Ana’s Advent Calendar, Day 16: Christmas with her Horse

advent card red tree

 

Christmas with her Horse
Anyone who knows me is aware of my love of horses. I have always felt a spiritual connection with them, maybe it’s the Cherokee blood that runs in my veins. I also was the little girl who asked her parents for a horse every Christmas but never got one.   Any time I saw a horse I was staring and touching if I was able, I still do today.

I did not get my first horse until I was married with two children.  I know, right?!  My neighbor was moving and could not take her older horse with her.  So, she gave her to me!  My wonderful husband built her a barn, purchased a corral, and I was set.  Pride was her name, she was a special mare and was 28 years old.  I rode her often and put my boys on her a lot.  When I was five months pregnant with my third son, she fell and I had to make the heart wrenching decision to put her down.  The veterinarian was very nice, told me to go inside and she would handle it.  Of course, I watched the entire thing from my kitchen window and watched the disposal crew come pick her up as well.  My husband came home to a crying wife, no cell phones then, and gave me the assurance I could have another.

An old friend called me and offered me her daughter’s horse for a very low price.  Her daughter had no time for her, she was broke to ride, and was pasture boarded about 1 ½ hours away from me.  My hubby and a horse friend of ours went to pick Nefara up for me.  She was gorgeous and she was not broke to ride! Barely green broke and way too much horse for a six month pregnant woman to deal with.  My friend came to pick her up and gave me my money back.

When I was thirty, my very good friend and I decided to go to the Bureau of Land Management auction and adopt a wild mustang.  I adopted a 3  month old filly, named her Star,  and spent the next two years teaching her everything she needed to know, including that people were ok and not to be afraid.  At two she was ready to be broken to ride but on the advice of my long time farrier I opted to sell her.  I would never allow my kids on her.  So, she got a wonderful home with a woman that was thrilled to have her.

My next horse was actually for my oldest son for his 12th birthday.  Cheyenne was such a sweetheart.  She loved all of my kids and especially my daughter who was two at the time.  When my son began high school and was playing three sports, his brothers were also playing sports, and life was too busy then for Cheyenne.  I had purchased her some goats for company, horses and goats bond extremely well, and was very picky in my choice for her new home.  A grandmother bought her for her granddaughter and of course, her goats went with her.

For the next ten years or so I did not have a horse.  Life was just too busy with our children and their activities.  Sadly, none of my children were as horse crazy as I was. I know, I couldn’t believe it either!  I have to say every time I bought and sold a horse, aside from making sure they had a good home, I never gave it much thought.  Sure, I missed having a horse but I never worried or missed the ones I sold.

I never realized what I had been missing until I met the horse I own now.  Almost two years ago I was talking to a friend about horses.  He had no idea I liked them and he told me he had three boarded across the street from his house.  He invited me over to see them and told me anytime I wanted to spend time with them I could.  I was happy to have the opportunity to be around horses again although purchasing one was not even on my radar.

I went over and met his horses and the barn manager.  He had a pony, a 22 year old ranch horse, and a 6 year old Andalusian mare.  The barn manager and I hit it off, we are actually very good friends now, and I started to spend time grooming the pony and the ranch horse.  I would watch the barn manager with Muneca, the Andalusian mare, but she made me nervous, frankly.  Six year old horse, full of sass and absolutely gorgeous but then something started to change.

I always bring treats to the barn.  There are twelve horses there and they very quickly figured out I had treats when I came over.  So, I started spending time with Muneca. More and more time, in fact, I was starting to have a real connection with her.  I would groom her, talk with her, and started working her. Then my friend announced he was going to sell his horses.  It hit me square in the face, I had to buy Muneca!

So, I did.  I have never in my life felt the soul changing connection with any animal that I have with Muneca.  Sure, I’ve heard people say how they were connected to their animals but I never felt it as strongly as I do with her.  I spent the next six months going back to the basics with her, she had never had a woman owner, as she was bought as a weanling by my friend’s father.  Today, almost two years later I truly feel that it was just meant to be.  I have to be the luckiest woman alive to have finally found my horse soul mate.  I have made arrangements with my oldest to care for her if something happens to me first. Horses can live between 30 and 40 years and I will never sell her!

