Ana’s Advent Calendar, Day 25: 4th Annual Fireside Chat with Kat and Natalie

advent card red tree

  • Sign up sheet (to play)
  • Main Page
  • Artwork PageToday’s post is a continuation of a tradition begun the first year of Ana’s Advent Calendar. My first contracted book was The Way Home, a story of two women who met as college roommates. Of course, there was spanking involved. 😀 Shy, motherless Kat and bold, popular Natalie then launched a short story as well as a sequel. Their short stories appeared on Kat-Sitting, the original blog.As a matter of fact, those of you who knew me “way back when” remember when Kat-Sitting contained all of the Kat and Natalie stories! I told their story a little at a time, never expecting to be approached about publication. And thus began the journey of a naughty author. :DFor those of you who are new to the Kat and Natalie universe, here’s a quick crib sheet:

    Kat comes from a poor farming family. Her mother died of cancer when Kat was a teenager, and Kat grew up with much-older brothers and a father with dementia.

    Natalie is the daughter of a well-to-do banker and the past president of every philanthrophic organization in the area. She’s the older sister of a much-younger slightly bratty brother, and she took care of her mother after Mama Jane (a crowd favorite) almost died from a miscarriage.

    Natalie’s practical, business-oriented, confident…and loves to spank. Kat’s afraid of her own shadow, scared she’s not wanted, and (as an adult) cynical about the goodness of life. But when they meet as college first-years, well…here’s a little snippet from The Way Home

    A dark-haired girl is sitting on one of the beds, surrounded by matching floral suitcases and a rainbow of crates set up on one side of the room. Around the window, she has put up a fake curtain made from contact paper. On her desk sits a vase filled with poppies and encircled with a red ribbon around the neck.

    I clear my throat and croak, “Are you Natalie?”

    The girl drops the books she is sorting, and she springs to a standing position. Her eyes take in my suitcases before she asks, “Oh… oh! Yes. So, are you Katherine?”

    “It’s Kat,” I say, trying not to blush. It is time that I lost my baby name. Katie sounds cute and perky, two things I am not.

    Of course, Miss Natalie finds a wooden spoon and a way to use it. 😀 But for the rest of the story, you’ll have to check out Kat-Sitting, The Way Home, Coming to Terms, and Lighting the Way.

    For earlier chats, you can follow these links:

    3rd Annual Fireside Chat

    2nd Annual Fireside Chat

    1st Annual Fireside Chat

4th Annual Fireside Chat with Kat and Natalie

Kat: So, we have a bone to pick with you, Ana.

Ana: Wait, what? Hello and welcome back to Ana’s Advent Calendar to you, too. Since when do you boss me around?

Natalie (clearing her throat): What Kat means…well, Kat means we have a bone to pick with you.

Ana: There’s no turkey at my house for Christmas! I’ve never liked the taste. If you want to pick bones, you’ll have to find somewhere else to go.

Kat (grinning): She’s touchy, isn’t she Natty?

Ana (grumbling): Remember when you were a shy, sweet little thing and everyone jumped to defend you from big mean old Natalie?

Natalie: Excuse me!

Ana: You know how many people think you’re too strict with Kat.

(Kat and Natalie exchange a smile, and Natalie covers Kat’s hand with her own.)

Natalie: Well, you’ve invited us to your Advent Calendar for four years now, including this one. We’ve watched you share time with old and new friends. We’ve also enjoyed getting to meet new authors and readers.

Kat: But we wanted a story of Elf Pizelle again this year. Isn’t she coming back?

Natalie: We thoroughly enjoyed Lynn’s tale of you getting your comeuppance—

Ana: That was not me! Lynn had no right to—

Natalie: A good spanking now and then would help you relax and get some rest. Right, Kat?

(Natalie squeezes Kat’s hand. Kat dips her head and blushes.)

Kat: I don’t know what you mean.

(Natalie pats the top of Kat’s thigh.)

Natalie: You don’t? Shall I clarify?

Kat (turning bright red): No, thank you!

Ana: Ah, there’s the Kat and Natalie we all know and love. Are you planning to torment your beloved for Christmas again this year, Natalie?

Natalie: I do not torment Kat!

