Ana’s Advent Calendar, Day 8: St. Knickerless Day

Adventcard blue penguin

ST KNICKERLESS DAY (2015)

I was quite stunned when Ana emailed to ask me to take part once again in her Advent Calendar.

Stunned, because I couldn’t believe it was a whole year since the last one. “How can that be?” I thought to myself. “Has time suddenly looped and caused me to miss a year?”

Anyhow, having agreed, once again, to contribute a pair of knickers for one of Ana’s poor, old, knickerless friends, I girded my loins and sallied forth into the town to search all the very best knicker shops. Sadly I had not realized it was something called “Black Friday”. Eeeek! So many people!

I had dragged Dan along for the journey and a bit of moral support, but he gave up after a bit, said I was mad, and so was Ana, and disappeared into a local hostelry in search of something to warm him up.

At one point I knelt on the floor of a lingerie department, entirely surrounded by a myriad of frothy bits of silk and lace, almost throwing up my hands in despair. What to choose?!

However, you will be both happy and relieved to hear that a lovely prize awaits the winner!

***********

People who know me, will know that as well as writing stories, my big interest is making old-fashioned patchwork quilts. I have around five of them on the go at the moment, and am scrambling around trying to get one finished for Christmas. I quilt by hand and only use a machine to join the pieces of fabric, so each quilt takes a very long time to complete, and is quite unique.

Everyone who quilts, accrues a huge “stash” of fabric. Quilting is addictive, and you find that you cannot enter an establishment that sells fabric without coming away having spent a vast fortune. Dan has been known to physically prevent me from putting a foot over the threshold. Snort!

Of course, in the past, women would never throw garments away like we do nowadays. Everything was “up-cycled”. If it was no good for anyone else, or to be passed down or on, then it was cut up and made into quilts. Everything. Not only dresses and blouses, but jackets, under garments, and even men’s shirts and jeans.

So it came about that I was up in our loft, foraging for our Christmas decorations, which are usually hoisted up there at the end of January, and then forgotten until the next December.

Our loft can be likened to an ancient, dusty Tardis. Most of the beams up there still retain their bark. The floor creaks as you step from areas that have been boarded over, to areas which are bare joists, and you have to negotiate not only the sloping roof, but the chimney stacks and the huge disused water tank.

There are boxes and trunks, an entire range of suitcases and travel bags, curtain rails and old lamp stands, boxes of discarded toys and books, and even spare car parts. Each generation disposes of its unwanted possessions by hiding them up in the loft, like in the archives of a museum.

I’m not good up loft ladders. When Dan is around, he forbids me from climbing them. He says I am a hazard and a liability.

I generally find it’s not so bad going up, but the turning round in order to search for the top rung with your foot, when you want to descend once again, is a tad unnerving, both to do and to watch.

I found most of the boxes of decorations easy enough. They had the words “Fragile” and “Christmas Decorations” written on them in felt-tip, and had been stacked only a yard or so from the top of the ladder. But I had it in my mind that I wanted to find some old paper globes and bells that had belonged to my grandmother. They had fallen out of fashion and some helpful family member had probably shoved them in a back corner somewhere.

I crept gingerly round the main chimney stack, brushing cobwebs, both imaginary and otherwise, from my hair, and barked my shin on the corner of a large, old tin trunk. The corner was sharp and my jeans offered no protection to my tibia. It made my eyes water and I swore as loudly and vociferously as I could, adding several permutations to the words “bloody” and “buggering” and “shitting hell”.

I sat down on the edge of the aforesaid trunk, and rubbed my shin madly, trying to dispel the pain. I couldn’t remember seeing the trunk before. But then, I had never crawled round that particular part of the loft-space before.

I bent and studied the trunk more closely. It was littered with old labels of the “going on a voyage” variety: “Cunard Line”, “P & O”, and even a label that said “Hong Kong Steam Packet – wanted on voyage.”