Every time I go to the barn she gets two peppermints from me, one when I get there and one when I leave.  At Christmas she gets a full candy cane every day for a week because she is my beauty, she deserves it and I love her.  Do you have a special connection with an animal? Do you do anything special for the animals in your life this time of year?

 

47 thoughts on “Ana’s Advent Calendar, Day 16: Christmas with her Horse

  1. rozharrison says:

    What a lovely post, I’m glad you have found your horse soul mate 🙂 My ex and I used to have Siberian Husky dogs that we also used to race. They were my babies and I adored them. They used to get pigs ears (gross I know lol) and other treats at Christmas. Now I have two cats who I adore who also get treats and toys.

    Hugs
    Roz

    Liked by 3 people

    • SH says:

      Thanks, Roz! Siberian Huskies that raced, like the Disney movie ‘Snow Dogs’? That must have been quite a bit of fun! I give my dogs pig ears too, weird treats but they love them 😀 Cats are wonderful too, we have one that is 14 and going strong, yours are lucky to get treats and toys 🙂

      Hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Irishey says:

    Nice story about your love of horses. Is this Julie?Muneca sounds very special.

    I’ve had a Shetland pony, plus a couple other horses, all 3 when I was very young. Horses take a lot of commitment of time and money. Working full time and raising several children – well, I have never had enough time, money or extra energy to feel I could devote it to horses.

    I am retired now, but our lives remain busy and costly with my teens. We hope to travel after D retires, so I suppose that, while I love horses, I don’t think owning another is in my stars.

    Q1 – Do you have a special connection with an animal?

    Our animals become one of the family when they come to live with us. So, yes, special, almost like one of my children, but in different ways. My daughters become best friends with their animals.

    Q2 – Do you do anything special for the animals in your life this time of year?

    We give them little Christmas presents – treats and toys, plus a sweater, coat, leash and/or collar if they need new, and sometimes a new bed or blanket. Right now, we have only one little dog.

    Our dog usually travels with us to visit family. She gets motion sickness and throws up after very short car rides, so we left her with my daughter’s friend once when she was a puppy. She came home with fleas. I don’t want to risk her contacting kennel cough or other contagious diseases or parasites by boarding her, so now she travels with us, on dramamine. That helps a little, but she still has incidents. This gives a different meaning than I think you meant, to doing something special with a pet. 😉

    Liked by 3 people

    • SH says:

      I just realized, Irishey that my name was not anywhere in that post! Oh well, I’m not Julie 😉 And Muneca is very special, thank you!

      I’m sorry you don’t have horses now but I totally understand your reasons why. Your daughters are lucky to be able to bond with their pets that way, makes life special 😀 Your poor little dog, car sick, yikes! I never knew dogs could take Dramamine, I learned something new!

      Hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lynn says:

    Sorry I’ve been MIA. The teen is still in hospital and I’ve now succumbed to a horrible chesty cough.
    We currently have one dog and one chicken (yes, one chicken!) which is the lowest number of pets we’ve had for some time.
    They both get treats at Christmas and the dog has her own Christmas stocking.
    All winter the chicken gets high protein treats like peanuts and mealworms (ugh) to keep her body weight up so she can stay warm. I’m surprised she’s lasted this long without her flock mates and am conscious this Christmas may be her last

    Liked by 3 people

  4. kaisquared4 says:

    What a wonderful horse tale!

    Unfortunately, I have been allergic to anything with fur or feathers since I was tested for severe respiratory problems in first grade. I have owned several carnival gold fish, courtesy of kid’s aim with a ping pong ball, and even a piranha that I bought at a yard sale.

    Last year hubby decided that he had to have a dog again, and bought a short haired miniature dachshund who has now taken over the house. She cannot come into the bedroom or I would really have problems, but she is fun to watch chasing things around the yard and taking for walks outside. I have a low-grade sinus issue since we got her, but so far it is working out.

