Email hacked & Thankfulness Thursday

Quick note–

If you received a bad email from me, I’m terribly sorry. Yahoo sent a notice that accounts were compromised. I don’t know the extent, but I did find over 100 “message delivery failure notice” emails in my inbox. I hope that means the spam didn’t go through.

SO much to tell you, but I’m in a rush. A friend from junior high/high school is in town, and I’m going to meet her. I’m excited! It’s been a long time since we saw each other. It’s 2.5 hours away, so it makes for a long day in addition to helping my friend with her granddaughter this evening and starting the Love Spanks party later tonight.

Granddaughter is being a pill! I made homemade meatballs for dinner last night because she loves them. Would she eat them? Nope. Was I sympathetic? Nope. (Picture 4-year-old throwing a screaming, flailing, sobbing tantrum once I arrived because Grandma had a physical therapy appointment and I took granddaughter grocery shopping. Picture 4-year-old screaming in the car, not because anything was wrong, and falling asleep…and then pretending to be asleep the entire time we were grocery shopping. Then picture 4-year-old unable to let one minute go by without letting the grown-ups talk. She’s usually a darling, but in the past month she’s become a total pain.) Grandma let her stay home from preschool and have a snack in the afternoon, and 4-year-old is always a light eater. But Grandma and Mom fussed at her to eat, which equaled attention. So we prolonged the fun for a good half hour.

Afterward, my friend said to me (SHE loved the meatballs, at least…lol!) that she was so glad I put my foot down because no one else did. I said I didn’t want to overstep my role (I’m just the family friend, after all), and she said she only does what she can do to get by…that she doesn’t have it in her physically or emotionally to be firm the way she needs to.

That made me so sad. She’s raised one set of children already, and now she’s trying to raise the next generation. Grandmothers are supposed to get to spoil and indulge, not lay down the law. But then I think of my friends who were raised by their grandmothers, and they weren’t pampered.

Their grandmothers weren’t terminally ill, either.

I got choked up at the dinner table as we were talking,  when she said, “I should have made her go to school, but I like having her around.” I didn’t say it, but I thought…how long will you be well enough to have her around you? Go ahead and spoil her. We’ll discipline her instead.

Instead, I said, “I’m pretty strict, and I don’t mind setting limits…but I don’t want to interfere with your being a Grandma.”

She said, “We’ll work it out. As long as we keep communicating.”

My heart still thumps whenever I wonder how long she has and how long she’ll be able to do the things she wants to do, but I’m so thankful for her place in my life. She is so generous with her heart, so transparent and loving. I grew up in a strict , conservative family (which will surprise no one…hehe), and while I see the problems with indulging a child (4-year-old really, truly has been awful lately)…there are worse things than being adored. I’ve seen neglected and abused children, and I’ve seen children who weren’t wanted by anybody.

We all have our own craziness, and we’re just trying to get by. And yet, in those moments, we still find love and meaning.

Today, I’m thankful for children who are loved and wanted.

I’m thankful to all you wonderful, sweet, fabulous people who pre-ordered Mistress on Her Knees. It’s my first time self-publishing, and I am nervous! I hope it goes well. Thank you for the wonderful virtual hug yesterday of your pre-orders.

I’m thankful for lovely readers who share with me what my books meant to you. It’s a lot of work to put together a book, and the financial rewards are not always outstanding (to put it mildly). Thank you for the sweet messages of encouragement.

I’m thankful for many things, but I have to get going or I will no longer be able to be thankful for getting to see my friend. ❤ Hugs and have a wonderful day! What are you thankful for?

7 thoughts on “Email hacked & Thankfulness Thursday

  1. nancygoldberglevine says:

    Nope–didn’t get any bad emails. I’m sorry that happened to you. I’m thankful to you, Ana, for getting me to think about what I’m thankful for in the midst of this mess with real life. I’m thankful for my mom and my friends especially my best friend and second best friend since I know I haven’t made it easy for them to be my friends lately.

    Like

  2. minellesbreath says:

    What a pain being hacked! I’d be knocked for a loop!
    As to the wee one…. I bet she is absorbing all the worry surrounding grandmas sickness. She’s acting out because she doesn’t know or understand her emotions. That being said she will need structure to feel secure! Sad. So sad!

    Like

  3. awesomesub says:

    Hi Ana, sorry about the email problems, no bad email here! I hope you have a wonderful day out with your friend. Sorry that your friend’s granddaughter was such a cheeky girl today.

    I am with Minelle about the little one, sometimes giving structure is most important (works for adults, too, not only for kids!). I hope that I’ll be able to give my little one some rules to stick to, … but I intend to spoil her a lot too. 😀 … If I were not so bad at saying ‘no’! 😐
    Hopefully your friend can spoil her granddaughter a bit for a long long time, moreover the girl will definitely be grateful in later years when she understands how important discipline is.

    Urgh, the idea of children who are not loved or wanted by parents or family is horrible. I cannot understand that at all, because we have needed ten years till we finally got Mathilda. Accordingly, the thought of a lonely, unloved child leaves me stunned. No child deserves that and with what you wrote you make it pretty easy to be thankful today!

    Thursday thankfulness: ha, I am going to copy some of your answer, because it is so true and wonderful -> Today, I’m thankful for children who are loved and wanted. (!)
    I know we are blessed for all the lovely family and friends we have here and we are thankful for them and hope that everybody else can have that experience as well.

    hugs

    Nina

    Like

  4. Lynn says:

    I too agree with Minelle, she’s probably picking up on everyone else’s stress and worry. Poor little soul. Let’s hope she gets to spend much more time with her Grandma.

    You’re right they should be able to spoil. My Mum is a far more indulgent, and patient, grandmother than she ever was a mother, although my parents are both fairly liberal.

    Today I am thankful for the internet, especially as I will be without it all weekend 😦

    Also thankful for free health care as we’ve used it so much recently and w’ve got two more hospital appointments next week.

    Finally thankful that I managed to make my daughter laugh after having her crying on my shoulder for half an hour due to a bad hospital appointment to day.

    I’d much rather go back to dealing with 4 yr old’s screaming fits than teen angst and insoluble problems 😦

    Like

  5. laurellasky says:

    Hi Ana,
    I’m happy that you will be seeing your friend. You deserve to have some fun.
    I’m thankful that my Ed is having a very good month. He’s in a clinical trial for Alzheimer’s and maybe its helping.
    I haven’t gotten any bad emails. Have a wonderful time.
    Hugs
    Laurel

    Like

  6. catrouble says:

    Hey Ana…didn’t receive any email from you. So happy you get to visit with an old friend…always so much fun. Don’t have time to read everyone’s comments so I apologize if I duplicate any suggestions. Children do so much better with structure and limits so you are right to set them. I do believe the little girl senses that something is not right and she’s scared but the more her mother and grandmother let her get away with bad behavior, the more scared she will become. That being said, I do understand why her grandmother kept her home from school and can’t bring herself to discipline. Sending lots of prayers and healing energy. You are such a gift to them.

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  7. SH says:

    I, also, didn’t get any email 🙂 How exciting to reconnect with old friends! I recently did that too! I had dinner with two girls I went to Jr. High and then High School with and I hadn’t seen them in 30 years! Great fun! My heart is breaking for that cute little 4 year old girl, who knows something is up but doesn’t understand what 😦 Her behavior is a direct reflection of that, unfortunately. They are lucky to have you!!

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

