Merda, the evil one (#BeyondFairytales)

11138145_979910918685676_5396797276214572509_n

Who loves a fairy tale retold? Decadent Publishing is offering a Beyond Fairytales bloghop with lots of neat prizes. If you’ve enjoyed Anastasia Vitsky events in the past, you’ll recognize quite a few names. Plus, you’ll earn Rafflecopter entries toward some lovely prizes!

For one lucky participant on my blog, I will offer an exciting prize: a free audiobook of Taliasman! Hollie Jackson has done a wonderful job with the narration, and she brings Talia and Vina to life. It’s been amazing to hear my words read aloud, especially to hear slightly different interpretations and inflections than I’d intended. Listening to Taliasman is like getting to know Talia and Vina all over again.

In most fairy tales, the evil character is as interesting as the good ones. For Taliaschild, the upcoming sequel to Taliasman, we see how the character of Merda has descended (or ascended, depending on perspective) to evilness in the form of the Snow Queen (the fairy tale upon which Taliaschild is based).

In Frozen, Disney’s retelling of The Snow Queen, the evil ice queen becomes the alienated, misunderstood older sister. Evil is transferred to the false suitor who pretends love in order to win control of a kingdom.

How do you respond to evil characters in stories? Do you enjoy them? Do you wish you knew more about them, or do you find the heroes and heroines more interesting?

I hope you find Merda interesting, because you’ll learn more about her story in the prequel to Taliaschild, premiering exclusively for Sci Spanks!

AV_BeyondFairytales_Taliasman_1300

Born to a destitute woodworker who wanted a son to carry on the family business, Talia grew up with one phrase on her lips: “If I had been born a boy.” If she had been born a boy, she would have been cherished, supported, and launched into the world with her father’s legacy. As only a worthless girl, she toils all day long to earn her handful of inferior grain.

Far away in the heavenly palace, Queen Vina receives a mysterious coin necklace from Nicodemus, teller of stories. Compelled by the throbbing heartbeat, she scours the earth to come across Talia, enslaved to a family who never wanted her. Rather than admit her motives, Vina purchases the girl with a sack full of gold. Furious, betrayed, and homesick, Talia endeavors to share her misery with the entire palace. Vina, afraid to confess her love, allows herself to become trapped in the role of brutal slave owner.

Talia, bred to expect nothing but misery, faces the first choice of her life. Will she accept love, even if it comes from an unlikely source? Or will she reject the one who offers her everything?

A Beyond Fairytales Adaptation of Our Lady’s Child

Ooh, look! Taliasman is now part of a 5-book box set for only 99 cents! Wow!

DP_BlueBookofGrownupFairytales_BoxedSet_HiRes

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1B9hdY1

ARe: http://bit.ly/1Hr7FPH

Bookstrand: http://bit.ly/1Ac9H41

How to earn entries:

1. Follow @AnastasiaVitsky on Twitter

2. Like Anastasia Vitsky on Facebook

3. Leave a comment, including saying that you have done #1 and #2.

23 thoughts on “Merda, the evil one (#BeyondFairytales)

  1. stepheck says:

    I adore the cover so much. Simply so pretty. Yay for Ana!! And spoons!! Depending on the evil character, I do wonder about their history. My mom and I have discussed books forever, and something she said has stayed with me—no one turns evil overnight, just like no one turns over a new leaf overnight–there has to be reasons and motivation. Without a purpose or backstory, evil for the sake of evil is 2D. When I write evil characters, I have to check myself because I do want to make them evil for the sake of evil…otherwise, I might get sucked into their backstory too.

    Steph Beck

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Hehe if I have you cheering for wooden spoons, I count it as a success!

      It is really hard to see more than one POV while writing a story (at least good vs. evil). Sometimes the backstory given for an evil character is too hard to believe–Regina in Once Upon a Time, for example. The backstory for Rumplestiltskin was much better.

      Though..an evil villain who spanks…mm. I might or might not enjoy that in a story. 😀

      Thank you for visiting!