    For Christmas, she goes caroling with hubby, and he dresses her as Mrs. Claus. Maybe I should get her a spoon…..?

    Liked by 2 people

    • JoanneBest says:

      Kai, Animal allergies are terrible, I have them myself but only certain kinds of cat hair, specifically, Siamese cats of all things! I’m ok as long as I wash my hands before I touch my eyes so it’s not so bad for me as long as I’m careful.

      In case you ever decide you want a snuggle-furball of your own, there are a few dog breeds out there that are allergy-free, if that makes sense 🙂
      I used to work at an animal hospital, my sis-in-law still does, so if you ever decide you do, and your doctor okays it, let me know and I can recommend a few breeds ❤

      Like

  5. SH says:

    So sorry about your allergies, I never could get those little goldfish to live very long hopefully you had better luck 😀 But I did not know they sell Piranha! Seriously?! Now, that is different!

    I’m glad that your able to have a little dog. I bet she is just adorable and dressed up as Mrs. Claus, how cute she must be. I definitely think she should have a wooden spoon!

    Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. pieclown says:

    Hi.

    What a lovely story. I have had several pets that they all were special. This year my cat T had to be but down. He was run over. He lived for 2 weeks we took care of him as best we could. But he stopped eating. He was 15 or so. I currently have a husky. Her name is Dutches..That is how the first owner spelled it.

    She is my 2 husky. My first was Star, She was more wolf then husky.

    I could go on but not healthy. Do want to mention Powder, He was a 18 pound white cat that my ex wife had. Powder adopted me. So went we spilt up Powder stayed

    Pie
    Pie
    4
    Now
    Pieclown

    Liked by 2 people

    • SH says:

      So sorry about your cat,T! It’s never easy to lose a pet. That’s an interesting way to spell, Dutches, it’s cute. How was Star as a pet? I have always wondered about Wolf hybrids.

      18 pound cat, that’s huge and I thought our cat was big lol

      Hugs!

      Like

      • pieclown says:

        My mom worked at a staffing place for nurses. A couple there raise horse dogs and wolves. My mom mentioned that I liked wolves. We got 2 dogs, from them. Both were almost 2 years old. and kennel raised. One was a Irish Setter and the other a wolf. The wolf was just to smart to be kept tied down and she escaped. Never to seen again.
        The setter was high strong and did not act at all like a dog. We had a stray come buy and we kept it. Darby the setter started to calm down. The owners came and got the stray after a few days, but we saw that Darby needed a dog to calm him down. The couple had an an wanted litter. They thought the one dog was too young for pups..Wrong. She had a litter on her 1 year birthday. The father was wolf/husky/malimute. Mom was a golden lab and German Shepard ..We picked up Star and a sister that I gave to a buddy of mine. Star had two different color eyes. One blue, one red/brown. Her coloring was like a shepard, makrings more husky wolf. Temperment(sp(: an 85 pound lap dog

        pie pie 4 now

        Liked by 1 person

    • JoanneBest says:

      Pieclown, sorry about T 😦 when I was a kid my Dad brought a puppy home, Bobo, he was our first dog and we had him 2 weeks before he escaped out the front door and a car ran him over, he was gone on the spot, so my heart goes out to you ❤
      Hugs xox
      ps: glad Powder picked you 😀

      Liked by 2 people

  7. Joelle Casteel says:

    What a sweet story about the horses. I’ve half thought to buy something for the cat I currently have, although in true cat fashion, her favorite toys are invented things (like rice in a plastic capsule). Sighs, if I could figure out a way to bring more money into my household’s finances, I’d go rescue a dog for my dominant; that would be a two-fer gift since my dominant is missing having a dog and we believe in rescuing animals whenever possible.

