Ana’s Advent Calendar, Day 10: Holiday Carol Sing-a-long

red green square

Holiday Carol Sing-a-long

We will follow (or flout) the same rules as last year. If you know songs for Hanukkah, Solstice, or other December holidays, please include those.

A repeat of the rules, with a few slight modifications:

PLEASE ONLY POST ONE LINK PER COMMENT. Otherwise, WordPress flags your comment as spam. If you want to put up multiple songs/lyrics/translations, post multiple comments. (You can comment as many times as you want.)

  1. Post a song title, a lyric, or translation of a holiday carol. (Translation must be a REAL one, not fed through Google translator.)
  2. Look at the previous song titles, lyrics, or translations. Guess the title, add to the lyrics, or guess the language (by replying to the comment).
  3. Get confused.
  4. Ask other people for help who are just as confused as you are.
  5. Have fun!

Example A:

Nantes per nives
in aperta traha
trans agros imus
omnes ridentes.
Tintinna tintinnant
animose sic,
laetissimi nos canimus
canticum hac nocte.

Tinnitus, tinnitus,
semper tinnitus!
O tantum est gaudium
Dum vehimur in traha! Ha!

(The next person should guess the language or the English title of the song.)

Example B:

Come, they told me pa-rum-bum-bum-bum.

(The next person should guess the title of the song or give the next line.)

Example C:

Silent Night

(The next person should give the first line or a translation in a different language.)

If you have a blog, feel free to add to the fun! Put up:

  • lyrics
  • a link or embedded video clip
  • translations in languages whose alphabets are not supported by the wordpress comment box
  • additional information about your favorite song
  • anything related to Christmas carols!Be sure to give us the link so we can go and check it out.

Challenge: How many languages can we represent in today’s sing-a-long?

 

 

 

69 thoughts on “Ana’s Advent Calendar, Day 10: Holiday Carol Sing-a-long

  1. JoanneBest says:

    Because I’m on my first cup of tea and my eyes are still blurry, I’m posting this link of little old me singing a Christmas song with my band.

    Then I’ll untangle my eyeballs and figure out the actual rules 😛

    Liked by 4 people

      • JoanneBest says:

        Thanks Ana, and I’m sorry about my little (read: ginormous) kerfluffle aka taking up half a page with shameless (actually, shame-filled) self-promotion (hangs head in shame).:P

        Now that I’ve done everything I had to do today (mostly) I can read the comments and figure out how to play 😀

        PS: The other Christmas song, the one I wrote, is nothing like this one, it’s a slow pretty ballad with piano and acoustic guitar #JustSayin #NotAOneTrickPony 😀

        Like

          • JoanneBest says:

            Hee! It’s so funny you said sunglasses because I wear them constantly when I’m outside (because they’re prescription and my eyes are super sensitive to light)

            The weird thing about singing in a band, which is something I never wanted to do and was dragged kicking and screaming to “just help us out for one show” is when I’m onstage singing (without my sunglasses lol) it’s like everyone disappears and I’m a teenager singing into a hairbrush pulling rock star moves but as soon as the set is over I’m off in a corner avoiding everyone dreaming about being home with a good book. 😀
            It’s the words I think that keep me doing it, because the Christmas song is unusual, I really only sing songs I wrote myself, it’s like really, really super short stories set to music 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

      • JoanneBest says:

        Awww shucks SH {head down and blushing} thank you ❤
        I'm trying to learn how to stop deflecting compliments, after all, I have to learn for when I'm a superstar (said in the voice of the girl from SNL in the movie Superstar) 😀

        Like

      • JoanneBest says:

        Aw thanks Cat ❤ I'm happy to say there was no auto-tune on this song nor any other song lol It was meant to be used as a vocal effect then turned into this whole thing where a person could have the worst voice but put it through auto-tune and every note is perfect, obviously auto-tuned yet now the norm #LeSigh 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. JoanneBest says:

    My face is redder than my hair, I thought there would just be a little link and you’d follow the link and hear the song but nooooooo, my dreaded luck has my darn band taking up half the page.
    Many sorries {hangs head in shame and heads to the corner because this must be a rule violation} umm, Mrs. Claus, may I please have a pillow for later? 🙂
    there should be a emoji hanging it’s head in shame for unintended self-promotion 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  3. renee200 says:

    OMG Joanne I am laughing so hard I think my coffee came out of my nose. Thank you for the smiles first thing this morning. Since I do not know any other languages other than English I will start us off with these lyrics. Anyone know the next verse?

