Ana’s Advent Calendar, Day 12A: Christmas Kisses

red green square

Holiday Anthology-HighRes

So, yeah.

I wrote a sweet Christmas story.

About a girl. (not shocking, right?)

Who loves a boy.

Uh, what?

Yeah, that’s me. 😀

The lovely Kate Richards wanted to put together a sweet Christmas story, and you know those two words got me going.

A week and a half later, I had this.

Six-year-old Sharie Black knows three things:

 

  1. Boys are stinky.
  2. Cookies from Mama cure everything.
  3. Daddy makes her life perfect.

 

Richie, her next-door neighbor, disagrees. He loves Sharie, and he’s determined to win her heart. He even offers his best yarn engagement ring, only to experience the first of many rejections. Teenage sleepovers, the college years, and young professional life lead Sharie to the big city, but Richie’s heart never changes.

 

Twenty-eight years later, Sharie travels home for a sudden tragedy…and an unexpected Christmas miracle.

Here’s a scene from six-year-old Sharie. (By the way, Sharie is named after my friend with ALS who is in hospice. This story is my Christmas gift to her.)

I scamper to the entryway, sticking my tongue between my teeth in the effort to push down on the handle. Outside stands Itsy. Or, rather, Richard, my next-door neighbor who goes by Richie with everyone except me. When I was a baby, I couldn’t say Richie. I called him Itsy instead, and the nickname stuck. “Hi!”

 

Itsy’s glow-in-the-dark Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles pajamas end in green elastic around his ankles, and his hair stands up in the back. No matter how often his mama combs it down, his hair has a mind of its own. He holds out a lumpy small package wrapped in the Sunday comics. “Merry Christmas,” he says, and I jump forward.

 

Before Daddy or Mama can object, I tear the paper open. Not a nice, tidy easing of tape so the paper will remain spotless for a second if not third use. Not a quiet, decorous show of appreciation. Politeness takes time, and I don’t have it. Mama will make me put the gift under the tree, and I can’t bear to wait.

 

In seconds, I’ve unwrapped a bit of green, yellow, and blue yarn knotted in a circle and taped to a drawing. There’s a yellow dress-wearing stick figure and a green stick figure shooting a laser beam from one wrist. I take the yarn off the paper, wondering what it might be.

 

Itsy steps forward and puts the twisted yarn on my big finger. “We’ll marry when we are grown-up,” he announces, as if we haven’t discussed this every time we take out our Barbies or Matchbox cars and chase geckos in the back yard. “Don’t forget.”

And this is my letter to Mrs. Claus. Hope you enjoy it.

Dear Mrs. Claus,

 

I may have written a naughty story (or two, or three) this past year. I might have promoted kinky activities. I might have even distributed wooden spoons to facilitate reindeer games. Because I fear your mighty wooden spoon, I offer this Christmas story as my penance.

 

Okay, I’ll be honest. Even a naughty author enjoys writing about a sweet little girl who adores her father. I never get to write from a child’s point of view in my other books, so this was a treat. I hope everyone else enjoys this story half as much as I loved writing it.

 

I hope you’ll send a special blessing to the real-life Sharie who lent her name for this story. This may be her last Christmas, and I hope it will be extra-special. This story is for her and her appreciation of Richard Gere.

 

Love,

 

Ana

 

P.S. Sharie and I watched Rudolph together and laughed at you trying to get Santa to eat. We both know who does all of the real work to get ready for Christmas!

Here’s the complete book description:

Kismet and Cocoa by Dominique Eastwick
When true love shows up on her doorstep, will Abby let him in or will she turn him away? Sometimes Kismet is all you need.

Silver Bells and Cat Tails by L.J. Garland
Tabitha isn’t crazy—even though every guy she’s dated has ended their relationship by calling her exactly that. Then a handsome man awakens on her sofa, and everything changes… Could he be the one?

Meri Chris Mess by Dara Fraser
Meredith accepted the teaching position at Oak Springs looking for a new start but when a flood destroys everything in her classroom, she fears she’ll never be able to save her fledgling music program and certainly not in time for the Christmas show. The children will be devastated. But can a handsome and understanding firefighter along with the caring townspeople can turn a mess into a Merry Christmas?

The Little Match Girl and the Billionaire by Kate Richards
A fire on Christmas Eve, leaves Noelle homeless and holding a box of abandoned kittens. The handsome stranger whisking her off to a mansion on the outskirts of town may change her holiday darkness to sweet Christmas Kisses.

Check Yes or No by Anastasia Vitsky
Sharie Black couldn’t care less about the boy next door, or at least not in “that” way. That is, until a personal tragedy creates a Christmas miracle.

You can buy Christmas Kisses on Amazon here.

 

 

11 thoughts on “Ana’s Advent Calendar, Day 12A: Christmas Kisses

  1. catrouble says:

    Awww Ana…what a sweet story. Is now on my TBR list. Thanks so much for the preview. Oh and I do believe all your good deeds outweigh your naughty deeds for this year so you might just need one or two trips over Kristine’s lap. 😉

    Hugs and blessings…Cat

    Like

  2. rozharrison says:

    Hi Ana, I have been absent from blogland recently and just now finding bits of time here and there to check in.

    What a sweet story, really enjoyed the excerpt. Thank you for sharing. Thoughts and prayers to Sharie.

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

  3. Sarah B says:

    Love the story!! So sweet! 🙂
    The title is so perfect and reminds me of George Strait’s sweet Song from the 90’s (with the same title).
    It was a bit of a departure from typical subject matter and you did a wonderful job. It is a beautiful story.

    Like

  4. Irishey says:

    Love your sweet story excerpt!

    I am very sorry about your friend. I hope she has a wonderful Christmas despite her illness.

    That was your letter to Mrs. Claus?!! Uh oh. I think you may need to expand your list of infractions, and not preface each with “might haves” and “may haves.” Just sayin’…

    Hugs!

    Like

  5. awesomesub says:

    Hi Ana, I loved the scene from the book, it has something pretty life-like to it. 🙂 I am sorry about your friend Sharie, but hope that she will have a peaceful time, and a very special Christmas with a lot of joy. I like that you wrote her into the story, that you have created this for her. I think it is special.

    Hey, I think it was far too late for you when you wrote your letter to Mrs Claus. You forget to mention so many things you do on the nice side!
    … And, there is a mistake in your letter to Mrs Claus. You had promoting kinky activities put on the naughty side of things, however shouldn’t it be on the nice one?! 🙂 I mean, if anybody knows about kink, it is the Christmas fairies, Santa and his wife, after all they wrap all the presents, so they know what makes a good present. 😀

    hugs

    Nina

    Like

  6. Delphina says:

    I meant to start a new paragraph and instead I got a new post hehee.

    Your friend Sharie is on my heart and in my prayers. It brought my eyes to tears to read that you used her name. May she have an amazing Christmas.

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