    Liked by 2 people

    • SH says:

      I agree, cats like the weirdest things and are typically easy to entertain. Does your shelter ever do adoption specials? Ours does at least once a year and they lower the adoption fee to around $25 which is about $60 cheaper. I think they should all do that because it would certainly help to get the poor babies out of the shelter. I hope a dog is in your future soon 🙂

      Hugs!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Joelle Casteel says:

        It’s all the pet expenses once you bring them home- food, vet trips, etc- that are the concern because yup, our local shelter does specials. Right now the biggest thing, other than money, is what my dominant feels that He can’t handle; it’s been about a year since our 13 year old dog passed and before her, we had another dog pass (he was a Newfoundland mix surrended to the pound as already a senior. He had panic attacks and kennel depression.) Then He looks at me as already overwhelmed with too much so we have “no puppies that aren’t house trained, no special needs, no seniors.” Because my Master watched me through those last two dogs, where I had to feed one a special diet and gave him prozac and the other that needed doggie diapers and pee pads when her bladder gave before she passed in her sleep.

        Liked by 2 people

  8. sarah b says:

    absolutely loved this posting about horses! as a kid, I always wanted a horse and had a plan on how to convince my folks we could have one if only they’d let me fence in our tiny yard in the middle of town. lol ! I never got one, but have always marveled at their beauty and gentle power. A friend of mine in Illinois has a Clydesdale. He is so very tall, gentle and sweet. I got to feed him carrots a few times. Never got to ride him but I saw my friend riding him a few times. She took him to horse shows in the past, but now he resides on their farm living a wonderful life. I recall I could bend at the waist and stand under him, he’s so very tall!
    thank you for sharing your experiences with horses and the relationship you’ve had with them through the years.

    Liked by 2 people

    • SH says:

      Thank you, Sarah! They are truly amazing animals. Your friend is so lucky! It’s been a dream of mine to own a draft horse, there are many different breeds of them, Clydesdale being one. Drafts are the largest breeds, gentle giants 😀 I don’t know if I will ever accomplish this goal because I have plans to breed my mare within the next two years. My husband said to me, “Oh good you can sell the foal and make some money” I looked at him and said “Do you even know me?!” He sighed. Ha!!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. sarah b says:

    also, Ana, I love the snow that drifts across the screen. I’m not often on a laptop when I view the blog, but I am tonight. such a lovely technical but wintery fun thing to add.

    love it!

    Liked by 2 people

  10. JoanneBest says:

    Thank you for such a lovely post, I hate to admit I’ve never been on a horse (I walked away for a second and came back to find a comment box full of random text I had to delete, courtesy of my Siamese William sitting on the keyboard 😛 ).
    Back to horses, the love you feel for horses shines through each word and reinforces my determination to get my butt on a horse sometime soon.
    Surprisingly to some, New Jersey has quite a few horses in some sections, and I live rather close to Freehold Raceway where horseracing rules, again, ashamed to say I’ve never been. Yet. 😛 There is a place a few miles away where you can go and ride a horse for a few hours, it’s on our list of things to do but I’m afraid I might have to go on a pony or an extremely gentle horse, while in my dreams I’d be riding like the wind with my hair blowing in the breeze, but in reality, I have to be careful I don’t mess up my back or neck, they’ve already been through enough :O