I scratched at one of them, but the dust lay thickly and although I damped a finger and dabbed it where the name was written, the writing was too spidery and faded for me to see properly.

Intrigued, and scraped shin forgotten, I dropped down on my knees facing the trunk, and tried to lift the lid. But the catch was rusty, and I had to work at it for a time, adding scraped fingers to the shin.

At last it consented to move and I worked it upwards sufficiently for me to try once again to lift the lid. It was very stiff, and I pushed and pushed. It came open suddenly in a huge cloud of dust. It took me by surprise, and I collapsed sideways coughing and choking and fanning madly with both hands.

When the dust had settled I was able to look inside, not sure whether or not the trunk was empty and just hurled up there out of the way like we do with our modern suitcases, or whether there might be any long-forgotten contents.

There was certainly something.

I could see a thick covering of tissue paper. Once pristine white, it had gone grey with age, but it was doing a good job as the item it covered seemed as clean and fresh as the day it was stored therein.

A patchwork quilt.

Someone had folded it neatly and placed it within the tissue paper, together with a liberal amount of dried lavender. To keep out the moths, no doubt.

I lifted it almost reverently, and paper decorations forgotten, I staggered back around the chimney stack and made my way back across the loft to the ladder. The quilt was large, and I decided to stuff it through the hatch, let it drop to the floor below, and then follow it down.

It took me a while. It sounds easier than it actually was, and there was a time when I thought I would be following it headfirst instead of turning round and going carefully back down the ladder. However, I eventually made it, and heart thumping, I took it into our bedroom and spread most of it out on our bed.

The colours were, for the most part, bright and clear as the day the shapes were sewn together. I was able to pick out some of the patterns. There was the wedding ring, the Rose of Sharon, the Dresden plate, lots of flying geese and tumbling blocks, and even a Carolina lily.

But the fabrics! The fabrics were incredible. I could see that some of them looked woven by hand, not by machine, and I wondered idly how long ago the Industrial Revolution had been, and tried to imagine my ancestors sitting at a loom for hours on end.

I gazed at the glowing colours as one gazes at a stained glass window in a church. With awe.

I had loosely folded the quilt in half in so that it would fit on the top of the bed, and now I turned it to look at the other half. That was when I realized it was unfinished. There were only three blocks in the last row.

I looked more closely. I had another surprise. I recognized some of the fabrics in that final row. They were mine.

I sat on the edge of the bed running my hand lightly over the quilt. I remembered the fabrics well. Every one of them.

Some of them belonged to the dresses I had made to take away on our honeymoon. There were some belonging to my bridesmaid dresses. There were several pieces of material that looked strangely like some of Dan’s old shirts, and a beautiful Celtic Knot contained fabric from my wedding dress.

I looked further up the rows. There was a red material sprigged with small blue flowers that I remembered my mother wearing, and a leaf green with yellow roses that looked familiar too. There were flying geese made from my father’s shirt fabrics, and a piece of pale grey organdie that I thought could have been from a ball gown I remembered, and still further up I recognized fabric from dresses my grandmother wore.

My eyes lifted to the rows of beautifully quilted fabric. Each block different. Each block unique. I couldn’t hazard a guess at how old the first blocks were. I could only guess that here before me was an ongoing history of my family. Generation upon generation nimbly sewn into an arrangement of colours and shapes, to be lovingly kept and enjoyed down the years, by each successive family. History played out before my eyes.

The sunshine glanced through the window and the colours came alive like a heap of jewels thrown carelessly across our bed. My eyes watered once more, and not due to my barked shin.

My mother had patiently kept the scraps, remnants and discarded clothing from the years of my life up until my marriage, and then she had continued until her fingers grew stiff and as illness took her, she was no longer able to sew. She had carefully put away the quilt for the next generation, in the hope that there would be someone to take up the challenge. She had never told me about it. It had lain there in the old travel trunk, waiting for the day when the lid would be thrown open, and daylight and the rays of the sun would lift its colours and reveal its beauty.

