B is for Buttons

Connections

 

11131749_10152846397056443_1467393772_n

(Photo credit: Bonnie Bracken. Necklace was a gift I made for readers as part of the release for Mistress on Her Knees.)

11043104_886619894691640_3702051310581508454_n

(Photo credit: Chickie)

B is for Buttons

“Do you, Graciela Fairbanks, pledge to protect, guide, cherish, and chastise your submissive, honoring her submission and devotion?” Jessie, usually so irreverent about this side of me she doesn’t understand, stumbles over the last few words. Something changes in her tone, and she gazes at Trinity who trembles in anticipation.

“I do.” I reach for the small linen envelope Jessie placed in front of the first candle, as I instructed. Accepting the lighter, I set the wick ablaze. The wax warms, and soft vanilla scent rises from the light.

“And what do you give to your submissive as a sign of your love and dominance?” Jessie waits with the red velvet pouch as I take Trinity’s right hand in both of mine.

Opening her hand, I slide the card of pearl buttons and set it in her palm. She gives a tiny gasp, looking upward despite my orders not to. Before she remembers and glances back down at the floor, her tear-filled eyes communicate an entire speech in one glance. You remembered. You promised, no matter how difficult life became, you would button me back up. It was my first gift, the day I asked her to become officially mine.

Breaking script, I duck down to kiss her sweet-scented hair. This girl I have come to love offers me her entire self, and I will never forget the value of her gift.

Mistress on Her Knees (FREE with Kindle Unlimited!)

Thou shalt not covet thy host’s submissive

When a Domme loves a Domme, strange things can happen. When a Domme loves a Domme who is her former submissive and cheated with her best friend, all of the usual fun with handcuffs turns into something darker.

Graciela struggles to control her attraction to the headstrong, beautiful woman who broke her heart ten years ago. She offers temporary shelter to a fellow human in crisis, nothing more. But when Trinity buckles under Graciela’s righteous anger and begs for forgiveness, Graciela’s resolve wavers. Can she ever trust again? Does Trinity deserve a second chance, or is this yet another manipulation?

10661666_10204184360072620_1205738899211584265_o

 
(Photo credit: Tina Simas)
P.S. Shell Flowers wins yesterday’s random drawing for a copy of Taliasman! Today’s commenters will be entered in a similar contest for a copy of Mistress on Her Knees (in exchange for an honest review).
9 thoughts on “B is for Buttons

  1. rozharrison says:

    The necklace is beautiful Ana, and I love that scene from Mistress. So sweet and the buttons a wonderful symbol.

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

  2. renee200 says:

    That concept really struck me… someone being there to button you back up when life gets difficult. It is a very sweet part of the story that resonated deeply. Blessings.

    Like

  3. awesomesub says:

    Hi Ana, the symbolic meaning behind these little buttons is so powerful, it’s amazing. I love that scene out of several reasons, but that Graciela promises to be there for Trinity, to care for her and to ‘button her up’ when something major is wrong, is wonderful. I like this form of committing oneself to the other, because it is somehow ‘complete’, it includes the soul, so it is the most intimate kind of promise. I can only love this.

    … And Gracie stuck to her part of the deal. Just saying. 🙂

    hugs

    Nina

    Like

  4. catrouble says:

    That line “…no matter how difficult life became, you would button me back up.” really touches my heart every time I read it. Really love the idea of a button necklace.

    Looking forward to the rest of your alphabet. 😉

    Hugs and blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  5. Shell Flower says:

    Aww, that really is a cool excerpt. I love nice shell buttons, and it’s awesome how they are such a symbol of buttoning her life back up. That need to be controlled is so clear in the button metaphor. Love it!

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

