My Love Affair with Reunion Stories

Sara Daniel One Night banner

 

By Sara Daniel

Half of the books I’ve written are reunion stories in one form or another. The One Night with the Bridal Party series kicks off by reuniting two lovers in One Night with the Bride. Caroline plans to grit her teeth and marry a guy she feels nothing for, but when given the chance to check out the only man she’s ever loved… well, she’s only going to look and satisfy her curiosity, not dump her fiancé for her true love. Uh huh. I’m already cheering for the past lovers to get back together.

Oh, and don’t worry about that guy she feels nothing for that she’d been planning to marry. He’s been emotionally unavailable for fifteen years since he and his high school love went their separate ways after a heartbreaking tragedy. He gets a reunion story too in One Night with the Groom.

Reunion stories of past lovers work because they’re so powerful. The story has inherent conflict. The couple either left each other for a reason or were torn apart in the past. Those unresolved issues don’t fix themselves. They remain and often grow bigger over time because the past conflicts become magnified by the hurt and pain of their years apart. But the characters are still wildly attracted to each other and long to relive the intimacy they’d once shared.

My latest release in the bridal party series is One Night with her Husband. As the title suggests, the two characters have a history and a connection and are looking for one last chance to either make their relationship work or split apart forever. Their angst, emotion and vulnerability are sky high. Because I want them to have a happily ever after and I know they won’t achieve it without each other, I’m rooting every step of the way for them to reunite in an everlasting love.

SD_One Night with her husband_SM

One Night with her Husband

She walked away from her marriage seven years ago…

Marcia Johnson always assumed her husband would follow her eventually. She’d achieve success while she waited and prove her decision the right one. But when he finally turns up, she’s not ready. Her career hangs in the balance, and her weight has skyrocketed. How can she face the man she loves and show him she made the right choice? Especially when he’s matured from a decent-looking college student into the sexiest man she’s ever seen.

 

He’s waited seven years for his wife to finally need him…

If Adrian Torres can save her business, maybe he’ll have a shot at saving their marriage. But the woman he finds is too competent and independent to ask him for help. She even shrugs off his touch instead of reacting with the desire he hoped to ignite. Have the embers of their marriage finally died? Is it time to end their relationship and move forward?

He wants a divorce…

Her world ripped apart, Marcia turns to 1Night Stand to give her one more night before she lets Adrian go. She dares not hope for more. Even Madame Eve couldn’t have the magic to save their neglected disaster of a relationship…could she?

Excerpt:

For better or worse, he would not live the rest of his life in a suspended, married-but-not-married state.

“I’m sorry I shocked you with my presence.” He wasn’t sorry for surprising her, but he regretted how unwelcome his surprise had been.

She swiped at her eyes and began rummaging in the glove compartment. “You have my phone number. You could have warned me you were coming.”

His chest tightened. “Those stiff, formal calls don’t change anything, except suck away my soul. I needed to shake things up.”

“So you decided to burst in during the biggest business crisis I’ve ever faced?” She extracted a pack of tissues from the compartment and mopped her beautiful face. “I hope you have a better strategy to save my company, or we’re doomed.”

With the pressure to convince her to believe in him more intense than during his meeting with Mr. Gladstone, he crouched next to her seat. “While we work together to fix Sunburst’s crisis, we have a chance to bridge the distance between us, too.”

Mouth gaping, she met his gaze again. “Your idea of bridging the distance is to ambush me in my own conference room and then introduce yourself like we’re freaking strangers?”

Failure tasted metallic and bitter in his mouth. In his plans, he’d skipped straight to wowing her with his marketing prowess. He hadn’t considered he’d upset her so much she wouldn’t stick around to listen to his spiel. “No, I played my ace card. You put your trust in Gladstone PR. I made myself the face of Gladstone so we’d have enough common business interests that you wouldn’t immediately kick me out of your personal life.”

Marcia squeezed the steering wheel until her knuckles turned white. “I don’t have time to think about anything personal right now, and I certainly can’t let my employees see me as an emotional wreck. They’re counting on me to lead them with a solid plan.”

Business and her career didn’t just come first in her heart. They owned her whole heart. Adrian had been a fool to lose sight of that. Burying his own hurt and frustration, he said, “I have a beautiful plan for the company. We’ll put it in action together.” Afterward, he’d have to decide if he could handle coming in a distant second place with her for the rest of his life. “Trust me.”

She stared at the steering wheel for a long time before turning to him. “I have to. You’re my only hope.”

Amazon

All Romance eBooks

Kobo

Google Play

iBooks

coke

Sara Daniel writes what she loves to read—irresistible romance, from sweet to erotic and everything in between. She battles a serious NASCAR addiction, was once a landlord of two uninvited squirrels, and loses her car keys several times a day. One Night with her Husband is the latest book in her One Night with the Bridal Party series. Subscribe to Sara’s newsletter: http://eepurl.com/rx_AL Visit her website: http://www.SaraDaniel.com

Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/SaraDanielSaraShafer

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/SSaraDaniel

Blog: http://saradanielromance.blogspot.com

Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/ssaradaniel/

(Click here: Rafflecopter link for the $20 gift certificate.)

3 thoughts on “My Love Affair with Reunion Stories

  1. rozharrison says:

    Hi Ana and Sara, thank you for sharing. Enjoyed the excerpt Sara. I’m definitely rooting for them to save both the business and their marriage 🙂

    Hugs
    Roz

    Liked by 1 person

  2. awesomesub says:

    Hi Sara, hi Ana, I enjoyed reading this excerpt a lot. The situation Marcia and Adrian are in does sound desparate, I can’t wait to read more about them, and this is definitely a title for my TBR list. Thank you. 🙂

    hugs

    Nina

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ssaradaniel says:

    Hi Nina and Roz, thanks so much for commenting. I met my spouse in college back when I was sure I was going to be a high-powered corporate woman. (I’m so not!) So, this was a fun story to write.

    Ana, thank you for hosting me, even though my reunion stories are lacking both wooden spoons and spankings. GASP! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

