Comfort Books

A week from today is Father’s Day. I’ve written about preparing for my first Father’s Day without my father, but the best-laid plans still don’t change reality. It will be Father’s Day soon, and my dad won’t be here.

Nothing will make that better.

Aside from that, the entire world is reeling from the shootings in Orlando. I don’t think I have words that will do the situation justice, except for:

We need comfort.

Justice, yes. Anger will come, and so will recriminations.

For now, though, I’m finding comfort in fictional worlds–either ones I create, or ones that I read.

One of my current comfort books, and new finds I purchased in anticipation of Father’s Day, is the Drina series by Jean Estoril. It’s about a young girl who wants to learn ballet (ballet geek here). The series is out of print, but the first few books are available cheap on Amazon Marketplace or eBay. It’s an old-fashioned series set in England, first in a small town outside of London and then London itself.

I recently discovered that the first five books are not, in fact, the entire series, and there are six more. A few of the books command startling prices, but a few others were available at a much more reasonable price.

I’ve settled into a favorite series from childhood (I re-read the books at least once a year), so finding these extra books is a pleasant surprise.

I’ve also picked up Rose by Holly Webb. It’s a cute story (so far) about a poor orphan who’s brought to work for an alchemist (magician). Rose herself has magic. I admit to a weakness for these types of stories, so we’ll see how it goes.

I’ve also checked out two Tamora Pierce books, Wolf-Speaker and Wild Magic. They’re two books from the Immortals quartet. Daine has the power to speak and understand animal speech, or People as they are called in this storyverse. It’s my least favorite of Tamora Pierce’s series (and why I haven’t purchased the books for my personal libraries), for two reasons. One, I’m not crazy about animal magic stories. Two, the magic in this storyverse has no rules. I love a good, geeky universe where magic has rules (as to how it works, or how it’s learned, or whatever).

That said, I adore anything Tamora Pierce and am looking forward to the re-read.

As to the fictional worlds I created, well, Mistress’s Release comes out on Thursday. You can pre-order it here or buy an early bird copy on ARe.

A light-hearted Victorian time travel ageplay smut story, tentatively called Millenial Meg, just got finished and sent to the publisher. (Warning: There’s a boy!)

And I’m beginning work on Raven’s Girl, a story that got abandoned last year. I hope to clear off all my partially written books by the end of this year. No reason not to be ambitious. πŸ˜€

Oh, and I’ve also launched a subscription site for bonus stories on Patreon. More about that later, but for now I’ll let you take a sneak peek. If you’ve always wanted more Kat and Natalie stories (and miss their annual Mother’s Day story), you’re in luck! If you wanted more stories of your favorite characters from older Ana Vitsky stories, you’re also in luck. Just $1 per month buys you special access to Ana events and special deal. $3 per month gives you access to the stories.

But back to the books I’m reading for comfort. After all, writing is fun but it’s still work.

We’re all looking for comfort today. What are your comfort books?

 

4 thoughts on “Comfort Books

  1. minellesbreath says:

    Ah, I certainly understand the need for comfort books. I too love to find a space where I can go to escape reality and find comfort! The world around us can come crashing down in so many ways, we all need to find our safe place to recoup!

    Like

  2. rozharrison says:

    Hi Ana, I love the idea of comfort books, we all need to escape from reality every now and then. My thoughts are with those effected by the terrible events in Orlando.

    Congratulations on the new Mistress release. Exciting to hear about your other writing projects and new site. Looking forward to hearing more πŸ™‚

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

  3. awesomesub says:

    Hi Ana, what happened in Orlando left me speechless and sad. My thoughts are with those who died or were injured and with their families.
    I am not sure whether I have comfort books or not, because when I need to escape, almost any book will do. We have the poems of William Butler Yeats and Seamus Heaney, and these are definitely among the ones I do read in difficult times. I like short stories a lot, so I’d read some of these, but one of the books I have grabbed more than most others is The Perks of Being a Wallflower, probably because it is a dramatic but positive story, all in all. Charlie, the main character, is nice, but my favourites are actually Samantha and Patrick. πŸ™‚

    hugs

    Nina

    Like

  4. Lisa Zimmerman says:

    Ana, my comfort books lately have been the Outlander books by Diana Gabaldon. They definitely take me away and after being thru the few days I have I need escape and mega doses of comfort..

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

