To the parents of sons: Please don’t raise another Brock Turner

Dear “Emily Doe,”

I wanted to write a letter of solidarity, supporting you in this miscarriage of justice. But I realized no words can be more powerful than your own, and your letter to Brock Turner, the rapist (warning: graphic details), affirms your dignity. Your spirit is both graceful and indomitable, and I wish for you the best.

May parents raise more daughters like you.

And may you find peace, somehow, in the outpouring of love and support for you.

My words can never do you justice, so instead I turn to parents of sons for my plea.

 

Dear parents of sons,

Please don’t raise another Brock Turner.

Please don’t raise another Dan Turner, father of convicted rapist Brock Turner. I use “father” in the loosest sense of the term, because his letter does not show a father.

I lost my father three months ago. He was not a perfect man, but he taught me about life:

  1. I love you, and I’m proud of you.
  2. Do the right thing.

These two go hand in hand. How can a parent be proud of a child who does not do the right thing? How can a child learn to do the right thing if a parent does not insist on it?

Years ago, I played Pictionary with my parents and friends of my parents. I was young, excited, and eager to win. My dad’s friend (and my special friend, even if he was an adult with children of his own) showed me the word, explained what it meant, and said, “No one’s going to get this. Why don’t we draw silly pictures that have nothing to do with the word, and we’ll laugh when the time’s up?”

In my child’s brain, I discovered the perfect solution. I would agree with my dad’s friend (let’s call him Tom), so he would draw a silly picture. Then I would try to make my team guess the right word. We’d win!

Tom drew a lumberjack cutting down a tree. I think he may have thrown in a Christmas decoration. I earnestly labored to get my team to guess, and they almost got it. When the time was up and my dad’s friend’s team groaned at the prank, I laughed.

“I got you!” I cackled. I thought I was so clever!

Afterward, when the company left, Dad took me aside. He never scolded, never yelled, and never showed anger. But he spoke in that quiet, heavy voice of a father filled with disappointment.

“He’s your friend,” Dad said, reminding me of the years Tom chatted with me after church, brought me gifts, and shared favorite jokes. “Is that how you treat a friend?”

I squirmed. It was a joke! I was clever! But I knew better than to say so to Dad. “Okay,” I muttered, wishing I had a cool dad who understood me.

My father loved me. He taught me to be proud of myself, but he taught me to be someone who made him proud.

He taught me that a man keeps his promises, protects his family, and works hard.

He showed me how to reach out to those who were marginalized, to understand people in pain, and put other people’s needs first. He opened doors for everyone, helped them to their car, and offered a smile and encouragement.

He did not teach me that violating a stranger’s body entitled me to a pity party.

When I did wrong, he did not plead with others that I should get to enjoy my ribeye steaks in peace.

Parents of sons, please teach your children to learn right from wrong. Teach your young men that consent is sexy, virility does not include conquest, and women’s bodies are governed by women alone.

Teach your sons that no means no.

Teach your sons that if they like a girl, they should express themselves politely and respectfully and remain open to refusal.

A girl’s body is hers alone.

Teach your sons that rape is not a joking matter, that women are worthy individuals rather than sandwich-makers, and that men are not the new victim class.

When you teach your sons they are victims, they become victimizers.

Teach your sons that loving a woman is an equal partnership with consent on both sides, not the owning of one human by another.

Teach your sons that their worth lies in their integrity, not in the physical attractiveness of the women they think they own.

 

Rapists cause rape.

True story.

What creates rapists?

Teaching sons that they are the true victims, and that their swim times and smiling school photo will reduce a 14-year prison sentence to a few months with time off for good behavior.

What happens, Dan Turner, if your son is raped in prison?

Will you expect your child’s rapist to get leniency then, so he can eat ribeye steaks in peace?

 

 

One thought on “To the parents of sons: Please don’t raise another Brock Turner

  1. awesomesub says:

    Hi Ana, I can only agree with what you write here about teaching a son the right way. This is what should be done, and consent is not a difficult concept, is it? I have read Emily Doe’s statement before, but had not heard any of it read out loud till today, and it makes me cringe even more than from just reading it, because of what is said there. ‘You don’t know me. But you’ve been inside me, and that’s why we are here today’ is something that maybe not everybody can comprehend in its real meaning, what the violence she has been through actually means for her. She explains some of it later, ‘My damage was internal, unseen, I carry it with me.’ Nobody can undo this, and it is not that you can ever forget about it; if only!
    What makes me very angry is that the Turners tried to put the blame on her, in addition to all she has been through. This is something that I had almost been subjected to (and was afraid of happening), but due to overwhelming evidence against them they did not do it, as that would have backfired against them because of our judicial system. Judges and prosecutors don’t want victims of rape to be forced to live through this again and again in court.

    I don’t believe leniency is going to teach a rapist anything, and for me it is important to see that rapists are sentenced in a way that lets them learn that they committed a terrible crime. Seeing them almost go free is like another slap in the face. Since these things cannot be made undone, I can only hope that parents teach their sons how important consent is, and that every human being has the right of being unharmed. Most of the damage that happens is not visible, but many don’t get that.

    hugs

    Nina

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

