K is for Kimchi

Connections

K is for Kimchi

Sexy Kimchi.

Oh, yes.

Sultry, tempting kimchi that should be revered everywhere

As I explained earlier, Cabbage is Sexy.

I originally chose Seoul Searching for my title. After discussing with readers and playing around with various titles, I hit upon a great, fun title:

Kimchi with a Side of Spanking

Fun, sassy, and indicative of kimchi’s central place in the story. Hyunkyung feeds Indigo the spicy, fermented cabbage, and the food symbolizes the new world offered. Kimchi made for a great title! I loved it! It was brilliant!

“No,” said #EvilMistressKate.

“But…” My chin quivered. A tear may have fallen. I’d already had to conduct a memorial service after my evil editor slashed one of my favorite lines. I had to give up the title, too?

“No,” replied the inexorable #EvilMistressKate. “There is nothing sexy about cabbage.”

The book turned into Seoul Spankings, and once I revealed the cover (by the talented Fiona Jayde), I basked in praise for the artwork. I couldn’t help teasing Kate.

“And you said cabbage wasn’t sexy!”

Kate’s reply?

“That ain’t no cabbage on the cover!”

Indi feels the same way as Kate. When Hyunkyung orders a meal for her, Indi turns up her nose. Hyunkyung, raised in a culture that reveres the spicy, fermented cabbage, is sure she knows how to tempt the picky eater. I still giggle whenever I picture this clash of food cultures. 🙂

 

Indi Go set her fork down with a sickly shudder. “Thank you,” she said. “But I’m not hungry.”

Ristorante Bellini prided itself on hand-cutting its noodles, and it had elevated Italian cuisine to grand style. Maybe, as a Korean, I should have introduced my guest to Korean food, but pasta had seemed a safer bet. Everyone loved pasta, even finicky eaters.

“It’s a little bland,” I agreed. “The sauce needs some spice to cut through the thickness. Here, have some kimchi to cleanse the palate.” I picked up a few choice pieces of fermented, spicy cabbage and set them on the edge of her plate. She looked, if possible, even greener. “Kimchi is good for you,” I said. “Full of vitamin C, low in calories….”

 

 

Seoul Spankings Promo

Broken-hearted when her live-in boyfriend impregnates her best frenemy, Indigo Adams accepts a one-way ticket to Seoul, South Korea, and a challenge from her Great-Aunt Matilda: Forget that boy. Go and make something of yourself.

Bruised from an international public relations nightmare as the new heir to the multi-billion-dollar Han Incorporated, Hyunkyung Han seeks positive publicity in the form of a wedding. She consults with Madame Eve to find a nice, well-behaved Korean American with bilingual and bicultural skills.

Instead, Madame Eve sends Indi, a naïve philosophy major graduate working for minimum wage at the local pub. Enraged to find Indi can’t speak one word of Korean, Hyunkyung orders her sent home on the next plane to Spillville, Iowa.

Then Hyunkyung shakes Indi’s hand, and the sparks fly. With all of her professional responsibilities, how can Hyunkyung allow herself to fall for the wrong woman? How can Indi feel attraction for a woman who despises her?

Seoul Spankings offers a light-hearted romp through the perils and joys of navigating an intercultural romance. Certain to delight all fans of a happily ever after with a kinky twist.

11 thoughts on “K is for Kimchi

  1. awesomesub says:

    Hi Ana, …She looked, if possible, even greener. “Kimchi is good for you,” I said. “Full of vitamin C, low in calories….” This made me giggle when I read it in the book and now it does again. Childhood here we are. I think we all know this well meant sort of comment, like ‘Eat, dear, it is good for you!’ depending on who said so, followed by a lecture about all the healthy ingredients. 🙂 Indigo is lucky because she learns to enjoy kimchi.

    hugs

    Nina

    Like

  2. rozharrison says:

    LoL Ana, at the risk of the wrsth of Mistress Kate, I love your alternative title 🙂 I’m with Nina, this brings back childhood memories.

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

  3. Karen Michelle Nutt says:

    Love learning the behind the scenes of choosing the title. lol

    Love the snippet too. Yep, I do remember those lectures of why the food was so good for me, and how I tried not to eat it! Of course, I used the same method with my children. lol Great snippet.

    Like

  4. siobhanmuir says:

    Oh no, never start with “it’s good for you.” As a mom, I’ve learned that’s the kiss of death when it comes to convincing someone to eat something. 😀 Great snippet, Ana.

    Like

  5. renee200 says:

    Yes, Mistress cabbage is sexy *over my shoulder as I slip from the room* No… actually I tried kimichi and it wasn’t so bad. Although I will say that I liked pickled stuff. Love the snippet…

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