Kat: You gave me a wooden spoon for Christmas last year, remember?

Ana: Ooh, a wooden spoon! You lucky, lucky girl. What kind?

Kat (mumbling): A nasty, evil one that should be thrown into the nearest bonfire.

(Natalie grins and takes Kat by the elbow)

Natalie: Oh, it’s been too long since you’ve gotten more than maintenance or a reminder spanking. Please do continue sassing so I’ll have reason to deal with you after we get home.

Kat (sighing): See what I have to put up with?

Natalie (putting her arm around Kat’s shoulder): See what I have to put up with?

Ana (hiding a smile): I think I’ll stay out of that one. I got the most beautiful wooden spoon Christmas tree ornaments, though. They’re almost too pretty to put on the tree. And you should be glad it wasn’t another hairbrush or paddle, Kat.

Natalie: There you go, spoiling her surprise for this year.

(Natalie gives Kat an evil grin)

Kat: I refuse to answer that!

Natalie: Oh yes, sweetie. Keep refusing. Throw in a sulk or foot-stomp, too. Maybe Ana will write a story about Elf Pizelle bringing me a wonderful new paddle to deal with my headstrong girl.

Kat (trying her best to look cross but giggling instead): As long as we get some more of those wonderful sugar cookies. Besides, Natty, pride goes before a fall. Keep on your power trip. The worm’ll turn pretty soon.

Natalie (standing up and taking Kat by the elbow while planting a palm across the seat of her jeans): We’ll be doing some turning, missy, only it’ll be me turning you over my knee for a good, old-fashioned Christmas spanking.

Ana: Wait! How’s nursing school, Kat? Are you going to take the promotion you were offered, Natalie? Your parents must be thrilled you might be closer to them. And how’s your neighbor Lily doing? Is she home from the hospital and rehab yet? I heard you made friends with her daughter, Kat. Everyone has so many questions for you both. You can’t leave yet.

Kat (dodging Natalie’s swat): Sorry, Ana! I’d stay to answer, but meanie-pants here is getting all handsy. Can we take a raincheck?

Natalie: If the adoption ever goes through, which we’re starting to think won’t happen this side of heaven, we could use the extra income. But we love Naperville, so it’s a hard decision. Kat, don’t you dare try to run away!

Ana: Come back! We haven’t gotten to talk about anything yet. Don’t you have anything to say to the nice readers who came to chat with you?

Kat: Sorry, Ana. Maybe next year.

Natalie: Oh, okay. Maybe a question or two.

Don’t forget there are free stories available on Kat-Sitting, as well as the two full-length books.

 The-Way-Home

The Way Home (Kat and Natalie, Volume One)

Natalie always wanted a little sister.  Kat didn’t know she was allowed to want anything…or anyone.
Kat, a shy farmgirl, arrives at her freshman dorm with a backpack, a suitcase, and her mother’s wish for Kat to attend college “at least until you get married”. Her roommate Natalie, a confident and fun-loving social butterfly, decides sight unseen that Kat will become her best friend for life. Natalie teaches Kat about college life, academics, and friendship by taking Kat under her wing…and over her knee.

Then their lives fall apart one fateful night on campus, and for the rest of the decade Kat and Natalie struggle to find their way back to each other. Their way home.

Buy links

All Romance: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-thewayhome-1100667-148.html
Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/Way-Home-Kat-Natalie-Book-ebook/dp/B00BPFHGT2
Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-way-home-anastasia-vitsky/1114767813?ean=2940016350561
Blushing: http://www.blushingbooks.com/index.php?l=product_detail&p=2765

Lighting-the-Way

Lighting the Way (Kat and Natalie, Volume Two)

College roommates, best friends, and family. Can Kat and Natalie find a way to stay together…without killing each other?

Kat Astra knows one thing: everything is her fault. A dead-end job. A fear of confrontation. An inability to speak up when necessary. Desertion of her best friend in her time of need.

Natalie Mestecom knows one thing too: everything Kat does is Natalie’s fault. The relationship rule is simple; Kat has problems, and Natalie fixes them. But what worked in adolescence becomes more complicated with adulthood, and new developments in their relationship challenge these roles. Kat is no longer sure whether she is willing to be disciplined according to Natalie’s rules, and Natalie is no longer sure whether she is worthy of Kat’s trust.

