E is for Elephants

Connections

A lovely friend of mine, Ruth Shulman, has a love for elephants. “Eles,” as she calls them, represent (for her) all that is good and beautiful in the world. Once, when I made her smile, she sent me a video of a baby elephant as a thank you.

We all have our quirks, our passions, and our loves. Over my years of blogging, people have met me who didn’t care about anything I found interesting–yet, through their friendship with me, opened their minds and hearts to my passions.

It’s a special connection when someone says, “I see you care about this, and I want to care, too.”

Did you know a baby elephant sucks its trunk the way a baby sucks its thumb? I found this video for Ruth, back in January, and it was new to her. Recently, I came across this video of a baby elephant stumbling into its bath tub.

Before I met Ruth, I didn’t think much about elephants except for Dumbo–and that movie is traumatic enough to scar children for life. *shudders*

I may not ever come to love elephants for my own sake, but I will always love them for the sake of Ruth, my gentle friend who gives so much and expects nothing in return.

Life has been a little difficult for Ruth lately, and she has had to take care of herself. I love you and miss you, Ruth. I hope, someday soon, you’ll be able to come back and share with me the joy of baby eles. No one loves them the way you do.

8 thoughts on “E is for Elephants

  1. Strange Flesh Press says:

    Ok that baby elephant made me laugh a lot. I love elephants, too. And associating with you has taught me to at least respect the wooden spoon even if I can fully embrace your same love for it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  2. Joelle Casteel says:

    Big hugs for Ruth! I love the baby elephant video you found, Anastasia. Very, very cute. It is sweet and wonderful, though, how we come to love things that we didn’t already. Like Advent calenders just aren’t a thing to me normally, but I love your Advent Calender. The community spirit you help build is wonderful

    Like

  3. awesomesub says:

    Hi Ana, this is such a funny and cute little baby. We use โ€˜Elesโ€™ for elephants here too, especially when talking to toddlers. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I hope so much that life will be much better again for Ruth and that she can watch the video and share more about what she enjoys with you.

    hugs

    Nina

    Like

  4. minellesbreath says:

    This is beautiful. How wonderful you found videos of baby elephants to make her smile. I hope she comes back and is okay after her struggles.
    I love elephants they have the most wonderful personalities. There was a video on FB recently regarding baby elephants that were separated from their mother, and family. They are nurtured and cared for with such love.

    Like

  5. laurellasky says:

    These were wonderful videos that you shared with Ruth. I hope they put a smile on her face. I had a friend in Israel who collected elephants and had over 100 big ones, little one. Her reason for collecting them is because she was a Holocaust survivor and was send on the “Kinder lift,” which took her to the UK in 1938 without her parents who perished. Elephants never forget and she would never forget.
    I still cry if I watch Dumbo. Hugs Laurel

    Like

  6. catrouble says:

    What a beautiful tribute Ana. Thank you for sharing the video…gave me an awww moment. Sending prayers and healing energy for Ruth.

    Hugs and blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  7. rozharrison says:

    What a lovely post Ana, and tribute to Ruth. Sending positive thoughts and prayers her way.

    I do remember your previous post where you shared the baby ele clip. Love this clip also. So cute ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