Now it was my turn. It was time for me to add the final five blocks, and complete the sashing and borders. When I had done that, I would be able to attach the binding and then the quilt would be complete. Never again would it need to be hidden away in an old trunk in the depths of the loft-space. It would take its place on our large bed in the master bedroom. It would look beautiful, it would keep us warm on cold nights, and it would take up-cycling to the next level.

I glanced around the room. The air shimmered, and a curtain moved slightly in an unseen breeze.

My ancestors smiled, and I smiled back.

***********

Think of me quilting madly in the lead up to Christmas! So much to do and so little time. Two anxious grandkids who come and drive me mad one day a week, quilted Advent stockings to be finished and hung from the inglenook complete with candy canes, and the sequel of my book Beating the Bounds to get finished and in to my editor. (In case you are wondering, it is called the Midnight Geese!)

Ana and I are both busy people who don’t get to connect with each other as much as they would like to do. She has been my help and inspiration in the past, and it was quite difficult to be pushed out of the nest and told to “Go write and get on with it!” (No, she didn’t say that really. She just equipped me to take those first scary steps.) I promise you, Ana, that we will be in touch more often in the coming year.

You probably know by now that Dan will pick the winner of the St Knickerless Day prize out of a large pudding bowl. I should be grateful if, when you are notified that you are the winner, you will email me with your initials and address, plus size from the following list: Extra small, small, medium, large, extra large. Our sizes are completely different here from the US, so this way it enables me to be more accurate.

I can be contacted at amistarsong@hotmail.co.uk

Many thanks once again, Ana, for all your hard work and for making our lead up to Christmas so very enjoyable.

I do hope that lots of you will take part and make this a year to be remembered.

Beating the Bounds

 

62 thoughts on “Ana’s Advent Calendar, Day 8: St. Knickerless Day

  1. Laura says:

    Since this is one of my favoritest Ana Calendar days I got up extra early to see what was happening today. I’m so happy that you took part in the calendar again Ami – it was great reading about your love a quilting. I would love to be creative you, however in H.S. it took me a whole semester to put a collar in a little shirt. The project was only three pieces but I couldn’t get it right to save my soul….or in this case my grade. I mean come on who gets a D in sewing. I had thought that this course was going to be an easy A in between all my AP courses. Stupid class took my average down. LOL

    I loved what you wrote. Just going about you’re day and an unimaginable surprise almost knocks you off your feet. Please take a picture when you’re done and post it because I’m sure everyone wants to see the finished product. Your swears need a little work and I’d be happy to help but not right now as Ana walks softly but carries a big spoon! BTW – SNORT had me laughing so hard I almost peed myself. Guess it’s Depends time.

    Another Whovian who would have thunk though since you live in Doctor Wholand I believe it’s the law over there that you love it. I wonder how many of us are around here?

    Have a stupendous St. Knickerless Day everyone.

    Liked by 3 people

    • pieclown says:

      Hi Laura, I too love the Doctor. I have some figures like Legos of the Doctor and others. A friend got me a Doctor Who Yatzee game. I better stop now or some head elf will get mad that her Christmas posting have been hijacked by a mad man in a blue box.

      Pie pie 4 now

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ami Starsong says:

        I’ll have you both know that I watched the very first “Dr Who” ever! Just love it, though nowadays it is much too scary for small children to watch. Even in those days I used to hide behind the sofa when any Daleks appeared.

        Hugs
        Ami

        Liked by 2 people

    • Ami Starsong says:

      Hope I am replying in the right place. It seems to me that you need a degree to use an iPad.

      I couldn’t sew at school either! But let’s face it, the garments they got us to make were soooo awful!

      I don’t usually swear much, but there can be exceptional circumstances, and that was one of them. As a former Elf, I am all too familiar with Mistress Ana’s wooden spoon!