Can Natalie allow herself to be vulnerable? Can Kat believe in her own strength? Can Natalie believe in Kat’s strength? How will they, each in their own way, learn to move beyond guilt and blame in order to forge a new relationship together? In order to make peace with themselves and each other, Kat and Natalie reconnect with family, re-visit memories of their past, and make plans for taking steps forward in the future. To light their way home.

Buy links:

All Romance: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-lightingtheway-1219042-177.html
Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/Lighting-Way-Kat-Natalie-Book-ebook/dp/B00D7NQHZ4
Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/lighting-the-way-anastasia-vitsky/1115519362?ean=2940016679440
Blushing: http://www.blushingbooks.com/index.php?l=product_detail&p=2766

 

 

54 thoughts on “Ana’s Advent Calendar, Day 25: 4th Annual Fireside Chat with Kat and Natalie

  1. Julie says:

    Woo-hoo!! We have a Kat-Sighting! (Hi Kat!)

    It’s going to be a BEAUTIFUL day!!

    Hmm, Ana, I seem to remember almost *no one* coming to Kat’s defense in the early days. In fact, I think most people – a certain author possibly included? 🙂 – seemed to think Natalie didn’t spank Kat nearly often or hard enough.

    But *I* was ALWAYS there for you, Kat. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lynn says:

    Welcome back ladies, it’s great to see you both again ❤️
    I’m so glad you liked the story, Natalie. It was quite popular, funnily enough 😊
    Hey, if the adoption doesn’t work out, you should get yourselves a kitty. Little Lynnie has two mischievous siblings 😉

    Liked by 4 people

  3. SH says:

    It’s been a minute since we’ve caught up with the ladies, it’s wonderful to see them again!! Kat is as sweet and sassy as ever and Natalie is still Natalie 😉 I think Natalie is perfect the way she is but I’m a #teamgracie kinda girl too 😀

    Merry Christmas!!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. awesomesub says:

    Hi Kat, Natalie and Ana. I am glad you had some time for your fireside chat. Wonderful to see you again have fun together. But I cannot really believe that anybody seriously considers Natalie too strict, after all, even Kat smiles about Nat’s care and occasional warnings and swats. Sounds like a lot of loving care to me. 🙂 I enjoyed seeing how relaxed you all are here. … Team Gracie still rules! 😀

    hugs

    Nina

    Liked by 1 person

  5. JoanneBest says:

    Oh! Ana and Nat and Kat, oh my! {breaks into happy dance}
    I’m so excited you’re all here! I wrote a whole bunch of words this morning before my doctor appointment then lost them somewhere in cyber-space when I got home 😦
    So now my brain won’t give them back to me so allow me to say Merry Christmas to some of my very favorite people in the entire world ❤
    I too wish Elf Pizelle was here, and Nat, I don't know how you'll make the choice between moving nearer your Family and staying right where you are now… my heart tells me you and Kat will get your bundle of joy sooner than you think, and while it would be wonderful to get that job promotion and make more money and be closer to your family, Lily and her daughter would miss you so much!
    It's a hard choice, between friends and family but you have to do what's best for *you* ❤
    Kat, a word of advice, try to keep your tongue behind your teeth so you can think about what you're going to say before you say it, I'm speaking from experience 😀
    Although you get a spanking for being mouthy so I can understand why it's not easy to keep quiet 😉
    What? Like I'm the only one? 😀
    Merry Christmas and all the love and hugs! I'm sorry I lost my original (well thought out, well written) response…. perhaps there should be a wooden spoon in *my* future. And cookies. 😛
    xox

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Irishey says:

    As I reached the end of this fireside chat, all I could think was, Ana is a tease.

    And, she blamed it on Kat and Nat. Tsk, Tsk.

    Hmmmm… What to do about that?

    Oh! Never mind. You-know-who is keeping an eye on these posts. Poor Ana.

    It was so good to see you again, Kat and Nat! Hugs, and Merry Christmas!!

