Susies and Marys

So…there’s this person, let’s call her Susie, I see most days who irritates the heck out of me. She’s a know-it-all who gets huffy, dismisses other people’s opinions/experiences, and insists on having her way no matter how trivial the topic. Everyone is incompetent in everything except for her, it seems. Most annoying of all is that she continuously complains about someone else without realizing how annoying she is herself. Irony is that I quite liked her at first. She’s friendly, talkative, and generous.

Then there’s another person, let’s call her Mary, who irritated the heck out of me for weeks. She got under my skin, stymied my efforts, and made things more difficult. Now, though, we get along great. I enjoy listening to her chatter and appreciate that she always has things organized so my work is easier. Her work ethic is incredible.

As a private person who prefers quiet time to social time, this has been an eye-opening experience. How many times do we ignore the Marys in our life because they irritate us at first? How often do we stay within the circle of those who keep us comfortable? I’ve always liked getting to know the sides of people they don’t usually show to the world. I love when I can coax a shy, quiet person to share with me their passions. Even the most socially awkward person will respond to genuine interest in something he or she loves.

The Susies in our life are necessary. They take action, get out into the world, and call other people to action.

Here’s to the Marys, who are just as important.

2 thoughts on “Susies and Marys

  1. awesomesub says:

    Hi Ana, the way you described Susie and Mary created the pictures of some Susies and Marys I know. Funny how we can see them around us, isn’t it? Sometimes the Susies are simply not aware of how they are perceieved by others and can be great fun once they pay attention to what others think about them. Here’s to the Marys.

    hugs

    Nina

    Like

  2. rozharrison says:

    Hi Ana, great post! This got me thinking, I definitely work with a number of both Susie’s and Mary’s. Makes me see them in a different light so thank you, You are right too, we do need both.

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