    In answer to your questions, yes, I definitely feel a special connection with more than one of my cats, as well as cats that have passed.
    My Delilah was a stray that wandered into our apartment hallway years ago, she was a baby herself but when I took her to the vet for shots etc we discovered the poor little girl was carrying a litter! She had 4 kittens, and since I named her Delilah after Freddie Mercury’s cat, I named each of the 4 kitties after a member of Queen. I was able to find homes for all 4 at the NJ shore and Delilah stayed with me until she was approximately 18 years old and died in my arms.
    The following Christmas I opened a box, told to hurry and open it and out popped 2 kittens, sisters who both looked like Delilah! I named them Drusilla and Anyanka and as they grew, Dru turned into a clone of Delilah in looks and personality, my heart told me it was my Delilah come back to me in Dru’s body ❤
    I also had a special connection with Mr. Big, a Blue Lynx Point Siamese we rescued after some idiot moved away and left their cat behind, all alone 😦
    Until the day he passed, he followed me around like I was the love of his life 😀 He'd climb on me, arrange himself in my arms with his belly exposed and he'd stare up at me lovingly, his little paws reaching up and touching my face like he owned me, he'd stare at my mouth as I'd speak too, hubby would joke around and say Mr. Big was trying to steal his wife lol
    Even funnier, at least to me, is Mr. Big insisted on sleeping inbetween the hubby and me all the time 😀 Losing him was terrible, as is losing any pet.
    We're really into Siamese cats and after we lost Blum (don't ask, we have no idea how he ended up with that name lol) at the age of 24 years, we finally got William, who just turned 1 in September so he's still in the kitten phase sometimes but no matter what he does, no matter how many hair ties he steals, how much he insists on sitting on my laptop and his every morning habit of waking me up with his loud meow, I love him to pieces. He always makes me laugh, and he follows me around everywhere. The other morning I told him he had to wait till the dogs were fed until he could eat and he very clearly said "uh oh" 😀
    Plus William is the first cat I ever had who plays fetch, chasing after his toy mice and bringing them back over and over until he's done playing.
    He has this weird habit I've never seen, he insists on dropping his mice in his water bowl between fetches, it was funny the first few times, okay, it's still funny but sometimes he drops them on the bed soaked, and I have to get a hair dryer to dry the blankets 😛
    When he's through playing, he leaves the mouse either in my slipper or shoe, sometimes in his food bowl.

    We always include all animals in our Christmas celebration, 2 dogs and 3 cats all get their own little stockings filled with treats and wrapped toys which they unwrap themselves, well the dogs do, the cats make us do the unwrapping 🙂

    I love the dogs as much as the cats, but they really belong to my sis-in-law, I'm just Aunt Joanne 😀 but I love them to pieces, even when Jasper gets into the cat food literally, as the other day he tried to be sneaky and wound up running around the house blind because the catfood bag got stuck on his head 😀

    I don't know if it's partly because I have no children, but my kitties are my babies, and while I never even knew a cat until I met my hubby, I have since become the Cat Whisperer and I wouldn't have it any other way ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Irishey says:

      Many years ago, we took in 3 kittens that school staff found living outside at the middle school. The mother stopped coming back to feed them, but they were too little to be weaned. After ensuring the mother really was not going to return, a teacher eventually brought them inside, and one of my dd’s brought them home the next day.

      Another of my dd’s and I loved the Buffy-verse (still do – sshhh!) 😉 So, I named them Anya, Xander and Spike – they fit the general look and personalities!

      I bought kitten milk from the vet, and dug out the little syringe thingies with soft nipples I had used to feed baby bunnies whose mother tried to eat them. We took turns feeding by hand until they learned to lick-lap their milk instead of wade in the saucer of it.

      I adore kittens, but we already had several pets at the time, including an indoor cat and dog that were disinclined to share their people with the new little interlopers. I was afraid they would get hurt or killed because there was no good solution to trying to keep them separated when nobody was home.

      Meanwhile, the entire menagerie was tearing through the house, being chased or chasing. Yes, the fur flew on a few occasions, and a lot was knocked over and broken – straight out of Sunnydale! We eventually found them good homes. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  11. SH says:

    Thanks, Joanne! Just a couple of helpful hints if you do decide to go for a ride, don’t go when the place first opens for the season as the horses will be barn sour, I’m sure, as they have not been ridden much during the winter and make sure you tell them you have never ridden. They, hopefully, will give you a nice gentle soul. You will enjoy it, there’s nothing like it 😀 Yeah, I’m biased lol

    Your cats sound fantastic!! I have always loved cats, my husband hated them (he thought but that was just his mother talking lol), and I have always owned them. I didn’t get my first Siamese until about 20 years ago and I never knew how different they were from other breeds! They are very special and unique. In fact, we have the granddaughter of that cat still, she is 14 years old this year 😀

    You sound like an awesome Cat Whisperer!!

