Thankfulness Friday

I missed Thankfulness Thursday because of a few fun things–a house guest and a road trip. Yay! I drove 8.5 hours in the past two days. My little car isn’t used to this!

I am frantically trying to finish my three writing projects by April 1st. I also wanted to squeeze in Taliaschild, the sequel to Taliasman, in time for Sci Spanks this June. Phew. I guess no more arts and crafts for me. πŸ™‚

Thank you to everyone who has sent photos and notes about your party favor bags! I’m not sure why the post is slow, but so far everyone’s bag has taken at least a day longer to arrive than I expected. I hope the last bags (except overseas and standard post) will arrive today. It’s hard to wait!

My own gifts are still under the birthday tree. πŸ™‚ I’m opening one at a time and saving them for a special occasion. So far I’ve opened painted wooden spoons, a handmade bracelet, and a lovely card.

I’m thankful having a house guest meant my home got a good cleaning. Not top to bottom (there wasn’t time), but things look much better now. My downfall is cardboard boxes. I always think I will need them later, so I keep them. I had about ten boxes for the goody bag supplies alone, so you can see why this is an issue!

I’m thankful for all of the wonderful book reviews for Mistress on Her Knees and Ana Adored. Truly, I am lucky to have readers like you.

I’m thankful for a morning in nature with my guest yesterday. I rarely take the time to enjoy my surroundings, especially lately when I have been stressed and under deadlines. I’m debating going back today versus going to the diner to write. I must finish the first of my three projects by today. Must.

This is the second story I’ve written about an author as the protagonist, although Gia (the author) is a shy, soft-spoken erotic author rather than a brash mainstream author (Spring from Editorial Board). I’ve always wanted to write a light beach read. Angst and passion are well and good, but I want a break from the drama.

I’m finding, to my surprise, that comedy is just as hard to write as drama. *phew* It takes hard work to keep the tone light, witty, and playful. I don’t remember humor being this difficult! But I refuse to cry through the writing of “Faux Pas,” so I’ll have to remember how I used to write light.

I’m thankful I have writing projects. It’s an honor to be invited to write for all three, and despite my worries I am thrilled to be included.

Yay for writing! Yay for refreshing moments in nature.

What are you thankful for today?

 

8 thoughts on “Thankfulness Friday

  1. renee200 says:

    Hey Ana, I’m thankful for days at the beach this past week and seeing our first robin… Summer is coming!!! Yay! The party favor was a blast. Thank you for all the time and effort you put into each one. It was just like the ones we used to take home when we were kids. Loved the Vina spoon and the Mistress spoon. Blessings. R

    Like

  2. Mary M. says:

    I am thankful that the wind chill is finally above zero here. I am not thankful for all the spoilers people keep giving regarding the contents of the party favor bag, as mine is still not here. πŸ™‚ I am thankful that I still get to anticipate its arrival, and I have all weekend to enjoy the contents.

    Like

  3. rozharrison says:

    I’m thankful to be still holding onto summer here πŸ™‚ Although strong winds and some rain today but it will pass.

    Congratulations on the wonderful reviews Ana. Phew! You are a busy lady! Take care of yourself and enjoy the time with your guest.

    Hugs

    Like

  4. Lynn says:

    I’m thankful that one of my loved ones is safely through surgery and back home again. Not only that but I’m no longer traipsing backwards and forwards to the hospital spending a fortune on petrol and parking.

    Like

  5. awesomesub says:

    Hi Ana, congratulations on the great reviews! I think it is wonderful that you have a house guest at the moment and I hope so much that you are simply having an awesome time. πŸ™‚

    Today I am grateful that time goes on, as we have had a not so awesome week here with my granny and a friend being ill. We are grateful that the docs say all will be well. I think next week will be better and I am not grateful in advance, it is just that I am glad that we can hope for that. But even now we can only be grateful because we have Tilda. She has been such a sunshine this week and that made life so much easier for us here.

    And even though I have not finished reading it yet I am already very grateful for Ana Adored. Hopefully I am not too nosy, and maybe it is silly to ask, because I don’t know how the story is meant to end, but is there going to be a sequel? I’d love that. πŸ™‚

    hugs

    Nina

    Like

  6. catrouble says:

    Hey Ana…I’m thankful for the awesome party you threw. Am also thankful for warmer weather coming in here…so tired of the bitter cold with below zero wind chills. Am thankful for the knowledge that a package is coming…sooner or later. LOL Hopefully tomorrow!!!

    Wishing you a wonderful weekend.

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