      I will happily take a picture when it’s finished, but still have a way to go.

      Hugs
      Ami

      Liked by 2 people

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Collars are ridiculously difficult! And sewing is completely different from ordinary academics. I wish I’d had proper lessons, but my mom was too impatient to teach me and my home ec was a joke. I learned how to make Kool-Aid and PB&J sandwiches.

      And I like big spoons. 😀

      Liked by 3 people

  2. pieclown says:

    Good afternoon Ami, Wow a second TARDIS mention on Ana’s advent calendar. Fantastic as 9 would say. I love the story of the family quilt. I am laying under a quilt I bought at a retirement home, where I worked. I too have a quilt stashed a way in a trunk in my loft or some where. This a quilt I won at the county fair. The blocks are of landmarks around town. It was a fund raiser for the hospital. Several people around town did the blocks. The next year my grandma did a block. I know about fabrics and having way to much or is too little time to use it all. I have a friend and she is a costume maker. I also have quite a bit of fabric. These were bought to make clown costums. I had go back and some of the older post. Well you have a good afternoon. I know the time difference. I actually have a job helping UK merchants in card transactions/referrals.

    Pie pie 4 now. – yes that is from Tiswas.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I suppose no one would take any notice if I tried to banish Dr. Who references. That show is SCARY!

      Not as scary as my big spoon, I hope. 😀

      How cool about your quilt. And I bet your local quilting circle would love to have extra fabric if you don’t need it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ami Starsong says:

        Your scary spoon or a Dalek?

        Hmmmm…. Think I’d sooner take on a Dalek.

        As for our fabric – we guard our “stashes” with our lives! I have the smallest stash of them all. The elderly ladies are the worst! LOL!

        Liked by 1 person

      • pieclown says:

        I will see your wooden spoon and raise you a Weeping Angel. Yes Doctor Who is scary and my kid does not want to watch any episodes with Angels. Not every thing on TV has to be “reality” or CSI. But is not gory. It nothing like Freddie, Jason, that no good PENNYWISE!!! Sorry somethings just get me angry and you would not like when I am angry. The current producer said he hid when the daleks came on. Ok I will get off my soapbox.

        pie pie 4 now

        Like

  3. Joelle Casteel says:

    Sighs, I tried reading the comments before commenting myself so hopefully I wouldn’t be a depressing St. Nickerless post- my period started days early and while your quilting story is so beautiful, this morning it’s one more thing reminding me of the severing of ties with my family.

    Yes, more Doctor Who. I keep wondering when I’ll really enjoy it again- too many marathons recently. Although with my dominant running “Voyager” on Netflix has me wishing for Doctor Who now 😀

    That is such a beautiful fact you share about how all sorts of fabrics were kept for quilts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ami Starsong says:

      Oh tough luck. Have lots of starflower oil and evening primrose.

      I’m sorry you feel sad, but you must have had good reasons to sever your ties. Look forward and be positive. You are a great person in your own right, and can gather a beautiful circle of close friends around you. Don’t feel you are on your own, we are all here should you need us!

      I love Voyager too! I am a real “Trekkie”!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

      • Joelle Casteel says:

        I’m thinking of making a store trip 😀 My choices are mixed drinks including rum and period-specific pain killers; well the second isn’t helping.

        I wouldn’t say I’m necessarily a fan as much of a consumer of many of these sci-fi shows; my dominant is the one who’s really a fan. However, I take in so much of them and when I do stop what I’m doing to watch, I find it interesting how I take them apart as an author. I’m glad we’re on Voyager rather than “Deep Space Nine”- I think that’s the one I’m thinking. I feel slightly bad as I can only think of it as “the one with the black captain.”