    Liked by 3 people

  7. pieclown says:

    Hello Ladies, To be honest, the past fired side chats have left me cold. This one warmed my soul a little. The idea of one creations, turning on their creator, as a certain Shelley-ism about it. Lucky for poor tired Ana the two interest in each other, as a true couple should.

    I do hope you are taking care or you self Ana, Be sick at the holidays is not fun.

    pie pie 4 now

    Like

  8. catrouble says:

    Hey Kat and Nat…long time no see! Wow Kat…you are getting a bit mouthy aren’t you…and you know how well that works out…especially when you do it in front of others! I agree though…would love to see Elf Pizelle come visit and give Ana some ‘attention’. 😉 Ya know she’s been under so much stress, she does need some stress relief and I have it on good authority that wooden spoons are a suitable instrument for that. 😉 Have a wonderful and very Merry Christmas.

    Hugs and blessings…Cat

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I’m not sure having an audience matters too much to Natalie. She’ll take care of misbehavior no matter what. 🙂

      I shall ignore other naughtiness from you! Sounds like more than one K/Cat needs a good spanking.

      Like

  9. Laura says:

    What a wonderful way to finish up my day! It was so nice to see a Nat and Kat again. Oh and just the thought of Elf Pizelle stopping by has me giddy. 🎉🎊🎉🎊🎉

    Like

  10. renee200 says:

    So glad Kat and Natalie were able to join us again this year. It is lovely to hear from them again. Looking forward to Elf Pizelle again. Although I will admit that I really enjoyed Lynn’s Elf Ana a whole lot. Blessings. R

    Liked by 1 person

  11. JoanneBest says:

    Hey. I just noticed something as I came here this morning in desperate search for more Advent Calendar.
    Dearest Ana umm, Ma’am, you *do* realize that you need to go to sleep earlier than nearly 1am in the morning or Kristi- I mean Mrs. Clause *might* consider that Naughty-List worthy because she knows when you’ve been sleeping and she knows when you’re awake and lets face it, Mrs. Claus rules the roost and Santa is just a figurehead who gets all the press 😉
    I don’t want this Advent Calendar to end {sulk, pout, foot-stomping, hands on hips *while* foot stomping, trying to understand how in the world I’ll survive until next Christmas without a regimented, controlled (for me 😛 ) environment }

    Merry Christmas Dearest Ana ❤ Merry Christmas to you and Kat and Nat and Trinity and Graciela and Mira and Hana and Gemma and Celine and Leila and Carene and Ciera and Audra and Ana and Miranda and (not Peyton, sorry, but not Peyton 😀 ) and, and Vina and Talia and Kira and Sonna and Hyunkyung (sp?) and Indi and the Labraun Family and Clissine and Sharie and, and, and… okay, I did that by memory and don't want to cheat and go looking but I think I got just about everyone, and if I didn't mention your name, dearest Ana creations, that doesn't mean you're on the naughty list, it just means I slept late this morning and haven't consumed enough tea yet 😛

    Oh drats, I don't want this to end 😦
    Is there a post today, Christmas Eve? (every single finger behind my back double crossed and all my toes and yes, even my legs are crossed 😛 )

    I'll check in later because, I can't quit you! (I know that's a movie line, just don't know what movie lol)

    Watch me leave. Yep, I'm walking away and leaving this page for now. Yes I am. Slowly backing away and getting ready to open another tab and- what? I know I'm not the only one who keeps this page open all day and just hits 'refresh' thru the day 😛 Yes Ma'am I'm going elsewhere for now, uh-huh, I'm running away and umm, going to look for stuff on the interweb and finish Christmassy things, yep, look at me run away and – darn it! I don't wanna go and I don't want this to end! {stomps foot, folds arms in front and shakes head 'no' }
    🙂
    ❤ xox and all kinds of hugs and stuff and a threat, I'll be back to read more, so actually that's not really a threat but more of a promise and I'll shut up now 😛

    All the love and hugs and joy and huge boxes full of uninterrupted sleep for you Dearest Ana, but you're not getting rid of me that fast { because, FB 😛 }
    Cheerio and be back soon ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Sassytwatter says:

    Where’s today’s post?! Hope everything is ok with our. And thank you so much for all your hard amazing work doing advent!! Hugs and kisses!

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