    I hope he won’t forget to clack his castanets,
    And to his reindeer, say,
    “Oh Pancho, Oh! Vixen, Oh! Pedro, Oh! Blitzen,”
    Ole! Ole! Ole! San Ta Claus!

    Liked by 2 people

      • JoanneBest says:

        Oh Renee! So funny! For some reason whenever that happens in our house, the coffee through the nose bit, somebody was called it “performing a miracle” so if someone here says “I almost performed a miracle” we know whatever was said was really funny 😀 so thank you ❤

        We have that song (who's name escapes me and I don't want to cheat and scroll down lol) on a cd my oldest bestest friend made for me, including Charo doing a version "Feliz Navidad", it's awesome! Unfortunately my BFF moved to Florida from NJ but whenever I listen to it (often) it's like he's in the room doing his best Charo impersonations 😀

        Like

    • kaisquared4 says:

      Renee, that is actually the chorus to Donde Esta Santa Claus

      Mamacita, donde esta Santa Claus?
      Donde está Santa Claus?
      And the toys that he will leave.
      Mamacita, oh, where is Santa Claus?
      I look for him because it’s Christmas Eve.

      I know that I should be the sleeping,
      But maybe he’s not far away,
      So out of the window I’m peeping,
      Hoping to see him in his sleigh.

      I hope he won’t forget to clack his castanets,
      And to his reindeer, say,
      “Oh Pancho, Oh! Vixen, Oh! Pedro, Oh! Blitzen,”
      Ole! Ole! Ole! San Ta Claus!

      Mamacita, donde está Santa Claus?
      Oh! Where is Santa Claus?
      It’s Christmas Eve.

      I know that I should be sleeping,
      But maybe he’s not far away,
      So out of the window I’m peeping,
      Hoping to see him in sleigh.

      I hope he won’t forget to crack his castanets,
      And to his reindeer, say,
      “Oh Pancho, Oh! Vixen, Oh! Pedro, Oh! Blitzen,”
      Ole! Ole! Ole! San Ta Claus!

      Mamacita, donde está Santa Claus?
      Oh! Where is Santa Claus?
      It’s Christmas Eve.

      Oh! Where is Santa Claus?
      It’s Christmas Eve.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Joelle Casteel says:

    Um, I hope I got this 😀 I’m sharing this link so you can read extra info if you’d like- http://mlp.wikia.com/wiki/Silent_Night But there’s a version of “Silent Night” from “It’s a Pony Kind of Christmas”- a My Little Pony Friendship is Magic.

    [Fluttershy]
    Silent night, starry night
    All is calm, all is bright
    ‘Round the forest, parents and young
    Gentle creatures everyone
    Home in burrows deep
    Home in their burrows deep
    Silent night, starry night
    Snowfall makes the meadows white
    Huddle close to keep family warm
    Tomorrow’s dawn will bring Christmas morn
    Now the day is done
    Now that the day is done
    Silent night, starry night
    Leaves are still and the moon’s in sight
    Dreams are born as their eyes fall closed
    Tomorrow’s gift is that nobody knows
    [Fluttershy and Choir]
    Sleep in beautiful peace
    Sleep in beautiful peace
    [Fluttershy]
    Oh-whoa
    Oh-whoa-oh-oh
    Oh-whoa-oh-oh
    Oh-whoa
    [Choir]
    Sleep in beautiful peace
    Sleep in beautiful peace
    Sleep in beautiful peace
    Sleep in beautiful peace
    [Fluttershy and Choir]
    Sleep in beautiful peace
    [Fluttershy]
    Sleep in beautiful peace…

    Liked by 4 people

  5. kaisquared4 says:

    And now for something completely different…. any idea where these lyrics are from?

    No bells in Hell
    No snow below
    Silent night, violent night
    So come all ye unfaithful
    Don’t be left out in the cold
    You don’t need no invitation, no
    Your ticket is your soul

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Laura says:

    Ladies, please some decorum. St. Knickerless Day had me reaching for Depends and once again I’ve had a small wee because of all of you. I didn’t know coming here would give me this problem. On second thought…what’s a little escaped liquid between friends.