        And yeah, knowing Calendar was here was good 🙂

        Like

  4. Ella says:

    Hello Ami,
    This is my first St Knickerless Day, and I am very excited. What a beautiful post. I love that you found something so special when you were not even looking. Think how many other times you and Dan went up there to get something or stash away something. That quilt was just sitting there waiting for you to find it. We will definitely want to see a picture of it when it is complete. It should be fun to add some scraps from clothes of the newer members of your family, too.

    I will tell you a quick story about finding something that I thought was lost forever. My mother and father gave me a beautiful gold disc necklace engraved with my initials long before I ever married Sam and changed my name. There were 3 letters in a script and they were shaped to fit in the circle of gold. I think I have it on in my high school graduation picture. I loved it and wore it for many years until one day I could not find it. Just gone. I tore apart my closet and dresser and jewelry boxes and containers. I did grieve some, but there was nothing I could really do. Eventually, I forgot about it.

    It was probably almost 20 years later that I was housebound from a huge snow and decided to tackle cleaning closets. I sorted through clothes that I had saved because they were so beautiful even though they were also so out of style. There was a black cocktail dress that I used to wear for parties when I did a lot of theater. I knew I would never wear it again because of the huge padded shoulders from the 80’s. I took it out of the garment bag and started to take it off the hanger. And there was the gold necklace hanging from the hook of the hanger. The tears sprang to my eyes, and I thought about how many times my hands had been just inches away from it for all those years. It was waiting to be found, just like your quilt.

    Ana, I have never visited before, but I love your Advent Calendar. I promise to come again.
    Thanks,
    Ella Ever After

    Like

  5. JoanneBest says:

    Quilting and knickers and TARDIS’s, oh my! 😀 {sings loudly “these are a few of my favorite things” as cats run and hide at my screeching}

    Your post made something get in my eyes, not sure what but *something* made my eyes well and drip salty drops. You brought back so many memories for me, after first laughing hard at the image of you and your Dan shopping for knickers (I first typed knockers, heehee!). I myself could spend a week straight in a lingerie shop/department and I was reminded of my Mom and me on one of our many Mother/Daughter getaways, without fail we would spend hours in the lingerie store and my credit card always got a workout. I may be a jeans kind of girl but underneath, I always wear something lacy/wispy/sexy/girly, something about that, even though I’m (usually 😉 ) the only one aware of what I’m wearing underneath my casual clothes, well I just feel a boost of confidence and a little bit naughty…that’s usually the reason for the secretive half-grin on my face when I’m out somewhere, that is, if I’m not living the true Saint Knickerless way as I tend to revert to when I’m home writing {blushes as I sit here in yoga pants, knickerless and very comfortable 😉 }

    Oh my! I thought for a moment you were in our attic/loft as you described it, the only difference being the ladder, we have a stairway, but everything else, cobwebs and all, is exactly the same. Later today I’ll be venturing up there, William the kitty at my side as I dig out the Christmas decorations. There is one special decoration my Mom made a few of, she’d take a Styrofoam ball and use it as a base and sewed/quilted all different pieces of material, usually Christmas themed material, all around the ball so in the end, it resembles a round quilt, if that makes any sense (I’ll post a picture as soon as I dig it out of whichever box it’s in). Some were made with leftover material from the old days, when she sewed all my clothes, and I love looking at it reminiscing, “oh! this was from that blue dress” or “this was my green bathing suit, my red shorts” etc…

    And the quilts my Mom would make! She made them differently, using yarn and making squares to quilt together, sometimes making rows using different colored yarn and I still have every quilt she ever made (that she didn’t give away). I even have the quilt my Father’s Mom made before he was born, so it’s at least 89 years old and still holding up.
    Once, when my older brother was in 1st grade they had a schoolwide raffle at Saint Augustine’s School (it was so small there were only 4 rooms, 2 grades in each room), the prize being a quilt which included each square made by a different Mother of a student. Somehow, my brother won and he was so proud he couldn’t wait to get home to tell our Mom. As the story goes, our cousin ran ahead of my brother yelling “Aunt Alice, Donald won!”, and my poor brother was so disappointed he didn’t get to tell our Mom himself, to this stay he still talks about it 😀

    I probably say this each day, but I can’t say it enough, how much it means to me coming here to Ana’s, I get a feeling of such peace and love and calm and laughter, and I think to myself, THIS is Family, THIS is the real Familial feeling we all dream of, and I couldn’t be more grateful unless there was a way we could all be together in the same room at the same time. Then I realize, in a way, we are.

