I’m writing you into my next novel

Authors are, for the most part, not particularly powerful people. There are a few juggernauts who can effect change (Anna Sewell with Black Beauty and introducing better conditions for work horses is a good example), but for the most part we are quiet, hard-working people who put out books in the hope we will find a reader or two. When I get one letter saying, “This book helped me to understand myself” or “This book made me understand a new situation,” I am proud. Writing books is my form of social justice work, and I hope it is changing one mind at a time. Look at all of you here who wouldn’t have given F/F a try before finding me. πŸ™‚

But one thing authors can do that other people can’t–kill you in a novel.

Or, worse, write you into a novel and make everyone hate you.

πŸ˜€

I’ve been planning a book that I hope will be released at the end of the year as part of a special project. I had the premise, characters, and happy ending, but I needed a conflict.

Well, thank you real life. Some not-fun events have now provided fodder for the conflict in the book.

See? Be nice to me, or I’ll write you into my next novel.

Thus concludes today’s words from Ana.

24 thoughts on “I’m writing you into my next novel

  1. awesomesub says:

    Hi Ana, I get what you mean by saying authors are not powerful in general. But, apart from the idea of being written into the book as a baddie, I think that authors can have a huge effect on an individual basis. Uhm I know your writing has had effects on me. I love all titles that I have read, and you know that I am a real Graciela fan, but the one book that made the biggest impression on me is Becoming Clissine. I can identify with most of your heroines, but Clissa was easiest, probably because there was so much wrong going on around her and her feelings were completely like mine. And then it is impossible not to feel for her. And to cry. You have no idea how much and how often this happened with your books. But this is for the best of reasons only! You create sadness and joy for your readers, which is wonderful. So, on a smaller scale, you are very powerful. Just saying. πŸ™‚

    Seriously, I hope I never misbehave that much, because nobody deserves to be treated badly. Besides, it is embarrassing to be the most inconsiderate blockhead in town and giving others the chance to find out. πŸ™‚

    hugs

    Nina

    PS: glad that you got the conflict for your story πŸ™‚ , but I am sorry because the non-fun events were so close and hit you. 😦

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Hehe, Graciela needs you to champion her to the crowds. πŸ˜€

      I think a lot of people liked Clissa because she was so strong. Out of all my characters, she had the strongest commitment to fighting. Trinity fights, too, but she’s not really right about it. Clissa had right on her side.

      I figure if I cry writing my books, it’s only fair for you to cry reading them. πŸ˜€

      Hugs and thank you, as always.

      Like

      • awesomesub says:

        Yes, right, Trinity should have listened closely to Graciela in the first place. Bad girl Trinity!
        I can only agree about Clissa’s commitment, it is what makes her such a tragic character in the end. I was all in tears over that. Hankies please!

        What about an alternative ending in an extremely tragic case like hers?
        Ending a: the real ending.
        Ending b: the ending for those who want to see everything through rose coloured glasses. πŸ˜€ I think I would have loved both at times.

        Like

        • Anastasia Vitsky says:

          Ha, you should read Atonement! It is about a writer who writes an alternate ending to a tragedy she caused. Great movie and book, and I rarely praise both.

          But now Trinity can get spankings. Lots of them. πŸ™‚

          Like

  2. catrouble says:

    Ooh Ana…now I’m scared since I’m supposed to be one of your characters! Would it helpa if I throw some cookies and chocolate your way?

    Lots of Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  3. Irishey says:

    I haven’t checked email in longer than I care to admit. So, today I was scrolling through, deleting obvious junk, seeing titles to your last few posts that feed to my email mixed in with other stuff, and this caught my eye… of course.

    I know curiosity killed the cat (not our Cat!), but I had to take a few minutes to read this post. Now I see you not only intend to write about some meanie folks, but you’re planning to kill them off, too! Ooohhh! Boys howdy! Ana’s gonna get some of her own back!

    Go, Ana! GO, ANA!

    Hugs!

    Wait. Was this a cryptic bid to get cookies from everybody? For shame, if so. Ummm, you said chocolate, correct? It just so happens I was planning to make a batch of no-bake cookies… πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Chocolate no-bake cookies! YUM!!!! The kind that are crunchy? I had those as a kid.

      I’ll take cookies, but at the moment I want wooden spoons. Can’t find the ones I want!

      The lucky ones will get killed off. The ones I *really* want to punish will live. Their fictional suffering will not end. Ever. πŸ˜€

      I think I scare myself. Hehe.

      Hugs and so good to see you!

      Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