      Like

  2. awesomesub says:

    Hi Ana, you’ve got all the good ingredients for a new favourite of mine together. 🙂 I love the Snow Queen, Anna and Elsa in Frozen, and Taliasman. I am not too sure how I react to evil characters. One of the most horrible figures in your stories is Trinity’s father, definitely on the evil side for me. I wouldn’t want to know more about him at all because he is simply monstrous for me.
    But if you have some lovely evil witch, maybe even playful and with a clever motivation behind her, then I’d love to read more about her, because there could be a tragedy behind her way of acting. Maybe the evil character is simply misunderstood, wants to save her own children or find love. I could understand that and would probably love her too. Simple base motives such as greed are not attractive and I don’t think that I’d like such a character, but could enjoy them as antagonists in a story. … And would want to see them stomped down in the end. 🙂

    I do follow you on Twitter, I like you on FB and beyond. I hereby declare that I have done #1 and #2. 🙂

    Do I have to register somewhere or is it enough to comment in all the blogs?

    Anyways, lovely cover
    and
    many hugs

    Nina

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      We might or might not learn a little about Trinity’s father in book three, but I will keep it low-key.

      I love, love, love spanking witches. 😀

      Other blogs will have a Rafflecopter for you to enter. Let me know if anything isn’t clear.

      Like

      • awesomesub says:

        Learned something new today, a Rafflecopter is a widget. 🙂

        I didn’t mean to say that we shouldn’t learn more about Trinity’s father in general, because he is part of Trinity’s side of the story. What makes him so abominable for me is that he has a choice to be better, every time he beats one of his children or is mean. Apart from some sort of pseudo-religious fanatism (actually more his excuse to be bad and abusive) he simply follows his basest instincts, if I remember that correctly. Booze is no excuse either, I think he was drunk when he hit Trinity down. So, I think he has everything that makes him the perfect epitome of an abusive figure, but he has nothing that would make me feel sorry for him. But I can see that playing with a really ugly figure like him is great, and the scenes with him and Trinity were very intense and created a lot of positivity for Trinity. 🙂

        Like

  3. Chickie says:

    i tend to have a soft spot for the meanie 🙂 There’s a reason for it. Even the worst people in society have a story. Not that their story makes any evil okay, it’s just interesting to know how it happened. Maybe Merda isn’t really evil? Maybe she’s doing what she can to better herself at what she considers to be necessary costs?

    Like

  4. rozharrison says:

    Hi Ana, it depends but I tend to find the evil characters more involved and interesting. Their history and back story is usually more interesting. plus, they provide suspense. Of course, I’m usually always rooting for the good guy at the end of the day though 🙂

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

  5. Gina (ginawriteswords.com) says:

    My 5 yr old is currently obsessed by Maleficent, so I think showcasing the story of the ‘evil one’ in the fairytales can work very well. We’ve also been able to have some great discussions about how, although she did some bad things, Maleficent wasn’t wholly bad, and I think 5yr old is learning about motivation and perspective. (In a small way.) 🙂

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Sleeping Beauty was one of my favorite Disney movies. I haven’t seen Maleficient yet but hope to soon. A wholly bad character is boring, just like a wholly good character is boring. What does your little one think of Mother Gothel? 😀

      Like

  6. kaisquared4 says:

    Already follow, like and spank I mean enjoy! 🙂 When I was younger I wanted to have the evil be unredeemable and the good pure and without fault. Now that I am almost Quilting Granny age, I appreciate the nuances more.

    Mary M. emmasmom69 AT gmqil DOT com

    Like

  7. JoanneBest says:

    I always seem to have a little bit of a soft spot for evil characters in that I want to know what made them evil, what happened before that caused them to do evil things… of course this depends on what constitutes “evil” and what level of evil we’re talking about.
    Being evil due to past circumstance may allow redemption, but I do think that some people can be evil to the core, some people thrive on being evil and that sort of evil is unredeemable and unforgivable. I’m looking forward to learning more about Merda and why she is the way she is.

    And Dearest Mistress of All Spoons Wooden, I follow you everywhere 😉
    In a non-stalking, adoring way 😀

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

