cacao powder. I use Navitas Naturals brand because it’s pure powder with no added sugar. Chocolate is good for antioxidants, so yes it’s health food. 😛

Recipe is simple. Combine all the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. I have a Vitamix and usually give it 30 seconds at settings 5-7. It’s important to blend rather than stir because the butter and oil are mixed well and you don’t get the residual oily sensation. Just blend and drink – it’s like a chocolate tea latte!

BTW, here is the video from which I adapted the recipe.

http://ilovebuttercoffee.com/bulletproof-tea-recipe/

~

This recipe isn’t relative to any of my stories, but it’s something new I’m trying in order to improve my productivity and mood. I’m not interested in slimming down into a bikini right now, but I want to write more, and write well. The Bulletproof book pointed out ways not only to become fit, but improve the mind. I improve my mind, I improve my stories.

~

Leigh Ellwood is a starving writer who feeds on books. She needs money to pay for them, so please help her out.

See her new releases at http://www.leighellwood.com, read her thoughts at http://leighwantsfood.blogspot.com, and bug her on Twitter @LeighEllwood.

Register for Love Spanks 2015 here!

2 thoughts on “Taste Us! You’ll Like Us! Meet Leigh Ellwood for #LoveSpanks!

  1. renee200 says:

    I have been trying the 17 day diet. You know… like you can do anything for 17 days. It is very basic and simple. I don’t do well with a lot of counting and tracking. Your recipe sounds good. Is it hot or cold?

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