    And add me to the list of fellow Whovians, I’m amazed at how many Companions are here 😀
    There is, however, one thing I wish with all my heart, and that wish is that Ana would watch at least one Doctor Who episode, not a scary one, but perhaps one of the Christmas Specials, perhaps one of the Specials with 11, maybe the one where 11 is the Caretaker with the brother and sister and Mother, it’s not scary but beautiful with the power of a Mother’s love for her children, or even the one with 11, the Scrooge-like episode, but that might be a teeny bit sad, but it’s the kind of sad where we smile as we cry.

    I know this is a near impossible wish, but a girl can dream, right?
    And with that, I’m off to catch up reading everyone’s on comments from the past two days so I shall leave you for with an “Allons-y” and a “Geronimo”!!! 😀 Fantastic, yes? lol

    Oh! And I’m looking forward to reading The Midnight Geese after I finish Beating The Bounds, which is now on my TBR list ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ami Starsong says:

      Golly, I so enjoyed reading all your comments, Joanne. What a wonderful loft you must have. Real stairs instead of a pull-down ladder.

      I lost my mum when I was much younger, but I have a good buddy friend who is always willing to go crawling round the floor looking at the lingerie bargain rails. I just so adore Janet Reger, but they are normally too expensive.

      Those quilted balls sound wonderful but I am up to my arms in making small quilted Christmas stockings at the moment. They are proving so much more fiddly than I had anticipated. They are for an Advent garland, and I have only made 11 so far.

      Yes, Ana needs to watch some Dr Who. My goodness, I can’t believe that she never has!

      Thank you, Midnight Geese is undergoing some edits at the moment. I shall have to stop soon or I shall rewrite the entire story.

      Hugs
      Ami

      Liked by 1 person

    • catrouble says:

      Joanne! Shape on you for telling tall tales…I just finished listening to a song of yours and there was absolutely no screeching involved…you have an awesome voice! Behave yourself or I’ll contact Mrs Claus and tell her you need a barn burner with her wooden spoon!

      Hugs and blessings…Cat

      Like

  6. Sassytwatter says:

    I think this might be my favorite knikerless post!! Please post pictures! I have recently begun loving quilts and the story behind them. What an amazing memory a lifetime in a quilt. I loved how visual you made the loft for me I could just picture you up there. I learned to sew as a teenager when I did a year abroad in Sweden the poor teacher I sewed over finger while making a bathrobe red blood white terry cloth needles to say was last thing I made for a very long time.

    Like

    • Ami Starsong says:

      You are so funny! Sewing over a finger, indeed!

      Thank you for such nice comments. I love sewing, but it can hardly be classed as exercise, and now I’m feeling fat and flabby, and Christmas is yet to come. Must get out more in the fresh air afterwards and become fitter!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  7. kaisquared4 says:

    I love quilts but despair of time to sit down and piece one together. I enjoy old quilts we have that were made from work-shirts, ties and even old jeans. My grandmother would have thought it crazy to go out and buy new material to make a quilt. For her, quilts were a frugal way of using “leftovers” to keep the family warm. We all learned to sew starting at around age 8, but I also learned to darn socks and knit and crochet. I do more of the latter two these days. I have never tried making lingerie. I might try my hand at corsets. 🙂
    While I enjoy Dr. Who, it can be quite scary at times. May I recommend that Ana watch some episodes from the Pertwee years, more of the peace and love generation of Dr. Who. I must confess, we do have a Weeping Angel as a tree topper this year.

