Lift High the (Chocolate) Cross (and eat it)

wpid-wp-1426267308953.jpeg

Sacrilege.

Yum.

Ever since Louisa Bacio received a chocolate cross last Easter and worried how to handle the sacrilege, I have found great delight both in the silly item and Louisa’s reaction. To me, a piece of chocolate (no matter what the shape) is something yummy. Louisa, however, couldn’t bring herself to eat it. She outlined her dilemma in her “Taste Us! You’ll Like Us!” post:

  • Melt it – Oh my, that’s just wrong. As a base for most recipes, chocolate is melted.

  • Suck it – Rather than biting, you know how some people prefer to suck? The shape may be perfect, but the idea is not.

  • Dip it in marshmallow – Such a nice contrast of chocolate and cream, but mental picture = oh no!

  • Play with it – I’d rather not say anything else on the subject, but it is a bit phallic. [Ana’s note: This is the benefit of living in a F/F world!]

  • Eat it – In any sense of the word.

Now, really. Jesus did say to take and eat.

In preparation for my birthday festivities, Louisa sent me a message.

“You’ll know it’s from me when you see it.”

I figured it would be the Italian children and wooden spoon T-shirt she posted and tagged me in, and I wondered whether she would get the size right.

When I received a package from Amazon, I was curious. I had quite a few packages arriving with goody bag supplies, but I didn’t have anything scheduled to arrive that day. I’d received some clearly marked birthday presents and set them under the birthday tree. This, however, must have been (in my thoughts) an extra box of candy or toys for the party favor bags.

I opened the box, opened the box inside of the box, and howled with laughter once I saw the contents.

wpid-wp-1426267481356.jpeg

 

Two of them. That’s right, two. Because eating one chocolate cross is not enough to commit sacrilege. Oh, and how naughty is it to eat a Happy Easter cross while in the middle of Lent?

wpid-wp-1426267464136.jpeg

What cracked me up was the combination of pretty swirls on the front of the cross and the cheap plastic tray. Shouldn’t chocolate crosses be served on crushed velvet? With wax paper, maybe, to protect the velvet.

With great joy and satisfaction, I took up the cross.

Matthew 16:24

Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me.”

See? It’s in the Bible. Jesus didn’t say, “Don’t eat the cross after you’ve taken it up.”

Some people receive birthday cakes. (I’m not much of a cake lover.) Some might receive birthday pie or cookies. Me? I get a birthday chocolate cross.

Screen Shot 2015-03-15 at 4.27.30 AM

Louisa couldn’t believe I’d actually taken a bite. She gave her own chocolate cross to her husband last year. He took care of it.

I made sure to document the desecration step by step.

wpid-wp-1426267292838.jpeg

Yum. As the wonderful hymn says:

Lift high the cross, the love of Christ proclaim,
Till all the world adore His sacred Name.

I don’t know about you, but chocolate is a pretty good conversion tool. Don’t you think? I bet we could get a lot of followers if we handed out chocolate crosses.

Who’s in? 😀

17 thoughts on “Lift High the (Chocolate) Cross (and eat it)

  1. catrouble says:

    ROFLMBO! You are such a tease Ana! Oh and BTW…I do believe you gave up wooden spoons for Lent but have you really? Oiling them all over…rubbing them well? *snicker*

    Hugs and blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  2. awesomesub says:

    Hi Ana, first of all, chocolate is a treat, isn’t it? So, it must be eaten. Merely looking at chocolate is only being punished without a wooden spoon. So, if it’s there, it is meant to be eaten! I loved the pictures of how the chocolate disappeared bit by bit.
    Oh, and I have seen that there are silicone chocolate molds in the form of crosses. I mean, if you ever have warm, molten chocolate and want to put it into a mold before nibbling everything away.

    hugs

    Nina

    Like

  3. nancygoldberglevine says:

    Glad you enjoyed your birthday present, Ana. It looks yummy. I’m holding out for a box of chocolate covered matzo–and hoping someone gets me one because last year it was $6.99 a box. I guess I could try what my hero did in “Fools Fall in Love” and make my own chocolate covered matzo. Hmmm…

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

