On healing wounds

Last week, I did something I’ve done hundreds of times before in my life:

I took hot food out of the oven.

Not that difficult, right?

IMG_1004

Except, well, my arm brushed against the side of the oven. Not the oven rack, which has happened before, but the wall. I didn’t realize it at the time and thought an ice cube for a few minutes would take care of the problem.

(I’d show more photos, but my phone and computer aren’t cooperating. If you’re curious, you can visit my Instagram for photos.)

Almost a week later, thanks to my allergies to everything under the sun, I’m swathed in antibiotic cream, Telfa, mesh bandaging, and rolled gauze. Plus tape.

IMG_0999

Before I had the rolled gauze, I had to resort to using the top of a sock to keep the bandaging in place. Quite the fashion statement! Since I’m wearing navy blue today, the gray-topped sock had to go. Obviously. 😀

I’ve still been uncomfortable, but healing wounds itch. It’s a good sign, right? Still, it’s lucky the dressing has kept me from scratching off the newly formed skin. (That may or may not have happened the first night, waking me with the pain.)

In the meantime, I took a trip to the local church music store.

IMG_0968.JPG

It was a charming, old-fashioned affair, more reminiscent of a music library than a place of business. Someone had been kind enough to set aside a stack of violin books for me, and I took almost an hour choosing one for my current skill level (which is abysmal).

IMG_1005

After much deliberation, I chose this one. Oh, Mel Bay. Is it a little embarrassing to play a Mel Bay arrangement when I used to work on concert pieces? Yes, but this is what happens after a seven-year hiatus. There were prettier arrangements beyond my ability (for now, I hope!), but this looked both manageable and somewhat pleasing to the ear.

If the arrangements are clunky, at least my stiff hands and arms can manage them. If my playing is clunky, at least the music is stolid enough to withstand the beginner-level notes.

How Great Thou Art, or O Store Gud, has a serviceable arrangement. Not a great one for violin (flats are hard for a beginner, and I am a second-time-around beginner). But I picked up my violin, tuned, and played.

And played.

I made it well past the mark of last time when I could barely play half a page before my arms ached. My vibrato’s too tight, my bow hits the wrong strings occasionally, and I hurry when I should let my bow sweep deep and resonant through the long, low notes.

And yet…

I’m playing.

With a sore, bandaged arm.

With a father back on a respirator and still struggling to breathe.

In the midst of everlasting drama and difficulties.

My arm itches madly, and I remind myself.

The itch is good.

Discomfort means the wound is healing.

Will my father recover? No one knows. But I can pick up my violin, saw through rudimentary tunes, and lose myself in the wonder of music.

How great Thou art.

 

 

11 thoughts on “On healing wounds

  1. laurellasky says:

    I had a similar burn, same way as you. I ended up getting debridment and wound care for two weeks and every day at the Drs. Office. I took eight months of piano lessons a few years aga and can play simple light classical music. One of my favorites is Jesu, desiring of man and Halayluya (excuse my terrible h
    Spelling) I find that playing calms me down and lifts me up. The itching and discomfort you feel means it’s healing and you should be fine soon. Continuing with prayers and thoughts for you and your father.

    Like

  2. Marybeth says:

    Itching is not always a good thing. I had a wound that itched terribly. My husband told me it was a good sign, it was healing. After 2 days, it was time to take off the bandages and clean the area. It was infected. I found out that I’m allergic to steri-strips. The fibers that are on the strip are silk and I’m allergic to silk. After two further surgeries to fix the first incision, it’s good. But, I would check it to make sure!
    And on the violin, I have three violists. Love listening to them. You give me hope they’ll take it back up some day!

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Sigh. I may have something similar. I did take off bandages earlier in the day but thought the bumpy shininess was due to antibiotic cream. Turns out my skin had a massive tantrum. Can’t tell if it’s heat rash, reaction to the Telfa pads, or worse. The thought of needing surgery terrifies me!

      I never wanted to give up my violin…a “friend” was supposed to take care of my violin for two months while I was traveling. It took six years to get it back. 😦

      Like

  3. awesomesub says:

    Hi Ana, I am sorry that there are so many difficulties, and hope that all will be better soon, and I hope so much that your Dad will recover soon. And at the same time I am glad that you have your violin and play. After such a long hiatus from playing you might have found the right piece to start with, though i don’t believe that you’ll need too long before moving on to other, more demanding pieces. 🙂 It is wonderful that you have this in a time which is so loaded with drama and worries, and I keep you in my thoughts, always hoping for more of the good things happening to you. I’d love you to have so much more good happening to you.

    hugs

    Nina

    Like

  4. minellesbreath says:

    I am so sorry!
    I also feel like maybe it should be looked at! The bandage itself looks terrible.
    I’m sorry your dad is back on the respirator. My wish and prayer is that he will rally and go home soon!

    Like

  5. catrouble says:

    So sorry you are having such a rough time between your injury, your daddy’s health and the unnecessary drama you’ve had to endure. Please get yourself to the doctor and have them check out the burn…you might need antibiotics and/or more treatment than what you are providing for yourself. Sending prayers, healing energy and positive thoughts for you and your daddy.

    Hugs and blessings…Cat

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

