The Little Moments: De-Stuff My Life

Okay, so I can’t count.

Also, I can’t edit or proofread when I’m tired.

Apologies for the errors in yesterday’s post. Also apologies for not replying to comments the day before yesterday. I’m home after a long, difficult day, and I should be doing any number of things. Sleep, for one. Preparing food to pack for tomorrow’s meals (breakfast, lunch, AND dinner) for another.

Instead, I’m cuddled up (again) in my favorite pajamas. Listing with fatigue, but determined to carve out a small bit of today for me.

Just me.

This morning, I woke up too early. I could have used another hour of sleep, but my body said no. I didn’t plan on doing much, and in fact I thought I deserved some computer game or other goofing off time.

Instead, I cooked myself breakfast. Packed it. Prepared a lunch. Packed that, too. Threw together odds and ends for a packed dinner.

Cleaned out most of my dresser and sorted through clothes.

Found out I’ve lost a little weight.

Did a happy dance!

Still made it out the door on time for a long day.

Had a wonderful first half of the day.

Then encountered some more negativity. (I could have used clothes that doubled as armor, as Natasha said!) Rudeness. Entitlement. Blame and anger.

It was a difficult night, but I was pleasant and distant. (It’s a skill that’s taken me a long time to master.)

Then, on the way home (close to 11 PM), I stopped by the gas station. This is the huge gas station where the employees have always been helpful, professional, and appropriate.

Let’s just say the particular employee I encountered was none of the three.

After a difficult night and a long day in a long week, I had a hard time. I wasn’t mad or frustrated, but it was a quiet sort of helpless wishing that everything would go away.

Then the store manager appeared.

He dropped his current task to physically walk over to take care of the problem (embarrassingly, it was due to my user error). He apologized and said he would address the issue. He even offered to give me a cup of coffee or a drink, but I said that wasn’t necessary. I appreciated the offer, of course, but I didn’t need something tangible.

I needed someone to be humane and treat me like a human being.

I drove away renewed in my faith in humanity.

I noticed his name tag, and I’m going to look for contact information for the store. People like that remind us why we keep on when the keeping on gets rough.

Thank you, gas station manager. What you do matters, and it touched the life of this customer.

4 thoughts on “The Little Moments: De-Stuff My Life

  1. awesomesub says:

    Hi Ana, I am sorry that you had to deal with so much negativity. That is awful and I am glad that this manager was there to brighten your day/night a little bit. I can only give you hugs in the comments, but when you feel down I’d love you to remember that there are miscreants who care for you.

    hugs and ❤

    Nina

    Like

  2. rozharrison says:

    Hi Ana, aww, I am so sorry you had such a difficult day/night and encountered more negativity. That is truly awful and I feel for you. I’m so glad that the gas station manager was so wonderful and helpful and kind. Acts like that really do restore your faith in humanity.

    ((Hugs))
    Roz

    Like

  3. catrouble says:

    Sorry you had to deal with negative BS, Ana but happy it ended on a positive note with the manager. Sending lots of positive energy and good thoughts your way.

    Hugs and blessings…Cat

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