    I wish I had a loft/attic but modern buildings around here do not lend themselves to storage in the eaves. Happy St. Knickerless Day to all!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ami Starsong says:

      Yours sound “proper” quilts. I Have to admit that my family were knitters rather than sewers. However, I am determined to redress the balance. I remember my mother and my grandmother darning socks, but that little bit of nostalgia stopped with me! I Was never any good at knitting, but I crocheted many things, even a disastrous bikini in the late 1960s which grew several sizes when it got wet!

      The Pertwee years of Dr Who were some of the best, and the Tom Baker years (with the big knitted scarf!). I hate those horrible angels with the sharp pointy teeth. Very scary!

      We live in a house that is five hundred years old, so dust, beams and ghosts. LOL!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Liked by 1 person

  8. awesomesub says:

    Hi Ami, your trip up to the loft must have been such a wonderful adventure. It sounds like a great place to explore, full of boxes, and then you find this beautiful treasure. I love how generations of Starsong women have added to this quilt and turned pieces of fabric into something with a meaning, a tradition. I have not quilted yet (and to make matters worse, I have only tried watching Dr Who once; scary 🙂 ), mainly because I thought that it takes so long to do. However, with our growing family I’d love to create something like a quilt which grows with every generation. It is such a lovely way of thinking back and remembering. The Starsong quilt you found is definitely a treasure. I loved what you wrote, and I loved how you mixed the atmosphere of Christmas preparations with finding a family treasure. Lovely images.

    hugs

    Nina

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ami Starsong says:

      It’s not really a great place to visit. Too many cobwebs and spiders. And we had a huge wasps’ nest that wound its way right round one of the chimneys during the summer!

      Quilting does take a long time to do, but is so worthwhile. You need to start with something small – not king size like me! LOL!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  9. Rosie Jones says:

    Ami, what a wonderful find, it must bring back so many memories. I’m sure the quilt will look lovely on your bed but maybe not the one to fold over the footboard?

    I watched the first episode of Doctor Who too, I think behind the sofa was the default viewing spot in those early days.

    Rosie xx

    Like

  10. minellesbreath says:

    Oh Ami, you make me laugh, smile and cry…. In that order! I just love the way you write. Your descriptions are so vivid I felt like I was there opening the dusty lid! I smelled the lavender too!
    Please share when you finish the quilt!! Such wonderful generational memories!
    I’m having lots of nostalgia feelings this season. I started crying decorating my tree today. Life is precious!
    Thanks for your post!

    Like

  11. Rosie Jones says:

    Ami, what a wonderful find, it must have brought back so many memories. I’m sure the quilt will look beautiful on your bed but maybe it’s not one to fold over the footboard?

    I watched the first episode of Doctor Who too, I think behind the sofa was the default viewing spot in those days.

    Commenting using an iPad is frustrating – if you get this one twice it’s because the original went off into the ether.

    Rosie xx

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Irishey says:

    Hi, Ami darlin’!! Love your Knickerless post again this year. 🙂 Poor Dan. Lol!

    What an amazing surprise, and how fun for you to find your family quilt, and to be the one to finish and use it! The mystery behind this intrigues me.

    I wondered why your mother kept it a secret. Perhaps she never had the chance to finish it, or tell you about it?

    With a little thought, I decided to imagine she wanted you to stumble upon it some day and take an unexpected trip down memory lane as you recognized some of the fabric. Maybe she knew from her own experience that you would enjoy conjecturing about the older pieces, wondering which ancestor had worn which material.

    As much as I like answers and facts, I think it is lovely some their origins remain a mystery for you to ponder. Even moreso, how incredibly conforting it will be for you to snuggle under the coverings worn by your family.

    Quilted stockings!! So ambitious and admirable . Such patience. I feel as if I should feel guilty for not producing lots of handmade gifts and decorations. I do, a little. I spend time thinking I might make some things, but thoughts fail to become action. I think my motivation for such things has taken a long hike!