    Hugs!

    Like

    • JoanneBest says:

      Thank you for the hints Sandra, I will definitely follow them (and probably ask for more now that I know I should wait till winter is over, I’ll either hit you up on FB or see you around at a springtime event 🙂 )

      I’m so happy you mentioned the way Siamese are different they are from other breeds! Hubby always had Siamese cats since he was a kid and it wasn’t until we got our own that I realized how true it is! He says they’re either aliens or cats with human brains lol , but it’s crazy how smart they are, and surprisingly more social than any of our tabbys or the calico we had.
      It’s so cool you have the Granddaughter of your first Siamese! After we lost our first Siamese, we got Blum from the same breeder so even though they were from different litters they had the same Parents.

      And I myself forgot to say before, hugs ❤ xox

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Sassytwatter says:

    Lovely post! Horses are the most amazing animals. I grew up riding starting at the age of 2 and have owned a horse most of my life. There are several that hold a special spot in my heart that I still think about. I loved reading about the different horses and he relationships you have with them. Sadly I lost my horse a year and half ago. He had a heart attack on my due date. Even writing it now my eyes are filled with tears. I went down to see him one last time and had a hard time letting them take his body. I am so sad he never got to meet my daughter. I have exposed her to horses since she’s been born but I still find it hard to go to the barn. I hope that she one day loves horses as much as I do and we can get back into riding togther. Thank you
    For sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

    • SH says:

      Oh, Sassy I can feel your pain! I am so sorry for your loss and so sorry he didn’t get to meet your daughter! I hope your daughter loves them as much as you do as she gets older! My oldest and my youngest love them, my middle two can take them or leave them, sigh. But my grandbabies absolutely love them. They come to the barn to ride the pony and now my grandson, who will be three next month, wants to ride Grammy’s big horse, it makes me smile 🙂

      I hope you and your daughter can ride together someday and I hope you find a truly special horse for you both!

      Hugs!

      Like

    • JoanneBest says:

      Oh Sassy! I’m so sorry for your loss ❤
      Unless you are an animal lover, it's hard to understand the bond between a pet and it's owner (although I sometimes think the pet owns us 🙂 )

      Reading your post somehow brought to mind my Mom, who hated cats since she was a child and saw her sister's face ripped apart by a stray cat… not hated, it was more that she was scared so she stayed away from them. When they lost the house from Hurricane Irene my Parents had to move in with us for awhile, 2 dogs and 3 cats and before you knew it, one of our cats was sleeping at my Mom's feet every night ❤
      Mom reluctantly became a cat lover after that 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  13. renee200 says:

    Hey Sandy, such a lovely story. As you know we are horse lovers although we can’t own any. We do ride whenever we can. We have cats five actually which is tooo many. They each get a stocking for Christmas and some Christmas dinner in their bowls that night. They were supposed to be one for each kid but two of the cats have adopted me instead of the kids.Thanks for your great post. Blessings. R

    Liked by 1 person

    • SH says:

      Thank you, Renee! I know you love horses and I so wish you were able to own one of your very own. Maybe one day, who knows 😉 Sounds like you have five spoiled cats which is wonderful! They get Christmas dinner, sheesh, they are very lucky! We have two which is enough for me lol

      Hugs!

      Like

  14. catrouble says:

    Thank you for your lovely story, Sandy. I love animals and have always had them as long as I can remember. There have been more than a few special ones because they all become members of the family. Breaks my heart when we lose them.

    Right now, I have two house cats that I adopted and one that was dumped here in the country as a kitten and went feral…I worked to socialize him (named him Skittish) and he lived in my garage…my one inside cat didn’t not want to let him come in. Anyway, someone shot him several weeks ago…luckily, he survived and I now have him living in my basement until he is fully healed. Am afraid to let him outside so after he’s healed, will see if I can work with the 3 cats to get along so that he can live in the house.

