#Gemstone Kink & Faith series: What is communion?

Kink & Faith, Part 1: What is a Lydia circle?

Kink & Faith, Part 2: What is a lectionary?

Kink & Faith, Part 3: What is a doxology?

Hello again, fellow kinksters! Have you enjoyed this week’s series explaining the church references behind Gemstone, the story of a kinky church lady? We’ve discussed Lydia circles, lectionaries, and doxologies. Today, we’ll talk about something that may be familiar to you–communion! Also called Eucharist, Holy Communion, or the Lord’s Supper, this ritual has a rich and long history in many faith traditions.

First, let’s look at how it appears in Gemstone. Poor Gemma’s tired of being expected to make her special chili every single time the Lydia circle has a potluck. So…she decides to change things a bit.

I laugh. “I decided if they insist on Gemma’s chili for every single potluck, they’ll get the chili Gemma wants to make. So I made white chili instead of red, and you should have heard the complaints. It was as if I’d brought cookies and fruit juice for communion.”

What can we tell from context, if we didn’t know anything about communion? The word “complaints” tells us that the white chili was not well received. Since Gemma says “it was as if,” it means she is comparing the complaints about the white chili to her description of communion. That means cookies and fruit juice are not typical for communion.

What could we guess from the word “communion” if we weren’t sure? It is something to eat and drink (since Gemma’s comparing cookies and fruit as a negative example), it has something to do with church, and it is probably formal (since cookies and fruit juice are not).

If you’d like a long explanation of communion, here is a video from Gemma’s tradition:

If you’d prefer a quicker visual, here is one:

Simply put, communion is a ritual during a church service when people are served a small cup of wine (or grape juice, in some traditions) and bread (or a wafer, or a gluten-free wafer in some traditions). This happens in most Christian churches, although the specific parts of the ritual may vary.

Wikipedia has some good basic information:

The Eucharist./ˈjuːkərɪst/ (also called Holy Communion, the Lord’s Supper, and other names) is a rite considered by most Christian churches to be a sacrament. According to some New Testament books, it was instituted by Jesus Christ during his Last Supper. Giving his disciples bread and wine during the Passover meal, Jesus commanded his followers to “do this in memory of me,” while referring to the bread as “my body” and the wine as “my blood.”[2][3] Through the Eucharistic celebration Christians remember Christ’s sacrifice of himself once and for all on the cross.[4]

There is far more to say about communion than I can say here, but let’s just assume that this is an important and sometimes controversial part of church life.

What does this mean for Gemstone? Let’s look at the paragraph again.

I laugh. “I decided if they insist on Gemma’s chili for every single potluck, they’ll get the chili Gemma wants to make. So I made white chili instead of red, and you should have heard the complaints. It was as if I’d brought cookies and fruit juice for communion.”

Since communion is a sacred part of the church tradition, and it uses wine and bread (or wafers), we can see that cookies and fruit juice are not an appropriate substitute. In other words, it would be shocking.

Gemma is using the example of communion to show that her fellow Lydia circle women were shocked and dismayed that she brought white chili instead of red.

But as rebellions go, it’s hardly a big one…right? It’s not as if she brought a spatula to the Church of the Wooden Spoon. What do you think? What are your experiences with communion, if you have any?

Thanks so much for joining us for Kink & Faith today! Look for a new post tomorrow. In the meantime, have you seen the great reviews for Gemstone on Goodreads?

Gemstone2

Available at ARe! (will be on Amazon and other major booksellers in a few weeks)

Can lies build a foundation for love?

Gemma Parquin has a secret. By day, she’s the center of her church’s social life. By night, she’s Mistress Lorelei on Kinklife, online disciplinarian of babygirls and all who need spanking, whipping, and—her personal favorite—figging.

No one suspects, until neighbor Celine Daniels comes across Gemma’s Kinklife profile. Stunned and nursing a secret crush, she creates an account under the name starrygirl793 and “catfishes” the Mistress…and gets more than she bargained for. Before she knows it, Celine is also leading a double life.

Meanwhile, Gemma’s best friend sets her up with an online dating service. Enter Stella, who is everything Celine is not—sophisticated, successful, and straightforward. But she doesn’t understand the kink Gemma holds dear.

How can Gemma trust Celine, who has lied to her? Or give up Mistress Lorelei in order to be with Stella? Should Gemma give up on love altogether, or can she still find happiness?

4 thoughts on “#Gemstone Kink & Faith series: What is communion?

  1. Nancy Heredia says:

    My experience of communion in the Roman Catholic tradition was an unhappy one. I didn’t like it, never thought it was a good idea to pretend to be eating someone’s body and drinking their blood. Being instructed that this was not actually pretending but REALLY happening gave me the creeps. I never believed it but had to go along to get along. The idea still horrifies me. While I loved the way you incorporated it into the story, this is so not my thing.

    Like

  2. rozharrison says:

    Hi Ana, I don’t have a lot of experience with communion but have witnessed others taking communion in the Anglican church on a few occasions. I love you explanations, especially how to gain understanding from the context surrounding the various references in the book.

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

  3. nancygoldberglevine says:

    Thanks for the explanation, Ana–I always wondered about communion.

    I’m a chili aficianado, so I wouldn’t have complained if someone brought white chili. A lady I work with makes a really good white chicken chili (and super easy, too–I’ve tried her recipe–yum).

    Like

  4. awesomesub says:

    Hi Ana, you do know how to create a shocking image; a spatula in the Church of the Wooden Spoon! However, once I had recovered from the first shock, I enjoyed the explanations and think that the Lutheran pastor in the second movie has an awesome voice.

    In our church Eucharist was a pretty boring affair, everything was done so monotonously in a church which was poorly attended. I do remember that I never felt as if the pastor had reached me with what he wanted to express and never found his messages on the positive side and creating hope. But maybe I simply did not listen closely, I don’t know.

    I think I do understand what Eucharist means and I have always enjoyed the thought that Catholics saw Holy Communion as a mystery. I found that this meant the bond between human soul and God would have meant to be stronger, but I only thought this because as a Protestant I understood Eucharist as something symbolic, not something where you mysteriously actually imbibe a little bit of Jesus (or at least he is present). Thank you for this kink & faith post, I enjoyed it and learned something again. 🙂

    hugs

    Nina

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

