Blogging from A to Z Theme Reveal: Connections

Connections

I’m thrilled to join a blogging phenomenon known as “Blogging from A to Z,” a huge event of over 1000 bloggers. The idea is simple: Each day in April, except Sunday, write a short post that uses a progressive letter of the alphabet. (Sundays are time off for good behavior, theoretically, but with the Governing Ana crowd I am not sure such “good behavior” will actually happen. Hehe.)

As part of the event, a tradition of a theme reveal means each blogger can opt to choose a theme for the month. I thought through several different themes that have surfaced over my three-plus years of blogging:

  • Forgiveness, reconciliation, and redemption (the theme of almost all my books)
  • Children (one of the most consistent joys in my daily life blogging)
  • Quilting grannies (my beloved church friends)
  • Longing (yearning for so many things)

Of course, there are the extraneous themes. Spanking, sexuality, and kink, but those are external. Even in my most spanking-centric books, the kink serves as a tool of healing and reconciliation, or else it is an expression of intimacy and love.

26 days. 26 posts. Would I really want to spend all 26 days on any of these topics?

Then it hit me.

Connections.

What does every theme have in common? The desire to reach out, find commonality, and to connect with others. Maybe it’s through quilting or forgiveness, or maybe it’s by playing hopscotch or gazing wistfully at someone perceived to have a relationship we do not, but we all hope for connection in some way.

“Anchored,” my short story that will be published around Memorial Day, has made me cry every time I sit down to write, edit, or proofread. I kid you not. I sobbed while making sure punctuation and capitalization remained consistent. Karla, a 61-year-old newly retired librarian, longs for connection with her adult daughter, her profession, her friends, and her loss of home. She gives up everything she has known in favor of a new life, and she meets a woman who makes it all worth it.

Connections.

It’s why we can wake up in the morning and find our lives worth living.

When things get tough, when obstacles seem insurmountable, and when the opposition looms like Goliath over our tiny slingshot, I hope we can remember.

We are connected.

We are loved.

And we matter.

Won’t you join me for A to Z blogging in April?

For a sample of what I mean by this theme, see the post from my Facebook below. (Feel free to follow me on Facebook to get more frequent updates.):

Good morning! Let’s make Monday beautiful?

My church orders Easter lilies with the option to buy one “in memory” or “in honor” of someone special. I asked for a lily designated in honor of my “Friend Harriet,” the gentle soul whose cancer may not have options for treatment.

Today, I’m going to stop being afraid of how sick she might be, and I’m going to remember that Friend Harriet is still here, still alive, and still my friend.

How will you make Monday beautiful for the world?

10 thoughts on “Blogging from A to Z Theme Reveal: Connections

  1. rozharrison says:

    Hi Ana, ooh I love reading everyone’s A-Z posts. I have never joined in myself though due to lack of opportunity to post every day.

    What a lovely post and I just love your theme. Looking forward to following your posts 🙂

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

  2. minellesbreath says:

    I am looking forward to your posts. I know they will be meaningful.
    The Easter Lily for your friend is perfect. Maybe she will not have an easy time, but I’m sure knowing you as well as others are there in friendship, will make it easier to have joy in her life.

    Like

  3. catrouble says:

    Hey Ana…looking forward to your A to Z posts.

    So very proud of you for remembering your Friend Harriet is still alive and needs her friends to visit and keep her spirits up. The Easter Lily was a beautiful gift to send her.

    Hugs and blessings…
    Cat

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