    The song I chose was one that my husband introduced me to on Christmas Eve 1990. He danced me around the front room singing off off key and when he got to this lyric he spun me around and yelled it at the top of his lungs. Oh the memories. lol

    “You’re a bum, you’re a punk. You’re an old slut on junk”

    Liked by 3 people

      • JoanneBest says:

        Ana! No wonder you don’t watch Doctor Who! 😀 You need to watch a Doctor Who Non Scary Christmas Episode, like The Doctor The Widow And The Wardrobe, takes place in England 1938 during the war, without spoiling it, it’s about a Mother’s love for her children and her desire to give them the most wonderful Christmas ever, be prepare for a happy ever after ending and much children fun and awe in a magical house on Christmas with the Doctor. Also, the coolest bedroom a kid could dream up in a huge gigantic English mansion. It’s lovely ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • Laura says:

        Pssssst, JoAnne did you notice I used the T word in my reply to Pie? (You don’t think that our beloved Queen Bee noticed, do you)? If she replies, I hope you both stick up for me.

        Like

    • JoanneBest says:

      SH! Me too! I’m sorry I didn’t see this before posting a different version below, it’s also one of my absolute favorites and the song I most want to cover during a Christmas gig, as I mentioned, with the roles switched and me singing the guy’s part and a guy singing the girl’s part, I think it would so much fun!
      I adore this version and this style of music especially ❤ Thank You 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  7. JoanneBest says:

    Yippee!!!!
    I’ve been trying for years to do this song for the Christmas show but I will only do it if I can reverse the lyrics, I demand to sing the man’s part, it would be more fun that way 😉

    Ok self, *now* can you start commenting? Humans in the house, scram, scatter, only kitties need apply and you have no idea how close I came to using a NSFA word without realizing it! =^..^= #meow 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Loralynne Summers says:

    Um, I think I’m doing this right. While not my overall favorite Christmas song (because in my heart, nothing will be better than anything done by Trans-Siberian Orchestra) this is at the top of the list. I love Josh Groban’s voice. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  9. JoanneBest says:

    I get a lump in my throat whenever I hear this song Loralynne, Oh Holy Night was always my Mom’s favorite Christmas song, so it’s even more meaningful now…what a beautiful version ❤

    In the song I posted the lyric to during Blue Christmas, at the very end when it's just instruments fading out I sing a few lines from this song softly in the background, subtle. Argh! Why does it have to cost thousands of dollars to record??? Gonna have to go with the in-house small studio because I want it done before Christmas….Oh Night Divine indeed ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Loralynne Summers says:

      The guy we had singing at the church when we got married (because tbh, I can’t stand the organist or her voice) sounds just like Josh Groban. When he sang Ave Maria as our mothers walked down the aisle and then lit the unity candle….chills. It was amazing.

      Like

  10. catrouble says:

    Don’t feel alone Loralynne…even though I’ve participated in several Advent Calendars, I’m always confused with posts like this. So I’m just gonna share a Christmas song that has touched my heart ever since it was first released.

    Imagine getting that many huge egos to cooperate!

    Hugs and blessings…Cat

    Liked by 1 person

    • Loralynne Summers says:

      Lol! Good to know I’m not alone!

      I love this song. But I also kinda can’t stand it at the same time…5 years of working in a national retail clothing store at Christmas time. This one and Beyoncé’s All I Want for Christmas make my kinda twitchy, lol!

      Liked by 1 person

      • catrouble says:

        Hey Loralynne…sorry…didn’t mean to make you twitchy. I do agree regarding Beyoncé…of course, anything by her makes me kinda twitchy. 😉 Hugs and blessings…Cat

        Like

  11. Irishey says:

    Well, this turned out to be nothing at all like the rules I read early this morning! Lol!

    We learned how to sing, “Oh, Tannenbaum” in German when I was a kid. I don’t remember a single German word of it, so I won’t even try to post the first line of the lyrics. Oh, wait, I just did, and the second is the same as the first. Lol!

    We learned “Feliz Navidad” in Spanish, and “Silent Night” in German. We learned other songs in Swedish, Portuguese, Italian, Finnish and French. I can’t recall why we were doing this, but our school music teacher was awesome.

    My dad taught me to sing Christmas songs in Pig Latin. Now, that is tough.

    I love so many Christmas carols and hymns, and secular/commercial Christmas songs. How to pick just one?! I love bells, so I will choose three bell songs for my titles: “Jingle Bells” – of course; “Silver Bells” is beautiful; and “Carol of the Bells”.

    An interesting fact about the third song is that it is based on a folk chant known in Ukrainian as “Shchedryk”.

    I hope I didn’t follow the rules as well as everybody didn’t!! 😉

    Love everyone’s posts and songs! Sorry I haven’t commented on any of them, but I have read through all of them, and am trying to get my phone to let me listen to your songs. Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