    So glad to “see” you! Much love and big hugs!

    I hope to see you around more here at Ana’s Advent Calendar.

    Like

    • Ami Starsong says:

      Hi Irishey!

      What do you mean “Poor Dan”! Pffftttt!

      I found several unfinished things my mother started. Some have been finished now. It’s kind of nice to think I have things made by two women from two or more generations.

      Now is the time for you to “Seize the day” and stop procrastinating. Time runs away with you otherwise.

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  13. renee200 says:

    St Knickerless Day is one of my favorites every year and I was not disappointed this year. Wow, what a discovery in your attic. The history in your family quilt is a wonderful gift. My grandmother used to crochet blankets and slippers for everyone until she was unable to anymore. However, before she was unable to sew anymore she made blankets for every child, grandchild, and possible great-grandchild. Every winter when we pull them out, a window is opened to our memories. Blessings, R

    Liked by 1 person

  14. catrouble says:

    Happy St Knickerless Day, Ami! Ya got the tears rolling here…what an awesome Christmas gift to find from your mother! Please be careful…we surely don’t want you falling again. My aunt left me embroidered quilting blocks to have someone put together into a quilt…still looking for someone…hint, hint. 😉 Oh and yes, I know I still owe you pictures of my quilts along with pictures of my shoes. Will get those out one of these days. 😀

    Hugs and blessings…Cat

    Like

  15. Loralynne Summers says:

    Oh what a wonderful story! And what a surprise for you to find! I am oddly sentimental – my mother isn’t quite sure where I got it from – and I think that quilt is the most fantastic story!

    Like

  16. nerdgirl1115 says:

    I love the history of the quilt and the story of how you found it. A friend made me a quilt one year for Christmas. One of my favorite presents. As usual, though, one of the cats has claimed it.

    Like

  17. SH says:

    Ami, what a great story! How exciting to find such a treasure! The memories must have been such a joy! I would love to find a full attic in an old house and try to piece together the memories!

    Ok, I have to confess. What is Dr. Who? A TV show?

    Like

    • Ami Starsong says:

      Our attic is mostly full of rubbish! But there is also the usual stuff up there like suitcases and Christmas decorations.

      Dr Who started out as a children’s TV show in the 1960s over here in England. It has now developed a cult following. It involves time travel in an old “Police Box”.

      You need to watch it!

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

  18. AM says:

    What a delightful story!

    I, too, hate those pull-down ladders. We didn’t have one like that when I was growing up, but we had sort of a built-in ladder to our crawl space attic. I hated going up there because it was hard to get back down.

    My mom was also a quilter. She tried to teach me, and I even made some–I made a doll quilt (which my kids now have) and a baby quilt for a friend and a potholder. But I’m really not any good at it, and I don’t remember how to do it. Maybe one day, I’ll try again to learn how.

    ~Amy

    Like

  19. Monica says:

    What a beautiful story. I don’t know the first thing about quilting, but now I want to learn more. I especially love how the precious pieces of fabric pass on from one generation to the next. I can imagine the exact pieces of clothing I would have wanted from my own history.

    Like

  20. Jaye Peaches says:

    What a wonderful discovery. You’re braver than me going in the loft. I might stick my head up there, but that’s it. I freak out!
    My auntie is a quilter and has made various gifts over the years from wallhangings, cushions to purses for the kids. I’m especially grateful because I can’t sew and she’s provided us with wonderful memorabilia for the years ahead.
    We watched Dr Who…. can’t say I understand a word of it at the moment!

    Like

    • Ami Starsong says:

      I love lofts! But not cobwebs or spiders! You are lucky to have a quilter in your family!

      I haven’t watched any of the present series of Dr Who as I was so upset when the previous “doctor” left the series.

      Hugs
      Ami

      Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