    Hugs and blessings…Cat

    Liked by 1 person

    • SH says:

      Thank you, Cat! Animals have always held a special place in my heart too! Your poor Skittish! He has not had an easy time, well except for the time he was lucky to get rescued by you, but someone shot him?! I can’t even believe that, how sad! I hope your other cats will accept him and he can live inside after he’s well. Poor baby, I’d be afraid to let him outside too 😦

      Hugs!

      Like

  15. Laura says:

    This was a terrific post. I read it twice! In answer to your first question, we only had birds when I was living with my parents. The same brother who renamed my parents trained them to to walk behind him, halt on command and several other tricks. Fast forward – hubby always had dogs and so for Christmas 8 1/2 years ago we surprised him with a Boxer. He had always wanted a dog of this breed and Christmas being a time when far-fetched wishes do come true – how could I not make this happen. To say he was surprised, excited and over the moon would be an understatement. Being humongous ND fans he was named Brady Quinn. Brady’s fav definitely was my husband(they went everywhere together). When K passed, Brady was inconsolable. He laid by the door waiting for him to walk in. If we mentioned him by name he raced through the house looking for him. Brady wouldn’t eat so we took turns hand feeding him by hand until almost 8 weeks later when he got up from the floor and laid down at our feet. While a sad tale I can’t tell you how much joy he brings us with his antics and personality. He was partially responsible for us being able to heal from this tragedy. And in answer to question 2 absolutely he gets a huge stocking, treats that my daughter wraps and then unwraps for him and he then goes with us to my sister’s house and gets more treats. We spoil him terribly and wouldn’t have it any other way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • SH says:

      Thanks, Laura! Birds are beautiful! So, in your post when you say ‘brother who renamed my parents trained them to walk behind them…’ do you mean your birds? Just asking but your sentence as it’s written is soo funny!

      I am sorry for your loss! It’s obvious you have a great dog! It’s so sad when animals grieve but they surely do feel losses as well. I’m so happy he was able to help your family heal. 😀 He deserves to be spoiled, no doubt!

      Hugs!

      Like

  16. Monica Wiant says:

    Beautiful blog. I spent much of my childhood drawing pictures of horses and daydreaming about having one, but I’ve never come close. When I was 11, my teenaged brother dated a girl whose family owned a ranch. On one visit, she took us out riding. Something spooked my horse, and he took off running. I held on through an exhilarating ride, then fell off when he stopped. My first instinct was to cry and run to my mother, but I knew if she found out, I’d never be allowed to ride again. So I took a deep breath, dusted myself off, and never spoke of it again. When my brother broke up with that girl, my heart broke along with hers. I wanted them to get married, so I’d have horse access forever.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. SH says:

    Thanks, Monica! Horses are interesting animals and because of their size people don’t always realize that a horse is a prey animal and it’s first instinct is to run from danger. There are different types of spooks but it sounds like the horse you were on spooked and then bolted. Not fun and you were young! I wouldn’t have told my mother either because not being able to ride again would have been awful.

    I hope one day you can have a horse of your own if you still want one 🙂

    Hugs!

    Like

  18. awesomesub says:

    Hi Sandy, I enjoyed reading about your love for horses, and it is wonderful to see what a special connection you and Muneca have. As a kid I had several pets and loved them all, especially our family dog, but when he died my parents didn’t want another one. Some relatives still have dogs and I enjoy when I get the chance to play with them, but we are currently without pets. We want to have a dog, though, to help guard the family, and I’d love to have a cute little cat. 🙂

    hugs

    Nina

    Liked by 1 person

  19. SH says:

    Thank you, Nina! I’m glad you had pets growing up! I believe it’s important for children to have that experience. I really didn’t, we had a cat for a while, and considering my love of animals it was not what I wanted. But when I married and started having children that all changed. I made sure my children grew up with pets, we had dogs, cats, chickens, goats, horses, snakes, lizards, fish, birds, rabbits, hamsters and pet rats 😀 I hope you get a wonderful dog and a cute, cute kitten. 😀

    Hugs!

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

