Why ignorance makes us better writers–and people

As I’m working on “Anchored,” my newest work in progress about a late-in-life (as in after retirement) coming out, I’ve been confronted multiple times by something that usually does not make me uncomfortable.

Usually.

In an ordinary way, I use my ignorance as an invitation. An opportunity. A gift, even.

“I didn’t know there were fifty million types of Pokemon,” I say to a five-year-old bursting with information parents and grandparents refuse to hear. “Tell me about them.”

“Really? You won an award for service? What did you do to win it?”

“You work as an intellectual property lawyer? What does that mean? What do you do?”

Eons ago, I coached reluctant speakers in how to make conversation. Ironic, considering I had always been reserved and reluctant to make conversation myself. Those lessons stuck with me, however, and I found that my single most effective tool was to find something the speaker knew that I did not.

Ignorance. When used appropriately, it can give the other person a sense of pride (“I know something you don’t!”), generosity (“Here, I’ll teach you what I know!”), or self-respect (“I’m important enough to deserve attention and interest!”).

The first and last are especially effective with children and others who may not usually be listened to.

On the whole, I have a positive attitude toward ignorance. This week, however, I’ve come up against ignorance in several areas that I need to know about now. Googling, talking to friends, and researching only carry me so far when I don’t have the time and hands-on experience to absorb the experience.

  • Work as a professional Domme
  • Boats, specifically cabin cruisers with a flying bridge
  • Condo and homeowner association rules, plus basic real estate practices
  • Ethical and professional obligations of a nurse practitioner with patients

Thanks to a wonderful network for friends and colleagues (and Google!), I’ve gotten enough basic information to make a start. I’m not accustomed to this much ignorance in such a short time, and the pressure mounts while up against such pressing deadlines. I’ve written 96,000 words since Christmas, and I have another 40,000 to write by the end of the month.

Yes.

When ignorance meets deadlines, it’s not pretty.

Then again, in the past I have researched a profession or location for days, weeks, and even months for it to appear as a single sentence in the final manuscript.

Ignorance makes us better writers, though, because as writers we tackle our ignorance. As a child, I learned all kinds of information simply to create the perfect metaphor or choose the best image for a poem.

Ignorance is a catalyst for us to try new things, learn new things, and listen to others. It’s all too easy to isolate ourselves amongst people who think like us and know the same things we do. When I talk to someone about his or her area of expertise, I gain much more than knowledge. I gain the connection of a fellow human being taking the time to share life experience with me.

I’m grateful that we all have different interests and areas of expertise, and that so many people are willing to open their hearts and lives to me. We love to give advice. We love to be “in the know.” But sometimes, the gift we give is to admit our ignorance.

I don’t know anything about this. You do. Will you share it with me?

So often, the answer is yes.

Thank you.

How will you use your ignorance today?

8 thoughts on “Why ignorance makes us better writers–and people

  1. awesomesub says:

    Hi Ana, I have not really thought about ignorance as a sort of tool before. But it is a positive approach and that’s a wonderful idea. I think I use my ignorance more to connect, because close to everybody can tell me things I don’t know and most enjoy that just as much as I do. And I learned something too. At the moment I always try to get all information about teething, as Tilda seems to be right in the middle of getting her first tooth and I want to be sure about possible symptoms. Maybe this is not really comparable to your way of using ignorance in a positive way, but it is pretty important when my little one is crying. 🙂

    hugs

    Nina

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I think many women are good at this technique. Not all, of course. 😀 Having a new baby is a great way to find connection with others.

      As to cutting her first tooth, OUCH. Poor baby. The medical types always say fever and rash aren’t associated with teething, but I say baloney. Can you imagine the pain of something sharp poking its way through your skin?

      A nice, clean washcloth soaked in cold water can be good for massaging her sore gums. See, there I go. 😛 And though most people would yell that it’s unsafe, a whole cold carrot (the tip of it) can feel good to gnaw on. Don’t yell at me, everyone. It does help!

      Like

  2. Mary M. says:

    I do the same thing, but I don’t call it ignorance, but a willingness to admit you don’t know everything combined with a strong interest in learning and a healthy dose of curiosity. To me an ignorant person is one who doesn’t realize how much he or she doesn’t know about something, and has no interest in learning more than they already know. They always misquote the saying as “Ignorance is bliss”, when it really said “When ignorance is bliss, ’tis folly to be wise.”

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      That’s a GREAT way to put it, Mary! Love it. I was getting a bit of a complex about this earlier. I don’t know what I’m doing! Why do I not know all of these things? What the heck DO I know? 😛

      We don’t have time to learn everything, but we can be open to learning new things.

      Like

  3. rozharrison says:

    This was great Ana, made me think. I do this with Rick on at least some level every day … tbe man is a walking encyclopedia lol. He especially loves it when I show a genuine interest in, and desire to learn about things he is passionate about.

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I love talking with people who have passions about things I don’t know about. I talked with a friend’s husband once who is a scientist. His work was completely over my head, but he was so kind and patient about explaining things at a lay level. That is not easy to do! And when I have a passion, I love sharing as well.

      Hugs.

      Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

